We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Richards
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Narragansett
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Rose Inn(Narragansett)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Atlantic House(Narragansett)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Blue Hotel(Narragansett)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Edward's Folly(Narragansett)
View Hotel
The Anchor Motel(Narragansett)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Break(Narragansett)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
96
11
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
11
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender suitebreakfast was deliciousprivate bathroomshort drivescarborough beachnewport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Thank you Nancy and Steve for being wonderful hosts. My husband and I were impressed by your lovely home and furnishings, as well as the beautiful grounds. The inn was on a beautiful street, reminded me a bit of Newport. It was close to the beaches and many nice restaurants.The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. We were thankful there was AC since it was a warm night. The breakfast was delicious and homemade, with pumpkin pancakes and blueberry muffins. I only wish we could stay longer! We needed to catch a ferry to Block Island in the a.m. The ferry is conveniently 10 minutes away. We would highly recommend The Richards

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house were all beautiful, especially the "blue" room. We had the yellow room with the bathroom down the hall(yes, it was less expensive) and it was not a problem. All the other rooms have their own bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisco873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A special thank you to Steve and Nancy for being such gracious hosts as we enjoyed our two night stay. Nancy's homemade breakfast was fantastic. You can tell they truly enjoy opening their home for others pleasure. The beautiful grounds added to our delightful stay as we took advantage of the scenic walk from the house to the beach that they shared with us. Thank you again for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Machael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay. The hosts are friendly and the breakfast is quite nice. Nancy puts a lot of effort into feeding her guests. I would recommend this B & B for a relaxing stay. A bonus is their lovely wooded garden path to the ocean. I just loved getting up each morning and following the path to the rocky coast. Thanks Nancy and Steven.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The house was beautiful. The room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast each morning was amazing including the coffee! It was in a great location with direct access to the each and less than two miles from Narragansett beach. It was great meeting the gracious hosts and I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynseymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Nancy and Steve always go out of their way to guarantee we have a wonderful visit. The historic house is grand and all the guest rooms are beautifully furnished with luxurious antiques, but there is nothing stuffy about the Richards. It's the perfect balance between Victorian elegance and a relaxed beach vacation. Nancy's scrumptious breakfast is always homemade and Steve's stories at the breakfast table are both fascinating and entertaining. The gardens and pond are a magical relief from the all the activity and heat of the beach, even on the hottest of summer days. The location is perfectly centrally located. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and lots of great cycling routes directly from the driveway. The ferry to Block Island is so convenient, it's just a few minutes drive for a spectacular day trip. We always remember Steve and Nancy as our primary destination whenever we visit the Narragansett area.

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths.The Yellow Room is the only rooon that has the bathroom located across the hall, but it is still private. It really isn't a big deal because the house is so quite, you never run into any other guests when walking across the hall. They also give you super soft bathrobes to use as well.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews