We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Hostess Claudia, service, food too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olympia Tea Room

Olympia Tea Room
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Like Hostess Claudia, service, food too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a laid back restaurant where one can relax and enjoy a pleasant lunch or dinner. We had the mussels, lamb, tuna, lobster roll. All was very fresh and tastey with attentive service. If you like, you can sit outside and enjoy people watching and the little harbor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1joanne-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    84
    42
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This restaurant is the only one in town and that's the only reason it's still in business. The building is beautiful and historic, the views are great, but the food is disappointing. It could be a GREAT place because it is the only restaurant in town, but the food is overpriced and not worth the wait. The steak is decent but the dressing on the wedge salad was horrible. It had no blue cheese flavor at all and tasted like watered down & plain Greek yogurt. The owner is a treasure himself. I have NEVER been to a restaurant where an owner stands judgingly at the hostess stand like this man does-he rarely speaks and has never asked our table how our meal was -veen though he's always there.He clearly is of the common anti-tourist watch hill sentiment, which is quite funny because without the tourists his restaurant would be nothing. I will state, however, that lunch items seem to taste consistently better than dinner items so if you must go, go at lunch time. Otherwise, go eat out of town or stop and eat at one of the other, better food places in town like the annex or Bay Street. The food is better and there's hardworking staff and family instead of a pompous owner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ntom261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The choices are very good, the view of the harbor is spectacular.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I highly recommend this restaurant. It has a full bar with quality wine choices. The presentation is as amazing as the flavors of the dish. The view of the sunset in the harbor can be breathtaking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I guess I'm lucky as I didn't experience the long wait as in the summer - I had lunch here in early October, no waiting. Very nice staff and lunch was excellent - a good menu it was hard to choose. WIll definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Visit on a Weekday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Visit during the week. The weekends get crazy, and I would not say the restaurant is worth the wait.

It is certainly worth a visit, especially with the sun setting just across the road.

Decent food, decent service, and you can eat inside or out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympia Tea Room also viewed

 
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Olympia Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing