We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the essentials.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scarborough Beach Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just the essentials.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We missed the last ferry to Block Island and the more upscale motels were booked, so Scarborough Beach it was. No complaints about the price--$79. And really, no complaints--we got our $79 worth. Don't look for extras like refrigerator, coffee maker, even little plastic glasses in cellophane--ain't gonna happen. On the other hand, fast free internet. You're not going to take your summer vacation here (although it's right across from the beach, that's good), but in a pinch, it will do fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwhig1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    35
    26
    11
    16
See reviews for
41
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I was quoted a much cheaper price for Saturday but I was charged a lot ore upon check in. Room was sub prime doors windows leaked cold air and howled all night long. I won't be back and I urge you to look around. Not worth the price for this property good feature is it is across from the beach.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Narragansett hotels

West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

There was a moldy, nasty smell in the efficiency room. When I went to the front desk, I was handed a can of room deodorizer and told that it was because of the dampness from the ocean. I have stayed at many ocean & lake front hotels over the past 30 years and I've never experienced a smell like that. There must be mold growing in the carpet for it to smell that bad. It's cost $187.32 for one night in a smelly room that has strips of mirrors on the wall, a double bed (not queen), and a cheap love seat with a pull out bed. I would never stay there again, even if it was free. Other than the location being across the street from the beach, there is nothing good to say about this motel. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethT655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the first week of August. This was my fifth visit to the property in 20 years. Very convenient. Just across US1a from Scarborough State Beach. This is a great place for a "quiet" beach vacation. Note there are no restaurants within walking distance; however you can book one of the motel's efficiency units and eat meals in your room. We stayed in a non-efficiency room on the second floor which had a view of the ocean.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank psm300m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If not for being across the street from the ocean, this motel wouldn't last a day! I graduated URI in 1999, and returned with my fiance, to show him my old stomping ground. WOW! The room was TINY...NO EXTRAS...and the price went from $69 to $90 per night upon booking. Not even worth the $69! The owners are ANYTHING BUT friendly and actually are rude and non-accomodating! I will NEVER stay there again, and recommend this place to NOBODY!!!

Room Tip: DON'T DO IT!!!! It's Baddddddddddddddd
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liiabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I'm reading the positive reviews about this place and wonder how long ago that was?

This place was bad, real bad. I stayed in 2013 and last year (2012) as part of my husbands annual picnic for work... and it wasn't that great but whatever happened from 2012 to 2013 in a year... who knows.

Our toilet barely worked. The place was dirty, funky, nasty... Too bad this is one of two motels (unless you go high $$$). Next year, I won't be here.

I would actually sleep in my car and forego a shower.. really!

Room Tip: Keep Driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a Dump! Horrible service, unfriendly owners, smelly rooms, way overpriced!! My toilet kept overflowing. The owner handed me a plunger. I paid $200 a night for a vacation to plunge my own toilet?! No wonder the room smelled like urine!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingsocialcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
81 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#6 of 8 in Narragansett
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
18.4 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Beach Motel

Property: Scarborough Beach Motel
Address: 901 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1372
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarborough Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a secluded getaway or a family vacation, you will find the service, hospitability and charmingly appointed accommodations that you desire at Scarborough Beach Motel. Conveniently located in Narragansett, directly across from the ocean and Scarborough Beach, we offer the luxury of shopping, dining, waterfront activates and much more- all within a few miles! At Scarborough Beach Motel, we have something for guests of all ages to enjoy. With your comfort in mind, we offer individual rooms with single, double, or triple beds, as well as Efficiency rooms with the option of a pull out couch for additional sleeping. Our accommodations are non-smoking and have been recently renovated with thoughtful decorations and amenities including one complimentary parking space per room, air conditioning, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. We invite you to visit our website for additional information on pricing and room reservations, then bring your friends and family to experience for yourself by Scarborough Beach Motel is everything that you expect from a vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scarborough Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Beach Ri
Scarborough Beach Hotel Ri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing