We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place for YEARS AND YEARS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chen's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chen's Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 73 Restaurants in Wakefield
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
02832
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome place for YEARS AND YEARS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

The decor and ambiance are the expected level for a suburban Chinese fare. Food's GREAT, and the people are awesome. The gentle, charming man that owns the place (and Westerly, RI location) gets more and more handsome the older he gets. I've been a customer for over 40 years, and highly recommend that everyone check out the fresh, well made, generous portions you'll ALWAYS find at CHEN'S!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheapchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food I have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have eaten here many time over the years, never, not once have I or anyone I was with have a bad meal. The Chen's in Westerly, Rhode Island is owned by the same family and has the same high quality food.

Not a lot of money? There's plenty to choose from for under $10... Even less if you eat there for lunch. The lunch menu starts at under $7!

If you like your food hot, try the General Tao's chicken and tell them to make it extra hot. The House Rice is great, too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chen's is back!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We have been customers of Chen's in Wakefield for years. In the last two years or so the quality when totally down hill. We went again tonight to give them one more chance. I am ecstatic to say they are now the back to having the same great food they had years ago

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachtime0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
243 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fast service, traditional menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Chen's has a very traditional menu. They offer all the Chinese food standards and combination plates. I love their fried rice! They serve lunch and dinner. You can get lunch specials until 3pm, which are inexpensive. They have a full bar, too. They offer take-out, which is convenient. If you eat in the restaurant, service is usually very good and the food is served fast! And you always get a fortune cookie at the end! Great place for families. Very casual decor.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CleverCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super fast service and food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Chen's is a Wakefield institution. They've been in this spot since....the early 1980's? The only problem is that they don't seem much different than they were 30 years ago. The menu is basically the same - which is ok if you are visiting but we locals like a change now and then. The food is good to very good depending on what you get here. The service is incredibly fast. Your food comes out quickly! The restaurant could use a little updating though. Chen's has a small bar, too, which you can sit at if you like. The offer some of those unique Chinese restaurant drinks too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chen's Restaurant also viewed

Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 
Wakefield, South Kingstown
Wakefield, South Kingstown
 

Been to Chen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing