We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gillian's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gillian's Ale House

Gillian's Ale House
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Andover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gillian's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nice Pub-Like atmosphere with good food. Great place for lunch, happy hour or an early dinner. Some nights offer entertainment and dancing making it more of a nightclub atmosphere. Fun place to visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna29727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Owner operated with good, reasonably priced food and drink. Lots of TV screen if you like to watch sports while you are eating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
278 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Busy Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

While on vacation in Rhode Island a stop here for dinner proved to be a good choice. The waitress who seemed to be extremely busy did her best to keep checking back with us to be sure we were okay. The menu had a nice choice of selections including appetizers, salads and sandwiches for those not wanting a full meal. There were good drink offerings including $5 martini specials. My taco salad was good and so large I could barely finish it. Prices seemed reasonable for the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Sports Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just visited for the first time. Great prices, great food, awesome drinks and some of the best service you will find anywhere. I was a little nervous about ordering prime rib at a pub but went for it anyway. It was one the best pieces of prime rib I have had in a long time and I order it a lot. Very tasty and cooked to perfection. My wife had the corned beef sandwhich and it was to die for. The chunks of corned beef melted in your mouth. The garlic mashed potatoes and fries that came with the meal were also very good. Don't forget about the drinks, they have some of the best martini's around. So big that you get a full martini glass plus a side car in a glass of ice with a quarter of that glass filled with the rest of the drink. Also very good beer selections as well as other drinks. Can't wait to visit again which might be Tuesday night as it is $5.00 martini night. They also have specials almost every day and entertainment 0n weekends. Last but not least was the service. The young girl we had as a waitress/server was outstanding. She knew everything about the food as well as the drink menus. She was right on with her drink suggestions. I wish I would have gotten her name as she deserved to be mentioned. For great food and drinks, great service, good prices and an all around good time Gillian's can't be beat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average Bar...Rather Dive Style Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I've been to this place several times over the years, and have never found it anything special. It's not a bad place if you just want to get a couple of beers with the guys, but the food is barely standard fare. I mean in all the time I have lived in North Kingstown I have never heard anyone ever say, Go to Gillian's for the burgers, or the clam cakes, etc. You'll be disappointed if you just go there for the food. For the place has a real local dive style atmosphere and its loud. Oh and one more thing, the picture they have for the place here is not Gillian's at all. That's a picture of Wickford marina. Gillian's should be so lucky to be located in such a nice place. Its located along busy Post rd and has a lovely view of some seedy looking motel in the rear...That's it, nothing special at all...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gillian's Ale House also viewed

North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 
North Kingstown, South County
North Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Gillian's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing