We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Kingstown
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was literally a last minute decision to go to the Newport area since we were bumped from our flight to Florida due to Hurricane Arthur. I will say I usually stay at Hilton, Sheraton & Marriott that are a lot nicer for less, but I did beat paying $600 a night at the Marriott in Newport.
We checked in rather late at night and they gave us a room on the first floor, the room smelled like mildew and was damp. The front desk was understanding and moved us up to the fourth floor with no problem. The room was what I expected, clean, nice size, bathroom very small, and very comfortable beds. Housekeeping was very friendly and thorough.
As far as the pool goes, I had mixed feelings. The pool and the landscaping are beautiful but the inexpensive and mismatched furniture does not compliment it. It seems like they ran out of money after they put the pool in and cut corners. The thing that bothered me the most were the pool towels. They are in between the size of a hand towel and a bath towel and paper thin. You need at least two to cover the lounge chair. They certainly are not the red towels they show in their pictures. Come on guys, spend a few bucks and get some decent towels for your guests.
Overall the hotel was fine for what we needed and will probably go back since they plan on updating in the fall.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor, smells moldy. Elevator is in the back of the hotel far from lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwc1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come this November the hotel will be under going a major renovation from all guest rooms down to the hallways, lobby. I certainly hope that you are able to visit us again once we have completed the work and see first hand the difference. You raised a good point on the pool towels and we will certainly check into see how we can upgrade them.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The people are very nice and helpful, but the place is rather dated - even though it looks like it was recently renovated. Bathroom door handle came off in my hand. Carpeting is old and quite used, the elevator is at the opposite end from the lobby - very poor design! The rest/bar was not open at 5p on a Thursday night?!?!?

Room Tip: Near the elevator so you can park in the back lot and come/go easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi Kenny215:

You will be happy to know that he hotel will be undergoing a full renovation come late fall. As guests, you r comments and suggestions are taken quite seriously. The guests have spoken and we have listened. We will be renovating all the guestrooms, hallways, lobby, the entire works!

We will have the same great friendly and helpful staff, but along with new rooms. Hopefully your plans will bring you back next year to visit and you can see the difference.

Thank you for taking the time to write us and we hope that you enjoy the rest of the summer.

Regards

Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for my daughters USA Soccer Regionals. I found the hotel to have comfortable beds, rooms were not fancy but seemed to be cleaned well every day. Housekeeping made sure to stop and ask if anything was needed every time you passed them. Negative was bathroom was tiny, could not close the door unless you back in beside the toilet. curtains were stained and could use an upgrade. Close proximity to URI and Naraggasett beach was a great positive and the our girls enjoyed the beach within 10 minutes. We had a person traveling with us who needed to be close to elevator do to accident and injuries he suffered inthe fall. Not sure why the elevator is at the opposite end of hotel from lobby, found that odd. Elevators could use some serious cleaning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello JillPhiladelphia:

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully your team did well with the tournament. I will check out that curtain you mentioned and make sure it is taken care of. We hope you and your family enjoy the rest of the summer and playing soccer.

Thank you

Regards
Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Low ceilings and dark hallways are the first problems I noticed here. It feels dark and cramped and dated. The elevator rattled in an uncomfortable way. The room was clean, but I kind of resent spending an average hotel rate to stay here. The bathroom was extremely tiny and cramped. The bedding was awesome, and maybe the best part of my stay. Overall, it was a little disappointing and overpriced for what it was. I would not come back here at the current price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Aubrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Aubrey P,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the bedding and cleanliness.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the hallway and elevator condition which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was extremely disappointed with my recent experience at the Holiday Inn in South Kingston, RI. I arrived with my girlfriend before 11 a.m. and completed an early check-in. Knowing our room probably wouldn't be ready much earlier than 3 p.m., we traveled to Newport to check out the
area. When we arrived at the hotel at 3:45 p.m., we were told our room was not ready, despite a check-in time at 3 p.m. This caused a major inconvenience for us because we needed to freshen up for our dinner reservations. The front desk had us waiting 45 minutes before our room was
"clean." Also, the front desk clerk told us we had to wait because we were in a king room as opposed to a double queen room (as if paying more means you have to wait longer). When we were handed our room keys, we noticed most of the floor was filthy with dirty laundry all over the hallway. It did not make me feel like we were staying in the most sanitary place. I will never travel back to this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi James E.
It certainly seems like we really fell short on your visit with us. We have many guests each evening and strive to achieve a high level of satisfaction and it is certainly disappointing to learn we have not met your expectations, please accept my sincere apology. Your visit and response will be the first topic on the staff meeting. I will make sure each issue you raised is addressed to make sure it does not happen again in the future. Thank you for your comments and helping us to improve.
Regards
Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, good shower pressure. T/T parking a little tight but not bad. Call ahead to make sure they have room. Bobtail/ straight truck no problem
Lillian's Italian restaurant is excellent. Couldn't afford every day but a nice meal

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank 2dixiecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hello 2dixiecup:

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy work schedule and posting a review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. Our large parking lot has made it a great place for the drivers to be able to park and stay over without worries. You are quite right about the great food at Liliana’s Italian Restaurant!
I look forward to you staying again with us when your travel plans bring you back to our area.
Regards
Doug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice enough place, super clean and very comfortable beds. Limited options when visiting the University so this was as good as any. Might be somewhat overpriced but still nothing to complain about. Very acceptable decent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay while at the Holiday Inn, South Kingstown, RI.
Our staff is glad to hear that we have met and exceeded your expectations on cleanliness and service.
We look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Kingstown
3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
4.4 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 8 in Narragansett
89 reviews
7.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
7.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
8.5 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn South Kingstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Address: 3009 Tower Hill Rd, Route 1 and Route 138, South Kingstown, RI 02874-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Kingstown
Price Range: £70 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Kingstown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn, South Kingstown, a AAA 3 Diamond full service hotel located just 5 miles from Narragansett Beach and 9 miles from downtown Newport. We offer 107 spacious guest rooms, an Italian restaurant and lounge (children 12 and under eat free in our restaurant) a beautiful outdoor pool and patio area, room service options, wireless Internet throughout the property, complimentary newspapers, an exercise and laundry room, and superior guest service.The University of Rhode Island, the Ryan Center, many restaurants, shops, the Block Island Ferry, great fishing, kayaking and bicycling trails are all within minutes of the hotel. Relax, It s Holiday Inn, where Kids Stay and Eat Free. The Holiday Inn, South Kingstown welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn South Kingstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Kingstown Hotel South Kingstown
South Kingstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing