We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average of two stays, poor & excellent, several days apart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Providence West Warwick
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Warwick
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average of two stays, poor & excellent, several days apart”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

First, let me say that we've stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past few years. Until this past month, I would have to say that all of our stays were either very good or excellent. We had two separate stays within a few days booked at this hotel. The first one was for my wife and I, the second was for a trip with our grandson. If the first of these two trips was my first time staying here, I would have cancelled our second reservation, but we had hoped for a return to their previous standards for our second stay. At least that was accomplished. Our second stay was excellent. No need to expound upon that stay, but I need to be very critical of the first.
We normally stay exclusively at Marriott properties and enjoy the "complimentary" breakfast that comes with SpringHill Suites. Of course, as the saying goes, "there's no such thing as a free lunch," or in this case breakfast. I'm willing to pay the premium that goes with these types of hotels because of the breakfast that's included with the room. Obviously, the cost of providing the breakfast is part of the room rate.
On this one morning the breakfast and the breakfast area was a disaster. There were two bus groups that were booked into the hotel and the hotel staff was totally not prepared for the onslaught of this many guests hitting the breakfast room at the same time. It should be noted that the staff was working as hard and as fast as possible, but management should have taken note of the situation and have better prepared for this scenario.
First off, there was no place to sit down and eat, even though a separate room had been available. It really didn't matter as they literally ran out of food, despite the best efforts of the staff to keep up and replenish. We decided to go back to our room and come back down about 30 minutes later. As we arrived, they were bringing out a fresh supply of eggs and sausage, but the sausage appeared to not be fully cooked and there were still no seats or tables available. We grabbed some cereal and milk and coffee and brought it back up to the room.
If this seems harsh to complain about a situation that probably doesn't come up very often, then so be it. When I stay at a hotel that supposedly provides breakfast, I expect to get that breakfast. It didn't happen, hence the poor rating. Management dropped the ball on this one. Hoping that when we returned several days later it would be better, it was. Other than the breakfast fiasco I would have given two excellent reviews, but instead a combined average.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    79
    38
    8
    8
See reviews for
71
38
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is convenient to many things. The people at the front desk were so nice and friendly. The room was spacious and the bed super comfortable. I was on business and felt like I was on a holiday. The free breakfast was good too. I look forward to staying there again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachsetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here with family visiting from out of town (they were on a business trip). At check-in we were told the hotel was under renovation...no notice on the web site. Room was 'not fresh' - stuffy/unused smelling. AC unit rattled and was extremely loud at night it sounded like you were in an engine room. Breakfast is one step above basic - no waffles, had to wait for eggs/sausage, breads cold and stale. Internet access was slow and clunky.
Final pain - after breakfast we asked where the main floor restrooms were...they were closed (reno). We were sent to 216 which was locked...front desk shrugged his shoulders and said 'oh well'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My son and I were visiting friends in RI (we used to live there) and I picked this hotel for loyalty to Marriott and it's location. It is definitely convenient to everything in Warwick and it's a short drive to Prov.

Check in was ok but the first room they sent us to was either occupied or had not been cleaned. The second room had been cleaned but did not have any towels. Housekeeping issues.
Front desk staff was friendly and there are cookies in the afternoon which my son loved.

Breakfast was good but no waffles which is sad. :) Free wifi

Another small annoyance is that there are two tvs but the same remote operates both so if you turn one on frequently the other would go on too.

Small fridge in room was helpful.

We did not use the pool or hot tub but the area looked well kept.

All in all it was an ok stay but I wouldn't gush about it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chimera22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and i stayed here on our way up to Boston. The staff was very friendly, and helpful even at 2AM when we arrived. Breakfast was fine - great for free! Fresh blueberry waffles are a plus, but there is only one waffle maker (yes, there is a short line). They really should move the breakfast to another area the hotel, since the lobby is very small and crowded

The hotel is under contraction, so ask for an updated room - they're much nicer! The lobby is pretty outdated, but thats not a big deal

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS27Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cagedmonkees
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We chose this hotel since it had airport pickup. Unfortunately, it ends at 11pm, which is something I never heard of for an airport hotel. When I called the hotel, they told us to take a taxi (never offering to pay for). After travel delays which brought us in two hours late, we were not happy campers renting a car at 2 am.
The room was fine. The handicapped bathroom was large. Only real issue was air conditioning was either too hot or too cold. The hallways were extremely humid (it was July with 90+ degree weather) and we noticed visqueen on the windows of a few units on the bottom floor, about 50 couches in the parking lot being discarded from the renovation.
Breakfast was uneventful. Standard eggs, sausage, cereal and breads. Nothing exciting. The pool was indoor and crowded. But you could see the kids were having a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cagedmonkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

This is an okay location. Not far from Providence about a 20 minute drive. Iwould say the center of everything. Our check in went smoothly and we were welcome with fresh cookies and fruit. No waiting no confusion. We were familiarized with the hotels amenities upon check in. The hotel does have a nice size indoor pool and whirlpool, 3 to 5 feet. The excercise room is very nice with up to date equipment. The are some renovations taking place on one side of the first floor. The room was clean but only has one mirror. The four of us trying get ready was sort of an issue especially with one being a teen. The hotel is in close proximity of some chain restaurants and cafes.We did order for deliveries since were out sight seeing and enjoying Rhode Island. Nice family environment

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Warwick
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in West Warwick
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Coventry-Warwick Area
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Providence - West Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Coventry/Providence
4.3 mi away
NYLO Providence/Warwick
5.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Providence West Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Providence West Warwick

Property: SpringHill Suites Providence West Warwick
Address: 14 J. P. Murphy Highway, West Warwick, RI 02893
Region: United States > Rhode Island > West Warwick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Providence West Warwick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Providence West Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Providence West Warwick Hotel West Warwick
Springhill Suites West Warwick
West Warwick Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing