We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seagulls galore” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lighthouse Inn of Galilee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lighthouse Inn of Galilee
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seagulls galore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

You better be a good sleeper. Room was clean, food was good, service was fine. Directly across the street from the block island ferry. Nice pool. $50 cheaper than the chain hotels. But hundreds of seagulls screaming all night and seagull poop everywhere. Your car will be covered in poop. I still would stay there again. The grill and bar just opened and the staff was really friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    39
    34
    76
See reviews for
78
63
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I usually check out all places on trip adviser, but i went through booking.com. I really think the photo's are twenty odd years old.
I have to say one good point was the lady at front desk was pleasent,after that everything was down hill.
After passing through reception,we entered into the indoor pool area,the floor was covered in seagull feathers and the area itself was very shabby. We dreaded going to the room,second floor overlooking pool area. OH MY GOD the Smell that hit us from opening the door was very strong stale smoke and another smell which i don't want to guess!!!!! It was dark and old, i sat in one of the old arm chairs and it smelt of vomit. It was very late and we had nowhere else to book in. I spread all the bathroom towels which looked clean on the bed and had a very disturbed sleep. Next morning we went to the a joining restaurant and a very pleasent NICE boy served us,limited menu and when the coffee arrived my mug was dirty, then the breakfast,it was awful,nobody should serve up such a bad meal like that.
I think it should be reported to the health inspectors and shut down until it is completely refurbished.
I do not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank portinscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Narragansett hotels

Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

DO NOT EVER STAY HERE!!! I have never been more disgusted by a hotel in my life! My husband and I have been home from our vacation for 4 days now, and I still feel dirty and itchy from this absolute dump. Our room looked like a crime scene and unless we wanted to catch some flesh-eating disease, we kept our sandals on at all times. The place was covered in mold, hair, dirt, slime, seagull mess and feathers. Just a suggestion to the clearly highly intelligent maintenance team ...the mold issue may improve if the air conditioners and ice machine don't drain directly into the carpet. I really don't think it is even possible to express in words just how disturbing it is that this place is even allowed to charge people to be exposed to this hotel of horrors. The management and owners of this pigsty should be ashamed and should be arrested for highway robbery and endangering the welfare of anyone who dares to stay at the Lighthouse Inn. If I could give this place negative scores I would but I am required to select at least 1 star for each category.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just be aware that this is an old bldg, lots of needed repairs but i found it to be clean & adequate and best of all as far as i can tell, the only game in town & just a few blocks from the beach. the port of Galilee is busy, the hotel is accross the street from the Ferry to Block Island so it is always busy with people coming and going. It is a bit expensive not to have free coffee in the a.m. If you know what you are in for there will be no surprises, it's no Hilton that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ame_the_dame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

NASTY!!!! I could not believe my eyes when we arrived at this hotel. We went there for a soccer tournament so we did not choose this hotel ourselves. It was SO REPULSIVE!! There was more mold in one room than there should have been in the entire place, all over the walls and curtains! BUGS in the beds , dead and alive! My 10year old cried herself to sleep in my arms. We only stayed because we could not find vacancies anywhere else and could not ditch the soccer team. I'm still in shock that we stayed there. The pictures I'm going to out up are the same you will see in any of the rooms, including the "renovated" rooms. Apparently renovated just means a new dresser and an extra towel. Seriously, unbelievable!! Also a piece of the counter fell off and my son cut open his foot, from desk Jenn, could not care less! Useless staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

WELCOME TO THE CRACKHOUSE INN! I have never stayed at a more disgusting place in my life. When we arrived, the outside of the building looked like a dump. The parking lot was covered in seagull crap. I don't think stepping on any was avoidable. When we walked in the room, it smelled terrible. It smelled like the seagulls were the last guests! I had to cover my nose from the time I walked in to the time I walked out. TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS A NIGHT? You may as well be sleeping outside. Spending two hundred dollars for this place is like flushing your money down the toilet and sleeping on your roof in the middle of a storm. The place is EXTREMELY overpriced. Did I mention there's no wifi except for in the pool area? Which closes at 10:00. So basically the only people who get to have wifi are the guests right outside the pool area. This place is a dump. Possibly mistaken for a crack house. Sorry Febreze, but I don't think 100 of your car clips would work on this place. Bring blindfolded people in for a test, they'll probably tell you it smells like a crack house, a dump, a pile of dog crap, you name it! The room had holes in the wall and I have been to zoos that smell better. i would rather sleep at a zoo than here! One thing is for sure, I'll be sleeping in the car tonight! DO NOT STAY HERE! You may catch a flesh-eating virus, this place is so disgusting!

Room Tip: Getting a room elsewhere is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sutton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

First off, I can't believe that in the other reviews, people were complaining about the seagull droppings. People are so pretentious these days! It’s a fishing village for crying out loud and you’re going to attract seagulls. Geez! However, the staff had an employee power washing the windows to remove the poop, and they had a complementary hose you could use to wash off your car. What more do you want?! Secondly, this is a beach hotel! This isn’t the Hilton, or Marriott. You should know that going into it, instead of expecting the amenities of a chain hotel. I will say this; the rooms were clean, sheets clean, beds comfortable, bathrooms clean, and air conditioning cold. I stayed with my 3 kids and they loved it! They can’t wait to come back. I don’t look at the hotel as being outdated because I love the character of things when they are left preserved. The management has updated some things, and the way it is perfect. Don’t update anything else. Lastly, the pool area is fantastic! Kids loved it…almost a little too much. Just one suggestion; you should change the games out in the game room. There wasn’t one game me or the kids recognized or wanted to play. You should put some “retro” games like Pac-man and possibly a pinball machine so more people would use the game room. Other than that, fantastic stay! We’ll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M M, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn of Galilee, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Our entire staff THANK YOU for your review! Thank you for noticing the effort our team is putting in! We are all truly happy you and your family enjoyed your time with us!! Our video games are provided from an outside provider but I will get in touch with them about possibly changing them up a bit (I love the pinball idea too). Thank you again for your understanding about our other "residents" and noticing that we try to minimize their impact. We hope you and your family continue to have a wonderful summer and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narragansett
1.3 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.5 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
16.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn of Galilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn of Galilee

Property: Lighthouse Inn of Galilee
Address: 307 Great Island Rd, Narragansett, RI 02882-5627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Narragansett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Narragansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lighthouse Inn of Galilee 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from the Block Island Ferry, Lighthouse Inn of Galilee is a fun, casual beach hotel situated in the authentic fishing village of Galilee, RI. It is the perfect location to relax and enjoy southern Rhode Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lighthouse Inn of Galilee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn Of Galilee Hotel Narragansett
Lighthouse Hotel Narragansett
Lighthouse Hotel Of Galilee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing