We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Narragansett”
Review of Tower House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower House B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A Gem in Narragansett”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the Towers and wish we could have stayed longer! Mary Beth and Chris (in the background) are exceptional hosts with a spot on vision of what a bed and breakfast should be. From our beautiful room (the Caldwell) we could see birds and soothing greens all over. The accommodations are so comfortable that one forgets that we were away from home! Beats stuffy, small parking-lot view motels for sure! Mary Beth greeted us warmly and openly as if we were long-time friends and I will never tire of her stories about the Towers, her family, and life in general! Waking up to fabulous aromas of the that fabulous breakfast was fabulous - everything homemade - the scones (to die for!), the baked French toast (more to die for!),the eggs ( sometimes scrambled, omelettes, eggs benedict on spinach and potato pancakes) and a vast variety of breads, cereals, fresh cut fruit and so much more! Mary Beth and Chris outdo themselves each morning. Afternoon "cocktail" hour was a time to meet other guests and chat about where we were going for dinner, what did we do that day, etc. Most importantly Mary Beth is visible, makes one feel as is this was our "home" and actually takes the time to sit and chat with us during breakfast and afternoon get-togethers. She is the quintessential hands-on owner, proprietor, advisor. Chris is behind the scene - troubleshooting, fixing, and the chef along with Mary Beth. We will return again as we have a "friend and home" in Narragansett!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naziks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
92
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We are now in our "empty nest" years (54 years young) and have had to change vacation venue as not to "miss the old vacation spot" that we once had with our 2 children (now grown). We always wanted to visit Narragansett and this was our time to find the right place. Google's first place for B&B's in this area was Tower House. From the moment I spoke to MaryBeth making a reservation to the second we left our "new vacation home", I knew this would be a place we would make our "empty nesting" vacation venue from here on in.
MaryBeth is the most gracious hostess (Chris is too when he makes an appearance from time to time but he likes to be behind the scenes doing the heavy stuff). The moment we arrived (earlier than check in) she gave us a room to change into suits, offered breakfast and offered a ride to the beach. She gave us her personal cell phone to call when we needed a ride back for her famous "happy hour" 5PM-6PM. Marybeth has truly fund her calling in life. Throughout our stay she made you feel like family. Leaving was bittersweet - kind of like when you went off to college for the first time. We were glad to be heading home, but sad to be leaving Tower House. We will absolutely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie0774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed at the Tower House B&B for 2 nights recently (August 2013) with my wife and 3 children (22, 21, 14 y.o.). This was our second time around at Tower House, the first being about 3 years ago.

The proprietor and hostess, Mary Beth Kreger, has done simply a masterful job at creating the perfect New England coastal B&B. Built in 1885, Mary Beth and her husband have painstakingly restored the Inn to its Victorian charm, with a cozy first floor parlor, a large sitting area, and a spacious dining room (all furnished with Victorian-era antiques), all overlooking the beautiful gardens and lawn. There is a large covered front porch that welcomes you, and a small back deck on which Mary Beth serves complimentary beer, wine, cocktails, soft drinks and munchies from 5-6 pm each evening.

On our first stay a few years ago the beds were uncomfortable. But this time they were perfect. Our family had a 2-room suite that was perfect for a family of 5. There were air conditioners in both rooms, negating the summer heat & humidity.

Mary Beth is the consummate B&B host. She has a warm, soft, cheerful and casual demeanor, and she is ready to strike up a conversation on just about anything. She and her husband Chris whip up the most delicious breakfasts each morning, including various iterations of eggs, breakfast meats, fresh steel cut oatmeal, homemade french toast, and assorted fresh fruits, breads & pastries. A coffee service is set out on the landing of the second floor early each morning, along with various newspapers. For an additional fee she will prepare box lunches to take with you. She will also chauffeur you to the nearby beaches, if needed.

The Inn is on a quiet residential street but is walking distance to the famous Narragansett sea wall and walkway, overlooking the ocean. It's just a bit too far to walk to the beach, however. Newport is 20 minutes away, the Block Island ferry is 15 minutes, and some of the best beaches in New England are only minutes away. For the kids, nearby attractions (right in town) include mini golf, go carts, a small carousel and similar amusements, and plenty of ice cream places! And, of course, you are surrounded by some of the best seafood restaurants around.

If you're looking for a quintessential coastal New England B&B, you will be challenged to find one better than Tower House and Mary Beth's hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days. Mary Beth is very nice and very helpful. She does every thing with a great attitude. Wonderful breakfasts! Mary Beth will bring you back and forth from the beach, so you don't have to pay for parking. She also provides beach towels and chairs, free of charge.The beds our comfortable and clean. Baths are very clean also. The problem I had with the place is that the furniture, pictures, ect. were very dusty. The table cloths in the dining room needed to be washed, and the outdoor tables needed to be cleaned.
The last time we stayed there a couple had two children and one of them continually slammed the front door, in the am. Made it hard to sleep late. A few improvements and the place would be great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 40joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We recently returned from a Northeast coast trip that included a four-night stay in Naragansett. We elected to stay at Tower House after reading some terrific reviews about the property and its owners, Mary Beth and Chris. Mind you we were coming with two young boys (6 and 3) so a b&b isn't usually the best option - but we wanted to give it a try...

Well, lo and behold, we knew it was the perfect choice the minute we walked through the door. Mary Beth and Chris spared no detail to ensure that our family would love our stay. They drove us to the beach and supplied chairs, toys, etc. They made great breakfasts and graciously handled some special requests. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. I could go on and on....

Needless to say, we plan to return soon.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DavidW2096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at several bed and breakfasts around the country, and we were blown away by Tower House B&B. We decided to stay at Tower House based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and definitely did not regret it! We drove down to Narragansett Friday morning and Mary Beth was nice enough since we were planning on taking the ferry to Block Island to drive us to the pier so we wouldn't have to pay for parking. Since we arrived toward the tail end of breakfast, Mary Beth invited us to snack on some food before our ferry. When we returned from Block Island, Mary Beth was there to pick us up and bring us back to Tower House where we were just in time to partake in the complimentary wine/beer and cheese hour. There are some great Adirondack chairs out in the yard, so we enjoyed the amazing weather and light snacks with our wine and beer.

For dinner Mary Beth recommended that we check out Crazy Burger, a quick ten minute walk down the road from the house. The place was featured on Dine-ins, Drive-ins, and Dives, and was a delicious place. I highly recommend checking out the restaurant, as well!

We stayed in the Caldwell Suite, which was beautiful. The bathroom was large and clean. There was also a small sitting area. The bedroom was quite large with a small sofa and I want to say a king sized bed. The bed was very comfortable.

The next morning we got to enjoy the wonderfully delicious breakfast Mary Beth makes every morning from scratch. The French toast and bacon are awesome!

We stayed only one night and were definitely sad we didn't stay longer - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We enjoyed the nicest stay last night at Tower House. We arrived late in the evening with two small children. The owner, Mary Beth, greeted us upon our arrival. She had left wine and beer out for my husband and I, water and granola bars for the kids, and turned the AC on in our rooms. We stayed on the top floor which has two adjoining rooms with a queen bed in each, a bathroom in the middle and an additional sink. It was a lovely set-up. The room was charming, though if you are looking for refined or pristine then you might be disappointed by the more lived-in feel. We felt like we were staying at a family member's home and were perfectly pleased with the casual atmosphere. Coffee was on the landing at 7am and breakfast was ready at 8am, and the food hit the spot! We highly recommend the Tower House for its warmth and charm, the kind ownership, proximity to the beach and a terrific history to the house! (Just ask Mary Beth!)

Room Tip: Top floor is great if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oo2Ashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
3.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheppard's Place
Sheppard's Place
#3 of 10 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House B&B

Property: Tower House B&B
Address: 46 Earles Ct, Narragansett, RI 02882-3929
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing