We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamilton Village Inn
Reviewed 20 August 2007

When my husband and I had arrived to the hotel, it didn't seem that bad. It was dark though. We were put in a smoking room when we had requested a non smoking room. This would not have been a problem if those were the only rooms available, but we noticed empty non smoking room as the doors are labeled as so. The room was hot because they didn't have the air running. There was no closet. Be prepared to bring your own ironing board and blow dryer unless you want to borrow from the main office every morning. You only get a window of 2 hours to keep those things. The ironing board that you do get is only a table board. I felt like I was in college again. Upon settling in the first night, my husband noticed blood on the sheets and it wasn't his. We figured these sheets would be changed the next day. Well, you have to be staying in the room for 4 days before they change your sheets. So, we decided...we bother to let the cleaning crew in the room. We put the do not disturb sign up when we went to breakfast. When we got back, they were in our room. My husband asked why they were in there being that we had the sign up. They stated they were required in order to keep their AAA membership. When my husband approached the motel manager about this, the manager stated the same thing. It would have been nice if the cleaning staff actually cleaned the bathroom. The floor was gross! We spent 99.00 a night. It's about 15 minutes from the nearest beach. The restuarant next door served a yummy breakfast. Needless to say, I am begging everyone never to give Hamilton Village Inn anymore business that they already have recieved!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2007

We recently stayed at the Hamilton Village Inn for 2 nights. We stayed on the 2nd floor with 2 queen beds. The room was a very large comfortable room with a nice balcony with a couple of chairs. It is a "no frills" motel so make sure you bring your own hairdryer and shampoo, but for the money ($109.00 on college graduation weekend) it was a great value. We were very impressed how updated and clean the room was and it 's central location. Would definately recommend this motel and we will definately be staying there again. (They do have a quiet policy after 11 pm, so don't stay here if you want to party)

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

While an adequate motel in some aspects, unusually punishing matresses not being one, they have a strip of rooms separated by a paper thin wall from their busy early breakfast to late dinner kitchen. By paper thin, I mean two sleepless nights for my wife and two small children, listening to "colorful" commentary punctuating the busy drone of a commercial dishwashing machine, inches from where we slept, literally. Luck of the draw? As returning quests, who had reserved other rooms months in advance, when asking to be moved to another room, we were refused, and had to watch later guests check into our "reserved" rooms. All this was made worse, by the utterly rude and obnoxious attidude of staff and ownership behind the counter. "If you don't like it, go somewhere else"....on an overbooked holiday weekend. If you enjoy kitchen noise, tossing sleepless nights, and being insulted, this is the place to go. Over travels through 40 countries, I've seen some less than adequate properties, but this has stood out, pretty incredible. Personally, I think I'll take them up on their kind suggestion next time, and find another place to stay. Brilliant!

Stayed: September 2006
10  Thank Regurgito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2006

We stayed because it was close to the Wickford Art Festival, you can walk there in 25 minutes. We stayed on the bottom floor, the room smelled very musty. When we pulled back the bedspread at night, there was a red stain, the size of a half dollar, on the back of it that looked like it could be blood. In the bathroom, the shower rod was rusty and there was hair stuck on the tile walls. I had read all the other reviews and expected something very different. I would stay somewhere else next time and brave the traffic of the festival.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Rooms
5  Thank NashuaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Morristown, NJ
110
Reviewed 9 November 2005

We were initially impressed with the inn, but there was a misunderstanding with our reservations. On what we thought was our third night, we came back to find our belongings packed up and sitting in the lobby and our room given away. They had our credit card and, being a Sunday night, the inn was empty. We would have understood if the inn was booked. The innkeeper was surly, rude and discourteous.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
110
Reviewed 11 October 2005

We have stayed at a variety of places in Rhode Island and specifically in North Kingstown. They have many INN's on Route 1 in town which are more expensive ( so you don't get what you pay for, we have paid a lot more at those inns and have received a lot worse in return) and I guess one should stay in one of them, to appreciate the "value" of staying at the Hamilton Village Inn.

Hamilton Village Inn is situated in a great location which is right down the road from the quaint village of Wickford that offers a variety of speciality shops, it is also 15-20 minutes away from Newport, 40 minutes from Mystic CT, 45 minutes from Providence, 90 Minutes from Boston, and close to a ferry which takes you to Martha's Vineyard. This "INN" is on a street which is away from the hustle and bustle of the traffic and noise one would find on a major highway.

The Inn itself has a variety of rooms to suit everyone's needs and budget. The rooms are reflected of that of an " Inn" ( look up the definition). Being that you are situated within a wood type setting, it is understandable that you might find an ant or two or a spider that makes it's way into your room.

The rooms are well appointed with a bed ( or two), cable tv, internet access, coffee/tea maker, a table and a dresser. There is a second floor which was recently added, so the rooms are "newer " and offer a back deck which opens to a natural setting. ( Great for sitting outside in the morning and enjoying a cup of coffee). The office has hairdryers and irons for loan incase you need them. Also , if you can't walk up the stairs, just let the front desk know when you call, they will give you a room on the first floor. They also have two rooms by the restaurant which are newer and away from the main building. There is not a pool on the premises, however, if you ask, the Inn will give you a beach pass to a town beach that is a bit up the road. ( this is for the summer months. For the other months you do not need a pass.) The town beach is located on Beach street. There is also an art gallery there which has various exhibits. There are also major beaches about 15-20 minutes away at Narraganset and Scarborogouh.

The housekeeping staff are among the most accomodating, honest and friendliest ones I have met. They do keep things cleaned and make sure you have a pleasant stay. If asked, they will bring you whatever you need, ie extra towels, blankets, etc. They must come in everyday to clean, it is part of the Inn's policy, then again I can't imagine anyone having a problem with this, since people usually like a clean room.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful as long as you are not rude ( that should go without saying). They will give you a multitude of places and events that are occuring in and around the area to enhance your vacation experience. They are also concerned about your stay and " right to peacefulness". They have a "No Unnecessary Noise " Policy for after 11:00PM. I think this is one of the greatest attributes. ( There are many times I have stayed at major hotel chains and had very noisy neighbors that would go into the wee hours of the mornings , just to call the front desk and have them laugh at you) You will not find that here. The owner really does care. Where do you find that, these days!!!!

There is a restaurant on the premises which offers breakfast and lunch daily. On Friday and Saturday they are opened for dinner. The food is reasonable and very good. The restaurant also has an enclosed outdoor seating area which is great for those who like the outdoor feel.


Please be aware , this is not a HOTEL. So you will not have the ammenities that the Hilton or the Marriot has. This is a quaint INN the way New England use to be. It should be cherished and treated as such.

If you have any questions about this hotel or things to do, feel free to email me .

Hope you enjoy your stay at the "Inn"

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2005

My boyfriend and I just got back from a weekend at the Inn. We stayed here because it was the only place close to Newport with availablilty this weekend.

Location was good... but the Room had ants.. and very old and outdated. The bed was the worst bed ever..very very uncomfortable. the water pressure in the shower was terrible.. it trickled out.

The front desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable but the housekeeper was very rude and ignorant.

I would never stay here again.. remember you get what you pay for... pay a bit more and stay somewhere comfortable and clean...I know we will..

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sunryz710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kingstown
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
206 reviews
3.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#5 of 8 in Narragansett
156 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Coventry-Warwick Area
7.3 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Village Inn

Address: 642 Boston Neck Rd, North Kingstown, RI 02852-6803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > North Kingstown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in North Kingstown
Price Range: £86 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamilton Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hamilton Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Village Hotel North Kingstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing