We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Warwick
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unexpected event”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed Saturday Jul 6, 2013. Checked in about 5-6pm. Room seemed fine. Then we noticed the huge tent just outside the room. Yep - big wedding event. Within 30 minutes, we heard the music start. We asked for another room and they were very apologetic and put us in an upgraded room on the other side of the hotel. This room was very spacious but had a few quirks. The a/c was one of those wall/floor units and noisy. The curtain track was several inches from the window and allowed too much light in. The bathroom counter was very long, but the coffee maker was positioned in the middle with no electrical outlet near it. We had to reposition it by one of the sinks where an outlet was within reach and get the towels out of the way which were now between the coffee maker and electrical outlet. The overhead recessed bathroom lights, while pretty, were poorly positioned. Standing at the edge of the sink, they were almost directly overhead (instead of at the top of the mirror), which means they did a great job of lighting your forehead, but your face from eyebrows down was in a shadow. Even though the room was large and the bathroom vanity area was large, the designer left very little space for the bathtub/toilet room - it was a bit of a squeeze with the door passing very close to the toilet. I was not able to locate either a fridge, microwave, or safe just in case that's important.

The hallways were very hot. I did notice that hot air was pouring out of an outlet in the hall so I assumed that that usually was used for cooling that area and something wasn't working. The a/c in the room cooled well. I forgot to ask about this temperature thing in the hall when we checked out. We were going to go to the pool, but found it to be smaller than expected and crowded so we forgot about it. The promotional picture makes it look huge - it isn't. Breakfast is not included - you can do a buffet or order. We ordered and the food was very good - service was ok. This wasn't a cheap place - price above average. The features and services didn't seem to meet the price. But as you can see, I wasn't too crazy about the room anyway at any price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CONNvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear CONNvacationers,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean and comfortable accommodation.

Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Once gain, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    123
    62
    29
    27
See reviews for
74
57
16
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel is approximately 2 minutes from the highway making it very convenient toaccess nearby shopping, attractions and eateries. As long as your GPS is working,you will not be limited to much. This hotel is very clean. Friendly, courteous and overall very professional staff. The room I had [246] was very spacious, king bed with a balcony. The powder area features double sinks, plenty of counterspace, hotel toiletries and the shower and toilet is in the adjoining space. The air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, but not enough to interrupt sleep. The balcony was a good size and depending on the weather; a nice place for a glass of wine to watch the sun set or rise. The only issue I found with this hotel is that the pool was very cold. Its an indoor pool which should be heated, and especially in the summer (like when I visited) I'm sure patrons would appreciate a dip in the pool and the room is not equipped with a mini refrigerator. The workout facility had ample machinery and was very sanitary. Coming from the big city, NYC! I greatly appreciated the hospitality of Rhode Island, if your trip allows for some activities I suggest you check out these attractions: La Gondola Landing which provide Venice style gondola rides only 15 minutes away from the hotel in Providence, Rhode Island & The Green Animal Topiary Garden located in Newport, Rhode Island only 40 minutes from the hotel, the estate has a beach just down the road (good for catching a cool breeze on a hot day, collecting seashells and skipping rocks...sorry no sand) but it is picturesque for taking quality photographs.

Room Tip: Room 246 has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEnchanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Currently staying at this hotel,we have stayed here a number of times, as it's the hotel of choice used by my husband on business, it's ok, there is no air conditioning in the corridors by the rooms
And its 90 degrees,so you need a shower by the time you get to the lifts!!!
We are platinum members due my husband use of this chain so we have upgraded rooms etc,which dispite being of a good size, are not particularly special,and have a very unhygienic carpeted area around the sinks, this should tiled.
Now for the breakfast the staff are pleasant,but the choice is pathetic, you have to beg for condiments i.e peanut butter dont bother to ask for nutella they dont have it.Go to the Hilton garden inn around the corner, they cook you breakfast to order,so it's fresh.and plenty of choices for all tastes

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukdoug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear ukdoug2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was an excellent event venue - the host hotel for The Border Terrier Club of America national specialty. The staff made people and dogs welcome, grounds were spacious and clean. Great banquet and meeting room facilities, finger food served for our intro get together was very nice as well as the buffet dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I also stayed here for a conference. The complementary shuttle from the airport was a nice feature, but this hotel is not within walking difference of ANYTHING, so it's otherwise difficult to get around. I didn't eat in the restaurant, so I can't speak to that. Room service refused to bring cutlery to our room unless we ordered food. They wanted to charge $20 per day for use of a microwave, no mini fridge, etc.... Great local restaurants in the area, but seems like this place goes out of their way to prevent saving your own food, which I guess is their way to get you to eat at their restaurant. I paid a special rate for being part of the conference, and it was a nice place, I've just been to a lot better for the same or lower price. This is the only time I've stayed in Rhode Island, though. I didn't think the rooms were that big, as some others have suggested. I stayed in a room with two double beds. The bathroom was very small, but having the sink area outside of the toilet and shower area I guess was nice. The hotel staff was for the most part friendly, but not always apparently competent about the front desk. The hotel was very clean. I was awoken once by housekeeping, which was my fault for not putting the do not disturb sign out, but it was early. Quite early. From then on I just always left the sign out. I can use the same towels for more than one day. The conference rooms and services were nice, but the air conditioning was on WAY too high and it was freezing in the rooms. I'm not sure the catering of our conference breakfast was scant because of the hotel service or the conference organizers, but either way, it wasn't great. I need more than coffee for talks starting at 8 am.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Nicole K,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for conference for work. I thought it was expensive for what I received. Room was clean and spacious but nothing special. AC unit was extremely loud. Food was overpriced but was good. Bottom line is there are probably better places to stay that give the same amenities for less money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, NY, United States
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Restaurant is great and the food is awesome. They also have a very nice lounge where you can sit at the bar or comfortable booth. Rooms are nice (they seem a little larger than most). The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful, great for a leisurely, relaxing after diner walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Providence Airport/Warwick
0.8 mi away
NYLO Providence/Warwick
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Providence Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick/Providence
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Providence Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence-Warwick-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport
Address: 801 Greenwich Ave, Warwick, RI 02886-1815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Providence Warwick Airport is centrally located in the heart of New England. Located in Warwick, RI just 8 minutes south of downtown Providence and 2 miles from Providence Warwick T.F. Green Airport. Newport, Boston, Foxwoods as well as many Rhode Island Beaches are nearby. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Providence Warwick offers 266 newly renovated, oversized guest rooms featuring the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage with comfortable new beds, guaranteed wake up calls, quiet zones, sleep CD and sleep amenities. Whether visiting Providence or Warwick for a meeting, wedding reception, or just a weekend getaway, the Crowne Plaza Hotel at the Crossings in Warwick RI is The Place To Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Providence-Warwick Airport Hotel Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing