We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat The Beach”
Review of Shelter Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shelter Harbor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Westerly B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't Beat The Beach”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have been coming to Shelter Harbor Inn for years. The beach is the best and we really love
the restaurant. The rooms are a little worn and the room we stayed in this summer was on the
lower level of the carriage house and it was a little damp. We still keep going back because we just love the location, the beach and the restaurant.

Room Tip: If you need 2 rooms take the top floor of the barn. There's a large family room you can use.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoveSunshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    14
    16
    25
See reviews for
37
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

After eating at Shelter Harbor for years, we have noticed a significant decrease in food and service quality during the last 1.5 years. The food is unpredictable. My favorite had been the seafood puff pastry. The last time I had it, the pastry was stale and the seafood was old. Upon letting the server know, when she eventually came back around, she was able to remove the dinner from the bill.
We tried dinner again, and well, the hostess was put off as we did not have a reservation, yet we were seated rather quickly.
Next: A friend that we had referred to Shelter Harbor for their wedding suffered total disappointment. The tiered wedding cake that they had ordered was not there. A birthday sheet cake was used in its place. The food that they had ordered was not served. As of September 10, 2012 Management has not offered any condolences and did not return the bride or grooms calls.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westerly hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Johnston, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

As loyal guests for the past ten years for our summer vacation at Shelter Harbor, my husband and I were extremely disappointed in our recent treatment.

We called the Inn and booked our vacation over the phone, giving all pertinent data.

When we checked in at our appointed time, we were told they didn't have our reservation, but rather, had it for the following week. Further research discovered that the gentleman who took our reservation over the phone got more than that information incorrect. He copied the wrong credit card number, the wrong cell phone number and the wrong home number for us!!! Since we were there early, the reservation person told us to enjoy the beach for the day and when we came back to check in, everything would be straighted out! Well IT WAS NOT.
We arrived at 6:30 with luggage in tow, only to be treated rudely and curtly by the evening manager. She tried to place the blame on us, since she alleges we were sent an email by the Inn regarding our credit card, which I told her at least 5 times that I never received it. I finally was able to speak to the wife of the owner, Westley and was treated in the same manner. She did not once apologize,but rested her laurels on the fact that we didn't call the Inn when we received the email about our credit card!
Never have we been treated so poorly by any estabishment, especially by one which we have returned to year after year. The error was made by their employee (which I was told by the morning staff that they were having a lot of trouble with their summer help & which was denied by Westly) and yet, we were left with the feeling that it was solely our fault. We were not given any alternatives, never offered another place to stay or even a glass of water!!! Just glad that we were less than an hour away from home so we had somewhere to stay that evening.
Needless to say, we will never return to the Shelter Harbor Inn and will not recommend it to our family or friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Hotel is immaculate, beds soft and comfy. Complimentary breakfast was delicious and nicely served. Hotel is very tired and needs updating. The trash area is exposed to a parking lot and needs a barricade fence around it. It was really unslightly. We stayed in both the barn and main building, main building far more desirable.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have stayed in the inn in the past and had wonderful experiences. The location is fantastic and breakfasts memorable. The inn is clean.

The inn could use a little "loving" The tvs in the room are small and circa 1990. The computer for guest use is circa 1995.

The innkeeper Mr. Dey is gracious and helpful. There are many young girls and boys who work at the inn who treat you as guests or relatives in their homes.

The wife of the innkeeper left me with an unpleasant taste for the inn. She could use a course in hospitality or possibly not have any interaction with guests. She did not make me feel welcome or wanted. I found her unpleasant in my limited dealings with her.

Overall I will go back. The inn could be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColonelJohnUSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place., thank you frommers! Beautiful room and comfy bed! Friendly staff. Restaurant on site is excellent food and bar is an added plus w the nicest bartender. Will b back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiloMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east greenwich, rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Had a dinner meeting here. Lovely quiet back room. Server was polite and knowledgeable. Good selection of wines. Great salad, delicious clams on the half shell and shrimp cocktail. The lobster and scallops were well prepared and delicious.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerly
3.3 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
132 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
325 reviews
1.5 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
3.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#2 of 10 in Westerly
129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Harbor Inn

Property: Shelter Harbor Inn
Address: 10 Wagner Rd, Westerly, RI 02891-4709
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Shelter Harbor Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing