We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!”
Review of Admiral Dewey Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Kingstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Admiral Dewey Inn
Milford MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were looking for a place near the beach to celebrate my wife's birthday and the Admiral Dewey was the perfect fit. Levon and his staff are very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are clean and have all the necessary amenities. The bathrooms are updated and very clean as well. The beach is a short 5 minute walk and there is also beach bar and restaurant within walking distance.
Best of luck to Levon with his new endeavor - we am looking forward to seeing him again at the Admiral Dewey.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

my wife and I were there for a weekend event nearby. We knew that the inn had been sold. What we didn't know, is to whom. We were so pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome from Levon, the new owner. He was happy to assist in any way, and just an all around nice person.
Our room was on the top floor, with a queen bed and private bath. The open window and fan kept the room nice and comfortable. The inn is surprisingly quiet for a B&B, which was also a nice surprise, considering how close to the stairs, we were.
The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. In addition to all his other talents, Levon is a great cook.
He has great plans for this wonderful historic dwelling, and my wife and I look forward to many more stays there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

First off, it should be noted that this Inn is now operating under new management, and in this case that is very much a good thing. Our host was energetic, friendly, knowledgeable, and welcoming. For someone who has only been operating the Inn for a handful of weeks, his practice is already remarkably well honed - the place is clean and well organized, and the breakfasts were delicious. The building itself is charming and comfortable, and the location is fantastic - perfect for a daytrip to nearby Block Island, or just to stay for a few days and relax in a small quiet town. All for a very reasonable price. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Admiral Duey Inn and had a great experience. The people were so friendly and full of life and laughter. Plenty of parking for our large pick up truck and restaurants are in walking distance. Breakfast was the freshest fruit and food I have had in a long time. It was a heart warming experience for both Rob and Myself ( Don). We hope to return there again soon.

Room Tip: Call in advance to get the room you need. Room 4 has the corner and plenty of breeze to keep you coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed here this past weekend with my husband. We were attending a wedding in Newport and the inn was only 25 minutes from Newport and much more affordable. Our room was comfortable and quaint. The inn was built over 100 years ago and is full of interesting antiques. The Dewey was recently bought by a new owner and he was a warm and welcoming host. The breakfast was delicious and there were cookies in the afternoon. The deli next door makes delicious sandwiches, great for carrying to the beach. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pretty_beets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our first stay at the wonderful Admiral Dewey for a long weekend in July. The rooms are immaculate, well maintained and full of lovely antique furnishings. The new owner was a most gracious and helpful host who had just acquired the property only a few days prior to our visit. We took advantage of his restaurant recommendations for lunch. The convenient setting is only a couple blocks to walk to the South Kingstown Town Beach. The inn has beach chairs, umbrellas and towels available which saves in packing. We enjoyed a relaxed continental breakfast on our schedule and enjoyed the beach breeze in the rocking chairs on the porch. A true gem and we will definitely return on our next Rhode Island visit!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Engival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Kinda frustrating when the inn's website says a day's available and you want to set your plans, but can't get the inn to pick up or return your calls. I can look elsewhere, but this was my desired location, and I'm not sure if they'll return my call after I book elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HudValleyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Kingstown
3.4 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
6.0 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
#2 of 2 in South Kingstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
14.5 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Dewey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Dewey Inn

Property: Admiral Dewey Inn
Address: 668 Matunuck Beach Rd, South Kingstown, RI 02879-7053
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in South Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing