We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The basics, and that's it”

Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsmouth
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The basics, and that's it”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

On the plus side: cheap ($136) when hotels in Newport this weekend were all $200+. Shower was hot. Toilet flushed. Quiet. Now the other side of the story: when you get to your room, you'll need to open ALL the windows to get rid of the mildew smell. Wallpaper peeling from the shower. Everything is old and sad looking. For a night, it's fine. More than a night, find another place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchfromLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
18
12
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

You have to have a sense of humor to stay here. The front desk told us not to try to use the GPS, because their address is not in it. The clerk on the phone gave us a nearby GPS address which turned out to be the Episcopal Church. Since we are Episcopalians, this was appropriate, but several miles from the motel. Another call to the motel, and the very nice lady gave us a very long dissertation on how to find the motel which turned out to be totally incomprehensible. All they had to tell us was that it was near exit 2 off of RT 138, but they apparently did not know that! We finally arrived to find no one in the office, but a telephone did have a note on it to call. A few minutes later a very nice lady arrived to tell us about her broken ribs and to check us in. The only information she needed was our credit card which alarmed me somewhat. She gave me a key and said our room was "up there on the right". It turned out that there were many rooms up there on the right, and the room numbers could not be read from the car, because they were very small. So I walked around and found our room. It did concern me that the car two doors down had two flat tires and, obviously, had been there for some time. I was more concerned when I noticed that the security chain had been pulled out of the doorframe in our room when someone had broken in. The frame had been repaired by drilling two new holes alongside the old ones. The old ones had not been filled. We were more concerned when we noticed that the lock stile on the door had been hit so hard that it was split and the lock was being held in place by wood filler, very secure. We walked into our suite to find a large stain on the rug in the center of the room. In the bathroom the soap dish had fallen out of the wall once before, and the two holes for it had been filled! The problem was that it had fallen out of the two newly drilled holes and was on the floor. While picking it up, I noticed that the yellow wallpaper had turned brown over the heater. That was better than in the shower where it was falling off the walls! I proceeded to the bedroom where there was a trap door in the ceiling over the bed. I was much reassured to find it secured by two large Master padlocks. At least they could not come in that way, but I did wonder what was up there that was so valuable. The owner, obviously, considered it more valuable than than the guests!

In spite of all this, the maid had really done a good job of cleaning the room even though the 1930's decorating must have made it difficult. She was doing a good job. So we went to sleep in a pretty comfortable double bed felling a little insecure, but comfortable. It was not until 6 am when the guns started going off that we became really concerned. Since there were no bullets coming our way, we cautiously made our way around the corner next to our room. To our relief, we found that they were building a new house right behind our room, and the guns were nail guns.

We had to go to a meeting the next morning, so we put everything of value in our car. In the middle of the meeting my cell phone rang. It was the motel wanting to know why our luggage was still in the room. I explained that our reservation was for two nights, and that we already had paid for two nights. They seemed totally confused by this, but agreed to let us stay.

When we returned to our room late that afternoon, we found out that it had not been made up. We called the front desk to request some towels. We were informed that they were having some "housekeeping problems" and were very apologetic. It turned out that they had fired the maid. From our observations, she was the most competent person on their staff.

As we drove off the next morning, the Roger Williams College bus drove up and many students came out of their rooms. We wondered if they were charged the same $150.00 per night that we were. Remember, this motel is at Exit 2 off of RT 138. You might want to avoid it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked here last-minute to extend a trip to the Newport area. The person who checked us in was very gracious and gave us suggestions for local sights and restaurants. The motel is quiet and out of the way, which was nice.

The room itself was sadly outdated and in need of work. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom, and there were only enough (small, thin) towels for 2 of us, even though we had made the reservation for 4. The pull-out couch was ancient and uncomfortable, and the paper-thin mattress kept falling through where there used to be springs.

In the end, we felt we had paid too much for what we got, and it is a shame, since the staff were so nice and helpful and the place has so much potential if it were just given some upgrading and care.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pma5309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennysville, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Really a nice little place, comfortable, convenient. Not modern but very clean and everything you need and more. Coffee in room, refrigerator, stove, microwave. Beds are fine, nice shower and good (not great but fine) internet. Extremely friendly and solicitous staff (without being intrusive). I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Suites are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Park, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Yes, these units were not modern but I found them to be very clean. The grounds were well kept and maintained beautifully. I enjoyed the layout of the room because it felt like a studio apartment but the bed still had it's own area away from the common area. When we arrived we were greeted with the sweetest greeting. I am not sure what her name was, but she was extremely helpful and eager to accommodate. We brought our dog and it had plenty of grounds for our dog to run around. This motel is perfectly situated between three main roads, 114, 138 and 24 but still managed to stay quiet and serene. I recommend this motel to those who do not want to spend a lot of money but want a relaxing atmosphere. My only issue was that garbage became an issue. My suggestion to the motel is to have garbage cans outside and collected because it becomes a burden in the room, especially if you bring in food like we did.

Room Tip: I don't think any rooms would be a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurabeth510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Loved this motel. The price was so much better than everything else in the area and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was great and the room had everything I needed, including easy access to wi-fi. Parking is right in front of your door so it's easy to move in and out. And the location is perfect for Roger Williams University parents - right across the bridge from campus. I already booked our room here for parents weekend next fall. Great find!

Room Tip: For a little more money, the woman at the desk told me they have efficiency apartments as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwinsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place is perfect, the grounds are pretty, it's easy to get to and rates are reasonable. Our daughter attends RWU and the owner is always accommodating and friendly when we come to visit. Our room has always been clean, comfortable and roomy and we have always felt safe. We will definitely be back and will absolutely recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
3.5 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
180 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
6.8 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Bay Willows Inn
Bay Willows Inn
#12 of 18 in Middletown
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Founder's Brook Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Founder's Brook Motel & Suites

Property: Founder's Brook Motel & Suites
Address: 314 Boyds Ln, Portsmouth, RI 02871-3004
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Founder's Brook Motel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Founder's Brook Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Founder`s Brook Motel And Suites
Founder`s Brook Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing