We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narragansett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shells By The Sea B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Narragansett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prospect Ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FABULOUS B & B”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I have been to Shells By The Sea twice already, and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Rhode Island !! It is the most beautiful B&B we have ever stayed in.
The furnishings are luxurious and the home is decorated so perfectly !! Shell and Ned are the perfect hosts and make you feel right at home. The breakfasts are just delicious - fresh and hiome-made. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyione who is looking for a really memorable experience !! Trudy and Gary Higgins

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    11
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
68
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

need to wake up later than their breakfast time,You won't want to live here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 805Traveler805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Everything was very clean. Breakfast was great. They were accommodating to all our needs. We loved the pool and the pool table. The up stair suit was very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

we stayed at shells by the sea last weekend and had an amazing time. Shell and Ned are very wonderful and helpful esp. with where/what to do. we love Rhode Island and surely be back again. This is our first time in a B&B, and we really enjoyed our stay. its a home away from home. -Jace and Mary Joan-

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We just spent two wonderful days at Shells By The Sea. Shell was wonderful and everything was perfect. The rooms are so nice, neat and clean. Have been to hotels with full time maids that are not this clean. Felt like I was visiting with family. The atmosphere is so relaxed and refreshing. Shell makes you feel like you are in your own home. We will return for another visit. I can not say enough nice things about our short vacation.

Room Tip: We had the suit on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2011

If you’re looking for the quaintess of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a first rate hotel, Shells by the Sea has it all! This spacious B & B was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and very comfortable. Shell and Ned were warm and welcoming hosts who made us feel like instant friends. Shell is also a terrific cook who introduced us to some delicious new dishes. There were plenty of areas to hang out and relax including a lovely veranda overlooking the heated salt water pool. Every room had fresh flowers picked from the beautifully landscaped gardens. Surrounding woods and chirping birds created a peaceful spa atmosphere. Everything about this B & B was first rate. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kzball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Shells was not the experience I expected after speaking with Shell, the owner, on the phone.
The house is in a residential cul de sac. The room was misrepresented. The full sized (not queen) bed was in a crowded first floor room with a view of the neighbors garage, if the shades were opened. The bathroom was on the other side of the house past the entry hall, kitchen and dining room which made for a very unromantic stay. The first breakfast was bad, a poached egg with soggy grits and small cup of fruit, so we only had breakfast one morning.
We were not given a receipt for our cash payment because Shell forgot and then was too busy on our departure. She said she would mail it, still waiting nearly two months later.
Thank goodness we only paid for two nights and the rest of our vacation was great!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bjbmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
57 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheppard's Place
Sheppard's Place
#3 of 10 in Narragansett
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shells By The Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shells By The Sea B&B

Property: Shells By The Sea B&B
Address: 8 River View Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-2826
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shells By The Sea is an elegant non-smoking adult environment, that feels just like home. Hosts Shell and Ned treat guests to a warm welcome and cool comfortable stay, along with a home cooked breadfast . Guest's can enjoy playing pool or working out in our exercise room. Perhaps a 600 square foot suite is what your looking for. Not to mention Rhode Island's beaches, Newport, Wickford, BlockIsland, Jamestown, and the University of Rhode Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing