We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel Experience, like no other”
Review of The Ocean House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2010

better then 5 stars. Everything is out of this world. You feel like you have gone to a far away land, very relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilarychert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsOH, Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are delighted we were able to offer you an amazing experience. Please visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for The Ocean House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

We recently had theopportunity to stay at this magnificent hotel on the coast of Rhode Island in the town of Watch Hill. We were enchanted the moment we set foot in the lobby. The service is impecable. We were awed when we stepped into our beautiful ocea view room. Teddy Prentis, the croquette pro will be happy to spend a whole afternoon teaching you how to play the game on the prestine croquette lawn.(be sure to wear white, rule of the game) afterward you can walk down the path to the private beach, work out in the state of the art gym with virtual trainer, relax by the pool, or simply sit on the lovely terrace sipping the most amazing cocktails made by Amanda one of the expert bartenders. Later you can have a gourmet dinner prepared to your specification by the hotel's chef. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arelys55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

One of the best hotel stays in the last 10 years . Have recommended it to my friends already .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

After dropping our daughters at college my husband and I wanted to escape the reality of being empty nesters so having read about the Ocean House we decided to give it a try. We had a 3 night stay at the end of August and we were truly impressed! Having stayed at top hotels in Europe and the US this summer during our travels we did not think anything could compare. Well we just fell in love with the resort. The rooms were outstanding. Very large with a sleeper sofa and extremely comfortable K bed. A desk and large flat screen tv. A bar area with mini fridge stocked with complimentary sodas and water. Three jars of snack foods (malted milk balls, peanuts, and a trail mix). The bathroom was great with large tub, sink with plenty of counter space for your toiletries, separate wc and a stall shower with a loveley stone tile floor. Robes, slippers, safe and plenty of space to move about and store your clothing. In the morning they arrive at your requested time with coffee and/or tea and the newspaper-----included in your rate. I like that you are not nickle and dimed to death here. Parking and internet are included in rate also. At turndown there was always a treat waiting (macademia nut biscottis, chocolate mini cupcakes, etc).
The beach area was great with comfortable chaises a, large tables and umbrellas. The lunch/drink spot on the beach was convenient. The beach bathrooms lovely as well. Workout room while small was adequate. Indoor pool was only a 2 lane lap pool (would hate to see what this would be like overrun with kids on a rainy day). The small outdoor pool (there is one right outside the door from the indoor one) was not completed due to a problem at construction time and will be finished this offseason) is on a deck next to the outdoor resturant. Not the best place with all the other lawn area the hotel has.
Overall we felt the room rate was expensive as were the meals and drinks. We were able to get a breakfast plan and that was a good deal as we were there on a Sunday and they allowed us to have the brunch with our rate ($38.00pp). We felt the restuarant (even after reading the negative reviews) was very good as was the service though the menu was quite limited. The Veranda restuarant had a lovely setting but seating was awkward in that your legs could not fit under the table and the table was low so you had to bend down to eat. Menu was also limited with a few salads and small dishes.A few onther minor problems (housekeeping took away our turndown snacks before we finished them, took an hour to get a bar of soap one day, service on Veranda was very slow) but it did not diminish our overall appreciation for this place.
It is an incredible reconstruction with attention to detail and fantastic views (though we were disappointed we did not get a room with a terrace as we had requested). The biggest negative I feel is the limited dining venues as there are only 2 places to have dinner at night. The town of Watch Hill is also limited (dont waste your time at the Olympia Tea room as the owner has a major attitude problem and food is very average). If you are staying at the Ocean House for a week I think one would become bored with the few choices.
We would return in a heartbeat and do plan to do so with our daughters next summer. With only about 50 rooms this gem will be very hard to reserve!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsOH, Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Ocean House. We are pleased you found the property to be a gem and that you were pleased with you stay. Our pool has specific hours of use for children in order to allow our other guests to enjoy the pool at their leisure. Due to the size constraints, we can only accommodate a certain number of dining outlets in the resort. With Seasons and the Verandah opened for lunch and dinner, the Seaside Terrace and Dune Cottage for lunch, and a variety of restaurants in nearby towns, guests have numerous dining options to choose from. We hope you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We just returned from Ocean House after having celebrated our anniversary. We knew the property before its incredible reconstruction and were amazed and delighted at its rebirth. The resort is beautiful - every detail so well executed. Members of the staff were friendly and professional - food was wonderful at Seasons - breakfast AND dinner. We appreciated the effort to serve farm-to-table ingredients.
Every aspect of the hotel exceeded our expectations and we look forward to another visit well ahead of another anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowz9570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsOH, Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to learn that we have exceeded your expectations. It is truly rewarding when guests have a memorable experience during their stay at the Ocean House, and leave here wishing to return. Please visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I write this review not as a client who overnighted, but as a diner and a culinarian (from a Ritz Carlton background), so I will comment on my dining experience.
I came to the Ocean House with my partner and her mother, who is a local resident and whose birthday it happed to be. My first impression was one of appall when I saw the uniform that the poor hostess had to wear. It was an incredibly tacky, cheap looking and quite an eyesore. However, her graciousness and professionalism outshone her uniform.
Our inital intent was to have apps and drinks on the veranda and not dine, as we had heard a lot of negative press from mother's friends. In the end, we decided try our own experience at dining.
First, the beverage menu was a book of more than 70 pages - overwhelming. Secondly, I found the dining menu to be written in a rather pretentious manner. The food was overly salty and the flavours were bland to say the least. The plating presentation smacked loudly of what seemed to be a young and unexperienced chef, trying too hard to be posh and thus forgetting the basics of true and good cooking/presentation. The dessert menu failed "truth in menu." We ordered a peach and blueberry vol aux vent, which had no peaches and about 3 blueberries, but it did contain figs, strawberries, etc. and it floated in a pond of raspberry sauce. The design of the pastry which was meant to be displayed was completely covered. The orange flower/honey creme brulee had no other taste than a sweet custard and was overbaked. The dining room manager, upon learning that I am a pastry chef, fell over himself to, as he put it, "defend the pastry chef in that he was not in house in the evenings, that they had to keep up with 3 venues and that it was an unexperienced person plating the desserts." Funny, I never even made a negative comment or even remarked on the meal or dessert. It made me wonder why he was so quick to defend. I will say however, that our server, Dru, was delightful.
I feel that the menu pricing does not fairly reflect the quantity or quality of the food. It is one thing to offer smaller portions, commendable really, but it is insulting to not receive a well balanced meal in that portioning.
It is apparent to me that if there is no intervention, the Ocean House will not make it. As a culinarian who has transplanted to the New England area, I have learned that once the tourist season has died, it is the locals that keep businesses afloat and I fear that this establishment has placed itself outside of the local maket. This is a beautiful and elegant hotel, one you could fall in love with; I sincerely hope that it does not fall by the wayside as I would love to see it thrive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pamela013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsOH, Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. The uniform our hostesses use is Lilly Pulitzer, a well recognized designer, and reflects the beach resort ambiance we create for our guests during the summer season. The menu is not intended to be read as pretentious, but is written to highlight the ingredient and the preparation and pay homage to our local farmers and purveyors. Our Chef, while young, is far from inexperienced, his style does stress technique and execution at the highest level possible and we are extremely proud of his accomplishments – it should be noted that while other readers may disagree on our tasting menu portion size, which has been recently increased in response to guest comments; we have never had a complaint on food production which is undoubtedly why our manager felt it necessary to defend the chef and for which we apologize if his approach was off putting to you. Our cuisine is farm-to-table and is designed to celebrate ingredients and offer guests a unique dining experience in which they taste and enjoy what the local bounty offers. We too agree that locals keep a business afloat, and that is why we are so pleased to have an extremely large following of local diners and club members at the Ocean House.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The rooms are beautiful and clean. The staff is incredible and the restaurant is exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awiltsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
communicationsOH, Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope you return soon.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Hostettler, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watch Hill
2.0 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
340 reviews
5.5 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#3 of 17 in Westerly
232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 1 Bluff Ave, Watch Hill, Westerly, RI 02891-5703
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly > Watch Hill
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Watch Hill
Price Range: £495 - £945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ocean House 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Watch Hill
The Ocean House Watch Hill, Rhode Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing