We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With a little work, they might make it to mediocre...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Smithfield
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“With a little work, they might make it to mediocre...”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The staff at the front desk were kind and helpful....but that only goes so far with a dirty hotel. Stained carpets, moldy shower curtains and not leaving toilet paper when the roll is almost empty doesn't scream welcome and inviting in my book.

The breakfast offered each morning was average fare, but the coffee...ah... that was an adventure. Would it be strong enough to remove paint today? Or could I read a newspaper through it?

Would I return or recommend this property to a friend? Hmmm....at gunpoint, maybe.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Julie R,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am glad to know that you had a good experience with our front desk. I want to assure you that work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with the overall condition of the room accommodations you received. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    30
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
22
13
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

You will get here the usual HI facilities and service, which was what we need for a one night stay on a road trip. Reception was very kind and quick upon our arrival. Breakfast was the usual selection from HI. We were unlucky to have some louder types of guest nearby and in the parking who made it difficult to go to sleep... the walls are surely not of the thickest type.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinvives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
669 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Holiday Inn at Smithfield is a clean place to stay, although the wireless service for the internet leaves much to be desired. The breakfast is decent and the hotel is within reach of a few good restaurants.

Room Tip: The door into the room is pretty loose so plan on hearing most anyone in the hallway day or night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My recent stay that the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Smithfield Rhode Island was wonderful. The front desk receptionist Mariah was very pleasant and helpful when my family and I asked about the area, where to eat, and places to visit while we were there, she also printed out directions for us. We received a goodie bag at check in for being a gold priority member which I thought was nice. Our room was very nice, clean, and comfortable.The beds are very comfortable, great showers, flat screen tv's in the room. The hotel also has wifi, an indoor heated pool, and a full hot breakfast. Next time my family and I visit Rhode Island the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Smithfield is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

For the money this is a very nice place to sleep and stay. The room I stayed in was right off the main lobby but may has well have been in the middle of the desert it was so quiet. There were a few minor details with the room that caught my attention such as a deep dent in the wall about the size of a bottle of water bottle but it did not affect the quality of my rest and/or relaxation. One of the beds was squeaky which made my two year old nephew laugh out loud but it was a very comfy bed so I didn't care a bit. The only complaints I have about the room is that the pull out couch was small, stiff, and uncomfortable both as a couch and as a bed; and, the heater was a little too loud for comfort. Otherwise, the room was very clean and pleasantly appointed.

Parking is ample and close to the entrance.

Amenities for the hotel are fantastic! Start your day off right with the continental breakfast: fresh fruits, bacon, eggs, toast/bagels/english muffins/muffins, cereals, coffee, tea, juices ... you name it they have it. Do business with included wifi or use the business center which is easily accessible and includes fax and printers. If that isn't to your liking, visit the clean and inviting pool or fitness center. Then finish off your day with a trip to the mini store which is well stocked and reasonably priced.

I highly recommend that corporate include proper directions to the hotel on the site. We were directed incorrectly by both Google maps and AT&T Navigator which lead us to drive an extra 15 minutes to find the hotel. If there hadn't been a major accident in front of the hotel the night we arrived [with rescue vehicle lights as identifiers] we may not have found it for an hour -- all due to one misdirection.

There may be others in town, but you will not find better or more for your money. Highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express and Suites!

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like but my room, in a major traffic area, was quiet. Gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaMaRedPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

As a business traveler, I rely on access to the Internet for mail, meetings, etc. Unfortunately, the hotel's wireless access was unavailable during my stay. Calls the provider only confirmed that wireless was down and wouldn't be fixed until tomorrow at the earliest. After finally reaching a supervisor (he wasn't present in the evening or the morning!), my bill was adjusted. Probably won't stay there next time anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed for two nights.very clean and comfortable...highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rihunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence/Smithfield
0.7 mi away
All Seasons Inn & Suites
All Seasons Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Smithfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Providence Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Providence / North Scituate
8.0 mi away
Providence Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence
Address: 1010 Douglas Pike, Smithfield, RI 02917-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Smithfield - Providence Hotel Smithfield
Comfort Suites Smithfield
Smithfield Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing