We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachfront motel.”
Review of The Anchor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed overnight for the Blessing of the Fleet road race and it was a great decision. Motel is about 100 feet from Scarborough beach and it's a classic beach motel. Family fun motel who were all very friendly, rooms were basic but very clean and cosy.
Overall great little motel if you just want a place to sleep in a clean comfy bed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family took a trip to the beach, and stayed at the Anchor Motel. We have never traveled to this area so we booked online, which is always an adventure, but we struck gold at the Anchor Motel. I loved the motel for following reasons, access to the beach was amazing. You park at the hotel which is less than 100 yards from a nice beach, with many children in our group was so helpful. Cleanliness the rooms were very clean. Friendly feel, this is run by a family that are on site all working, this is a classic americano beach motel. Now I do have to say if you are going to hangout at the motel for many hours this may not be the place for you. We used the motel as just a place to stay. This is located close to everything. There are no real amenities at the Anchor Motel, but as for a nice clean place to stay for a beach vacation this motel is perfect!!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in what they call their bed and breakfast rooms. Not what I would consider bed and break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RestaurantManager642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very relaxing, quiet and right across from Narragansett beach. Small, family owned, very simple, clean. This is not a major hotel chain, no room service, gym or pool. Just a place to relax and enjoy the beach. Easy access to loads of great eateries. The owners are very helpful and happy to offer local advice. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a small patio and face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipper1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The reviews are accurate, this place is an absolute gem! Perfect location across from the beach. We traveled with 2 kids and the B&B rooms were great. The family that owns it are kind and attentive, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachFamilyVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have come here for over 20 years since our children were babies. They loved it so much they named it affectionately as "Beach Hotel". For a family, not only is the quality of the hotel outstanding, but the beach and water is beautiful, great restaurants, surrounding views, and gentle surf for the kids to body surf and "boogy board" as well as swim and play on the sand.

The staff is friendly and very attentive. It's simply the best and has become one of our favorite vacations. I would recommend The Anchor Motel to anyone who loved the ocean and family time!

Room Tip: All rooms are equal with the exception of the one directly facing the beach-not sure of the number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOSEPH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stay here every summer and love it. The location is a less than 2 minute walk to the beach, the rooms are clean, and easy drive to restaurants, other beaches, and shopping. The bed and breakfast rooms are our favorite as they are bigger and quieter with a fairly roomy deck and common area inside. Owners are always there and always ready to help out!

Room Tip: Bed and Breakfast rooms are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My Daughters and I decided to go away for a weekend a few years ago and we found The Anchor Motel. It is so peaceful there, right across from the beach so we can get up early and go watch the sunrise over the water it is so beautiful. The owners are so nice and caring always making sure you have what you need. Since our first girls weekend there (which my sister joined us on) more family has booked rooms there the same weekend we go. We have so much fun, I definitely recommend this Motel it is a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a view of the ocean, but all room are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
1.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
89 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
205 reviews
18.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Motel

Address: 825 Ocean Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-1317
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range: £83 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Scarborough State Beach; a few steps across the small two-lane road and you are on the beach! Fifteen immaculate rooms each with an ocean view and a private deck. Non-smoking motel, great for guests of all ages. Rooms have two double beds (or one king-sized bed), bathroom, refrigerator, AC/heater, cable TV, and wireless internet. Close to the Block Island ferry, the historic towers, Point Judith Lighthouse, and the University of Rhode Island. Continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anchor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Motel Rhode Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing