We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is the best!”
Review of The Anchor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2007

Clean, comfortable and affordable. You have all the ammenities you need and that's it. Although we didn't have cable or internet access we agreed that the room rate was worth it and that the point was to get out and about and away from the tv and computer.

We loved the view and enjoyed our own little porch. The host and hostess are very accomodating and very friendly. You are right across the street from the beach and it is a great base location for trips around South County and to Newport. We can't wait to come back to this place next summer. Thank you so much!

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank lite_travlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2007

Beautiful place to stay across the beach.Rooms are super clean
and owner are very friendly.
We stayed from july 2-7 awesome time.
Narragansette is a beautiful place and will recommend to many people and will be back

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank claudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

This is the cleanest beach motel you'll ever find. It is a wonderful place to stay for seeing the sites in Rhode Island, for walking the beach, or for just sitting around and reading books. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkwurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We stayed at the Anchor Motel June 13th-14th and had a great time. It was quite cold and gray out, so the motel was pretty empty (as was the beach), but we found the Anchor Motel to be a great accommodation. It was right across the street from the beach, the rooms were immaculate and had a small fridge in them, the owner was very nice and offered suggestions for dinner and breakfast, the prices were reasonable (just a few days before peak season), and we really couldn't ask for more. Except maybe fluffier/more pillows. Our king size bed came with 3 pillows which were somewhat flat. If you like fluffy pillows like I do, bring your own or ask for extra before the office closes. Other than that, I can't complain about a thing. I would highly recommend the Anchor Motel, and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank elogan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

wonderful wonderful place to stay!
Extremely clean and the beach was beautiful and right across the road. The little porches were great for relaxing.
The views from the trails overlooking the water (to the left after beach ends) provided breathtaking views!
Lots of nice little places to eat within a short drive.
The owner Gene was very nice and always around the grounds cleaning.
Newport is an easy drive as well as the Block Island Ferry.
The fridges in the rooms are very handy and the beds comfy.

Small towels as others have saidt just bring your own- they worked fine for me though.

I had a wonderful time and fully intend on going back again and again!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JennyJen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

We returned to the Anchor Motel for the third time (after a hiatus of a couple of years).

We found it as wonderful as we remembered. The owner, Gene, was there 24/7, always pleasant and helpful, and always cleaning.

Rooms are clean, comfortable and have a great view.

I really cannot say enough good about this place. I look forward to going back to The Anchor Motel in the future (hopefully yearly).

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank NYMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

This was our second Memorial Day weekend in Narragansett, staying at the Anchor Motel. The motel is spotless, the rooms have everything you need for a laid-back beach vacation. Gene could not be more cordial or welcoming. Ocean beach is 100 steps away. Spent one day in Newport, a pleasant short drive up the coast. Be sure to eat dinner at "Spain". Interesting menu and wonderful service. We'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
1.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
89 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
207 reviews
18.6 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Motel

Address: 825 Ocean Road, Narragansett, RI 02882-1317
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Scarborough State Beach; a few steps across the small two-lane road and you are on the beach! Fifteen immaculate rooms each with an ocean view and a private deck. Non-smoking motel, great for guests of all ages. Rooms have two double beds (or one king-sized bed), bathroom, refrigerator, AC/heater, cable TV, and wireless internet. Close to the Block Island ferry, the historic towers, Point Judith Lighthouse, and the University of Rhode Island. Continental breakfast served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anchor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Hotel Narragansett
Anchor Motel Rhode Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing