We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of The Richards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Richards
Ranked #4 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband, two sons (ages 12 and 14) and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Richards. We loved every moment of it! The property is just beautiful and located on a very nice street. We were able to easily walk and bike to the beach during our stay. Nancy and Steve are super- Steve is very friendly and made everyone feel comfortable. Nancy made excellent breakfast dishes - my son just loved her pancakes and coffee cake! Do not hesitate to stay here- the Richards are warm and welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom suite which is perfect for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mrd233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were in Narragansett for a wedding and needed a base for a three-day stay. From the moment we stepped into the beautifully decorated hallway to the time we left, we were treated like family. Nancy and Steve are superlative, attentive hosts. They provided directions and helpful advice on area attractions. The rooms were beautifully appointed and comfortable. Most impressive was the Richardses' ability to make everyone feel comfortable and happy at the breakfast table. Their superb food, great coffee and delightful conversation made guests feel totally at home and at ease with strangers. I can't say enough good things about this very attractive b and b and the surrounding gardens, which Nancy tends with a skillful hand. The grounds are calm, quiet and relaxing. Nancy has a number of birds visiting feeders, and a barred owl serenaded us at night. Clearly, this is a happy refuge for winged guests! The house is an important landmark residence of Narragansett. The hosts have carefully restored it to its former glory and, most of all, have created a warm, welcoming space for their guests. Our recommendation is enthusiastic and unequivocal. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The Lavender Suite offers two separate rooms adjoined by a bathroom. This worked out well for us sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Richards recently and it was one of the best BnB experiences that we've had across the Northeast. Nancy, the co-owner was very easy to deal with on the phone for a reservation and explained that they accept only checks and not credit cards. While it appears old fashioned to some, for us it wasn't a big deal. We reached there a bit late in the evening, but our check in was very smooth. Its an old Victorian style home, which has been painstakingly restored by the Richards family and it shows in the awesome decor and manicured lawns. The room was extremely well kept and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The bed's mattress was a bit firm, and as I'm a side sleeper, it was mildly uncomfortable, but my wife loved it. Matter of personal preference, I guess. The only negative was that I had no mobile connectivity in my room (not the owner's fault!), and even the property's wifi was patchy in the Blue room. Still, it wasn't a deal breaker, as Nancy's frittata and pancakes, combined with Steven's stories in the morning more than made up for it. Would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vikas248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I am from New York and my friends and I road tripped to Rhode Island being lucky enough to be able to stay in this lovely home for the first night of our trip. Upon meeting the Richards we immediately felt at-home at this place and extremely welcomed within the first minute of conversation, and this is rare in a business. The rooms and house were beautiful, clean and incredibly comfortable! Breakfast was PHENOMENALLY DELICIOUS and the dining room is exquisite! My friends and I talked for hours with the Richard's! They are the most lovely, friendly, and nicest people I have ever met. The amazing hospitality was through the roof! We are DEFINITELY coming back every year to stay!

Also the yard and gardens were breath taking... The plants are simply gorgeous and there are so many different pathways you can follow that lead to more beautiful areas. Extremely well-kept! I cannot wait to come back to walk through them again!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank JamieRose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Richards. This B&B is perfectly situated to see Narragansett by bike or car and also to drive to all the amazing surrounding areas, including Newport. The house and grounds are spectacular -- literally a piece of Narragansett history. And the proprietors are wonderful hosts who take the time to provide you insights on sights and great places to eat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stayed with The Richards again over the 4th of July, spending 4 nights there. Its become almost an annual tradition.

The rooms were spacious and charming, as always. This time we experienced the Lavender room. It has a antique clawfoot tub, and a modern shower. It also has a separate sitting room.

Breakfast was topnotch.. and its great to wake up to the smell to fresh baked muffins and cinnamon french toast! Every morning breakfast was different, and excellent. The grounds are terrific and the proximity to Narraganset town beach is also great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaphod99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. Beautiful old stone building from the 1800's with absolutely incredible gardens in the backyard. The owners Steve and Nancy were gracious, and very interesting to speak to. Breakfast was wonderful and different each day. The rooms were spacious, extremely clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We'll be back, and I'd recommend this BnB to my friends. Walking distance to a few restaurants and the water. Simply amazing place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsfkdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narragansett hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheppard's Place
Sheppard's Place
#3 of 10 in Narragansett
70 reviews
1 mi away
Blueberry Cove Inn
Blueberry Cove Inn
#6 of 10 in Narragansett
112 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
89 reviews
2 mi away
Scarborough Beach Motel
Scarborough Beach Motel
#6 of 8 in Narragansett
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richards

Address: 144 Gibson Ave, Narragansett, RI 02882-3949
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range: £43 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English country house furnished with a collection of antiques. The property is on a quiet road with beautiful gardens including a shade garden, a white garden and a koi pond. Quiet and relaxing setting. Full breakfast is served. We now have airconditioning and Wi-Fi! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing