We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised by the bad reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Dollar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sand Dollar Inn
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Westerly
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Surprised by the bad reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here with a friend for Labor Day weekend for the second time. We plan to stay there again next year as we attend a music and dance festival nearby every year. Over the years we have stayed in several of the local hotels.....none of these places are 'luxury'....all beach motels in a beach town. We like the Sand Dollar best. The place is plain but clean, everything works (fridge, AC, etc) the couple that run the place are very nice, and the location works well for us. The reports of the place being noisy are odd....pretty quiet overall as it is up off of the road. (Rte 1) No noisy guests during either of our stays. As for odors and humidity...the beach area is VERY humid, and by the time we left even my car smelled musty. It is what it is....good idea to leave the windows open on hot days in any of the local places. As for all of the cat urine, dirty linen, and dirty toilet stories...????? This motel is quite clean if a little run down. Many others is the area are VERY run down.

Anyway....they even serve a cold breakfast in the morning.....cereal, muffins, etc, and coffee and tea. No complaints here, and as I said, we will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    6
    6
    35
See reviews for
18
19
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colrain, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

we made a reservation online for this motel,,we love westerly and misquamicut beach. We travel the 2.5 hrs to go to the beach. well we wanted to spend the night in town.sooooooooo..the check-in was fine without a problem. We got rm #4,,OMG...we opened the door and we were assaulted with a VERY STRONG CAT URINE ODOR...terrible we opened the windows and the door trying to get rid of the strongness of the smell. I sprayed a whole can of Lysol EVERYWHERE and we left and went to dinner.
we got back and that stinky odor was still there. I went to the front desk and told the man how awful it smelled and he gave me a can of some room freshener and said it was because of humidity???????????? what????????? humidity smells like cat urine??????? ok since there was really no place else to go we had to stay. Now the room has all kinds of bugs in it because we had to keep the door open...so 1 can of Lysol and 1 can of air freshener,,it was a bit more bearable. oh and we had to kill the bugs then,,,wth...I had a headache from all the aerosol spray we used. ok so we are stuck,,go to sleep wake up at 5am..ummmm the horrible smell is back,,we showered and high tailed it outta there,,it took a good hour to get that smell out of my nose. DON'T GO THERE for 165.00 we expected at the very least a cleaner environment. never , never again.

Room Tip: even if you have to stay there DONT GET ROOM 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherriem54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westerly hotels

Mass
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is my 2nd time at this inn. The owners are very kind & helpful. The room is basic, clean. However, this time around the towels in the room were too dirty, we had them exchanged without any problem. There is a basic continental breakfast offered from 8-10a.m. The location is perfect if you are looking to stay away from the beach traffic. This is the reason why I've booked with them when I want a place to stay when visiting misquamicut beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b3achl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

the rooms are filled with mold, bugs and nasty towels the pillows are like pancakes with drool all over . the owners are rude and watch everything you do. do not leave a tip because the housekeepers probally do not get it because I saw the owner take it and put it in her pocket .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missy4216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I booked a one night stay here for his birthday. Unfortunately, this uncle passed away 4 days before our booked reservation. The services were scheduled the day of our reservation. I called to explain the situation, the manager did not care and still charged a full price. Will never book here again. Completely disgusted.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Some of the reviews trashed this place. I had no issues with it. Sure, it's out of the way and short on frills. There's no breakfast and I never could connect with their wifi. But the room was clean, even the bathroom. The bed was firm and comfortable. No coffee maker, but there was a fridge. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave30214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerly
1.2 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#5 of 17 in Westerly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#5 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
2.5 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Inn

Property: Sand Dollar Inn
Address: 171 Post Rd, Route 1, Westerly, RI 02891-2673
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Westerly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Dollar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sand Dollar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing