We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Place Ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shells By The Sea B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We just spent two wonderful days at Shells By The Sea. Shell was wonderful and everything was perfect. The rooms are so nice, neat and clean. Have been to hotels with full time maids that are not this clean. Felt like I was visiting with family. The atmosphere is so relaxed and refreshing. Shell makes you feel like you are in your own home. We will return for another visit. I can not say enough nice things about our short vacation.

Room Tip: We had the suit on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

If you’re looking for the quaintess of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a first rate hotel, Shells by the Sea has it all! This spacious B & B was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and very comfortable. Shell and Ned were warm and welcoming hosts who made us feel like instant friends. Shell is also a terrific cook who introduced us to some delicious new dishes. There were plenty of areas to hang out and relax including a lovely veranda overlooking the heated salt water pool. Every room had fresh flowers picked from the beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounding woods and chirping birds created a peaceful spa atmosphere. Everything about this B & B was first rate. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kzball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Shells was not the experience I expected after speaking with Shell, the owner, on the phone.
The house is in a residential cul de sac. The room was misrepresented. The full sized (not queen) bed was in a crowded first floor room with a view of the neighbors garage, if the shades were opened. The bathroom was on the other side of the house past the entry hall, kitchen and dining room which made for a very unromantic stay. The first breakfast was bad, a poached egg with soggy grits and small cup of fruit, so we only had breakfast one morning.
We were not given a receipt for our cash payment because Shell forgot and then was too busy on our departure. She said she would mail it, still waiting nearly two months later.
Thank goodness we only paid for two nights and the rest of our vacation was great!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bjbmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much. Even though the place was fully booked the second night Shell found place for the three of us. The breakfast was wonderful - all homemade - we loved the omelets and wafles! The rooms were very nice and the pool was great. We found that it was nice to have a car to get around to the nice beaches and restaurants.
Bruno, Morten and Annemarie - Denmark

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DkMorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Shells by the Sea is not your typical B&B experience, it far surpasses any B&B I have ever stayed at. It has more amenities than you can dream of, beautiful salt water pool in a perfectly manicured backyard, "family room" with pool table and home theatre, high speed wireless internet access, workout room, not to mention the comfortable rooms and healthy and hearty breakfasts. Shell an Ned will bend over backwards to make you feel right at home. I highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillyburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

It is the best experience you will get in any B and B. Kind and energetic hosts who keeps the beautiful property spotless. A salt water pool ( a real pool you can swim if you are too lazy to go to the beach ), a game room with pool table and a 50' plasma tv, a work out room with complete equipment, Wi-Fi service, and above all, the feeling of comfortness that will keep you wanting to come back if you are ever in Narragansett.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahnshiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Shell's by the sea is definitely one of the finest B&B I've stayed in. Your host Shell and her husband Ned are the most cheerful people you will ever meet. Great pool, gym and pool table makes this place a joy. Also great breakfast and Shell's special bread is a must try.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
7.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
231 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
3.4 mi away
Sheppard's Place
Sheppard's Place
#3 of 10 in Narragansett
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shells By The Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shells By The Sea B&B

Address: 8 River View Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-2826
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range: £101 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shells By The Sea is an elegant non-smoking adult environment, that feels just like home. Hosts Shell and Ned treat guests to a warm welcome and cool comfortable stay, along with a home cooked breadfast . Guest's can enjoy playing pool or working out in our exercise room. Perhaps a 600 square foot suite is what your looking for. Not to mention Rhode Island's beaches, Newport, Wickford, BlockIsland, Jamestown, and the University of Rhode Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing