We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable”
Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were there the first weekend of April for a family gathering.
This hotel stands alone! The grounds, rooms, staff and service are topnotch.
Valet immediately greeted us as we pulled into the circular driveway. Check-in was seamless. We were offered a glass of champagne and escorted to our room, #205, a king terrace view. Wow. The room was spacious with a large balcony. There was no furniture placed on it yet, no doubt, to the long winter, which, had mercifully just ended. But, I still stood out there with coffee in the morning, watching diehard surfers in the frigid water. During warm weather, having a balcony is essential! As others have said the baths are sumptous and we did enjoy the deep soaking tub with a bottle of pinot grigio.
What sets Ocean House apart from other resorts are nice touches; such as a pair of binoculars to view Montauk, Block Island and Nantucket, all of which are in view along with the expansive coastline and lovely beach. Also, the shower has full size bath amenities. Complimentary sodas and bottled water with snacks. And, an iPad, with their interactive website on it. You can order room service (we ordered breakfast) or request checkout, etc. Nice touch. The only little glitch we had was an issue with the tub, which, was immediately taken care of with a phone call. Even the toilet paper was packaged like a gift! Everything was glistening clean as well.
We didn't use the Spa, so cannot comment on that. I'm sure it's excellent. The fitness facilities were topnotch, though.
We enjoyed Seasons restuarant for dinners and Sunday Jazz brunch (that is another review).
We enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropiclady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

facilities, service, food and location are all outstanding. A special place to visit. Also a place for special events like anniversaries or birthdays. The only low point is you need to pay for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzillp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The Ocean House is a special place and we agree that it is perfect for anniversaries, birthdays, weddings and other special events. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were fortunate to receive a gift certificate for one night stay at the Ocean House last year and had a fantastic time. It is definitely a splurge type outing both the accommodations and the food but if you like an ocean setting, this is the place. Our room was in the center of the second floor and you look right out on the ocean from your bed. Everything is quite luxurious and the staff is outstanding as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebblebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Everything about this hotel is fantastic. The rooms, the staff, the amenities. The hotel is absolutely stunning. I highly recommend eating at the Restaurants (we ate at Seasons) and the spa. We only stayed for one night but did 2 spa services, which were incredible. My husband has a tough back and he was really impressed that the masseuse was actually able to "get in there" and work his knots. All of us were really impressed with the spa, and we LOVED the relaxation room that overlooks the beach. Would love to come back here during the summer. The hotel, spa, and restaurant are all VERY expensive though, but if you have the money to spare, this place is excellent and very worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfeinberg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! The OH! Spa is truly an exceptional place. Earning a Forbes Five-Star rating in its first year of business tells you a bit about how amazing it is. The team and management in the spa are true professionals who care deeply about providing relief and relaxation to our guests. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Attended a private event here at the restaurant. We all had a fantastic time and all had rave reviews for the entire evening; from arrival to departure. Loved it so much that 2 hours into our private dinner, we booked the chef's table for the following month. The staff is above and beyond nice, accommodating and nothing but professional. Everyone made us feel welcome and right at home. Beautiful setting as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kraig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

We are so pleased that you and your party enjoyed your time at our fine-dining restaurant, Seasons. We think you will enjoy the Chefs Counter Experience just as much if not more. There are images on our website in the Dining section to give you a sense of what this experience will be like. This is becoming a very popular option for food and wine lovers. Enjoy!

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Well trained professional staff have an eye toward personal service. Exquisite location and grounds. The interior has been decorated with excellent taste and style, and the furnishings - all of them - range from very good to high quality. The bed was too soft for our tastes, but I've a feeling they would adjust that somehow if you said something. It is clean, clean, clean. Thoughtful amenities, with perhaps the exception of an absence of nightlights (flashlights are provided instead). I expected a well appointed hotel, and The Ocean House fits the bill.

By all means, go to this glamorous establishment if you're in the mood for a high class, dress-for-dinner affair. If you're looking for a place to kick back, let your hair down and go 'round in your favorite tatty sweater (which I also like sometimes), an Adirondack great lodge would be a better fit.

A note to the mobility-impaired: You can easily be accomodated entering and staying in the hotel itself, with its wide doorways and entrance ramps. However, there was no apparent easy way down to the beach house on their paved walkways. In that case, crossing a grass lawn, going down stairs, or across gravel paths is required. The hotel may do well to discreetly install a paved connecting path, designate rooms for older or mobility-impaired guests, and provide grab-bars in or around bath tubs and showers. Costly and painful situations could be prevented that way.

Room Tip: They make no guaruntees for room requests, but they will take your requests into consideration. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback. There actually is very easy access for less mobile guests to reach the beach. We have a nicely paved path that can be accessed from the front of the hotel using a ramp out of the building straight down to the beach where there is a very large deck for full enjoyment of the beach setting. As is the law, and the right thing to do, we do have handicapped accessible rooms that offer larger bathrooms and hand rails for easy mobility. A guest simply needs to request such a room upon making a reservation.

Warm Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Rooms are awesome! Service is very good but food is lacking. I am a trained chef with years of culinary experience but the menu needs to give gourmet a rest! I appreciate the gourmet food but would love to have some real food. Common type food that everyone eats, like pasta,pizza,grinders or fried chicken!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mps7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, General Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback. In the off-season we do have fewer dining outlets compared to summer months where you have four different menu options. However, during the time you stayed with us (March) we do offer our Bistro Menu in the Winter Garden which is a dining outlet adjacent to Seasons. The Bistro menu is a bit less gourmet with simpler fare such as lobster rolls, club sandwiches, salads, burgers, mac and cheese and meatloaf. I hope you will come back again and give our Bistro Menu a try.

Regards,
Daniel A. Hostettler
President & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watch Hill
3.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
2 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
790 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,183 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 1 Bluff Ave, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5703
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range: £212 - £1,054 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Ocean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill
The Ocean House Watch Hill, Rhode Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing