We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good Italian restaurant”

Trattoria Romana South
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Romana South is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Welcome to Trattoria Romana In Wakefield, sister location to our Lincoln restaurant. Experience our authentic Italian trattoria. We offer specialty dishes from Italy in a relaxed, fine dining atmosphere.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
150 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A very good Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our first visit to this restaurant and it was a great dinner in a very nice atmosphere. The appetizer menu was so interesting that we each opted to order two each instead of dinners. They were excellent and ample enough that they difficult to finish. The Italian menu was very large with a varied assortment of choices. It was a nice evening and we choose to eat out in the enclosed patio. The inside was very nice also. We had a "new" waiter who was very knowledgeable and informative. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kapaugers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    55
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We went for a birthday dinner - had 6:30 reservations on a Thursday night. Everything about the meal was excellent - cocktails, appetizers, salad, meals and dessert, as well as the service. We had veal sorrento, veal francaise, the lasagna with meatballs and a veal, sausage stuffed canneloni with bolognese sauce. Portions were generous and the ladies had leftovers. prices are a little high for RI but with a full meal and 6 cocktails, the meal ran $55 apiece including tip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Whst a joke”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My husbsnd and I went to this restaurant after a long tedious day. I asked for the shrimp over pasta. The dish was absolutely
tasteless. Four tiny shrimp for $24. The waiter came up and asked if everything was ok. When I said no he disappeared. 5 minutes later he came back with the check. My issue wasn't even mentioned. There was a maitre d who never bothered to come to the table so zi got up to speak to him. I have never done that in my life. Have to say quite infuriating. Almost like I was invisible. At any rate he screamed at me . This is customer service? We will never return.

Helpful?
1 Thank elizabetht226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond ri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food but service not up to par”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We've been to this restaurant several times. The menu is quite extensive and there are always nightly specials. The food is always delicious! A little pricey but a good value considering the quality.
On our last visit we were disappointed with the service. We waited quite awhile for our waitress to come to our table. So much so that another server came over with some bread and assured us that our server would be over shortly. It took another 10 minutes. At the end of the meal we waited again and finally the maître came over to take our check. Looking around it seemed every other table was getting very good service. So not sure what happened. We will chalk this up to just a bad night for us.

Helpful?
Thank ellie910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in mall”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Best Italian food I've had in years. ( native Bostonian) f& plump but not too chewy.
menu is long & full of fabulous sounding traditional Italian staples.
Pasta was in house made, plump but not chewy, sauce was delicate.
Veal, which iIrarely eat anymore was a special treat, lemony, tender lightly breaded but crisp edges.
Bread was light & crusty.
Good wine list but I'm on a summer sangria kick so that's what I had- which was somehow more thirst quenching than I imagined. Strongest of the season & very good.
the waiter--named Elvis-- was smart quick inforrmative & adorable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tycho B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Romana South also viewed

Narragansett, South County
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Narragansett, South County
South Kingstown, South County
 

Been to Trattoria Romana South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing