We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ocean View Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 91 Restaurants in Narragansett
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This restaurant should be avoided. The service is usually poor, and the food is average. When I used to go here it often took a long time to get our food. The management is downright scary - I have heard the owners fighting in the kitchen more than once! Not a place to eat and definitely not a place to bring your kids. You have so many other choices in Mariner Square - like Arturo Joe's and Mariner Grille....even Domino's Pizza is a better choice than this place. AVOID!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Slow... but Simply Superb”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Ocean View has a large dining area, a large menu... but is really is a 2-person show. The hostess waits on all the tables, and is the cashier. Her husband is the invisible chef in the kitchen who insists on making everything from the scratch. So you get the freshest, flavorful, skillfully prepared food. But, as you can imaging, this takes time. So, take a bottle of wine or a 6-pack of beer (this is a BYOB place), order a simple appetizer, order your food, and enjoy conversing with your partner, friends, or family. The food is really superb, well worth the wait. Our favorite? The shrimp in shells cooked with large garlic cloves and basil... mmmm...!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Globalist3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the drive, Worth the Wait - Best Chinese in RI !”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My family has been coming to this restaurant for years. We bring friends and family along most of the time. It is truly one of the best kept secrets in Rhode Island! Here are the things that you must know if you plan to go: Don't go for the decor etc...Go for the food! Expect to wait. All dishes are prepared by the owner one at a time. - which is why the food is so outstanding. So, on a weekend or busy night you can expect to wait. However, the restaurant is BYOB, and there is plenty of room in the hallway for kids to run around etc.
Don't be rude ! The owners take real pride (as they should) in their restaurant. The chefs wife will take your order, and is excellent about recommendations. She has no time or patience for rude customers, so if you are up for quick and easy nice and greasy chinese food this is not your place! Don't even think of going to Ocean View if you can not deal with the "quirky temperment" of it's owners. Their unique "charm" combined with exceptionally fresh and delicious food is what makes this place special. So take the drive, get there early, enjoy that nice bottle of wine you brought, and enjoy some of the freshest and best chinese food in the state! and.....don'tbring your plastic! Thy only accept cash, and are closed Tuesdays.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gupper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Honesty might have helped”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

A woman I met through my spouse's colleagues recommended this restaurant. The server (and probably owner) was arrogant, not very friendly and needs to learn about honesty. I called in a take-out order after viewing the menu online. The woman spoke with broken English and told me the two items would be ready in about twenty minutes to a half hour and that they do not take credit cards, cash only. When I arrived twenty minutes later, there were three tables with patrons, one had one person, one had two people and the third had three people. The server asked if I had an order to pick up and I told her I did. She said she would check on it. She moved at the pace of a person who had little to do. It appears that the only workers are her and the cook. It took about fifty minutes before my order was ready. The food was okay, not fantastic. I have not really found any decent Chinese restaurants in the south county area. I will not return to this place.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlutterbyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No ocean, no view but really good Chinese food.”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have driven into this strip shopping center many times and had never seen this place. It is buried in the very back of the parking lot with absolutely no curb appeal. When you walk into the building there are mostly office type businesses sharing the foyer. It took a while to get seated because the same woman who is the hostess is also the sous chef, waitress, expediter and who knows what else. She gave my party of three the whole spiel on how everything is cooked to order and presented us with 3 separate menus. The kind that you usually see for take out. It was a bit confusing but it was worth it. The food was delicious. I have been looking for good Chinese in RI for years and Ocean View delivers. We had a mustard green and chicken dish that was just a little spicy but so good. The woman kept reminding us that it is better if we order the night before, but it really did not take that long for the food to arrive. It's BYOB. So bring your wine and beer and get ready to enjoy a truly delicious dinner

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbum328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean View Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Narragansett, South County
 
Narragansett, South County
 

Been to Ocean View Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing