We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip was padded - not responsive to correcting.”
Review of Shelter Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shelter Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Westerly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Our tip was padded. Watch your statement. Mediocre, room temperature food. Oh, okay 200 character minimun comment...can't say much more about the place. Made a reservation 3 months in advance of Christmas day and was stuck in a back room with the window open, over the outside dumpster.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muffi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimdey, General Manager at Shelter Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

We are deeply sorry that your dining experience did not meet expectations. I do wish you had asked to speak with myself or another available manager so we may have had the chance to address the specific seating and food quality issues and correct the impression we left instead. Furthermore, while we understand your concern regarding a discrepancy with the tip amount, we are perplexed by the intensity of your response. When humans are involved, mistakes will happen and we do our best to rectify any errors on our part as quickly and thoroughly as possible. Unfortunately, in this case we were unable to follow through with the usual expedience due to not having correct or available contact information for which to reach you. With your recent call to us we were finally able to make the necessary correction in a satisfactory manner. Excellent service is something we pride ourselves on and what we train our staff to achieve. We try very hard to provide each and every guest with the best experience possible and we fell short this time. We will continue to strive for the highest level and hope you will join us again to prove our dedication to our guests.

Westley Dey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

My mom and I had a private party for my dads birthday held in the bar. The decorations were nice and the apps were excellent. We had 2 servers to cater our event.

My family are locals so we visit often. Quality of food is excellent and so are the cocktails.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tammy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Shelter Harbor Inn is delight -- even in the winter!! Our 4th stay -- we love the carriage house. We have celebrated two of my wofe's birthdays here thrugh the tripadvisor special they offer during this time of the year. The folks are friendly and the atmosphere is cozy -- the architecture is simply New England.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Rudyjf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A dear friend brought me to Shelter Harbor Inn for a weekend get away. I am quite sure we fell in love there! The Inn is so secluded and quiet. The ocean is a short walk (we ran and ran through the great trail system nearby too!). Dinner was great but the breakfast is THE most amazing breakfast I have ever had!!
Hot tub on the roof!!
This quiet get away is so sweet! We are already planning another trip there for the spring!

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the out buildings - alittle more private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meyerls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at Shelter Harbor Inn. The room was big enough for our two dogs and their beds to fit comfortably and we enjoyed walking the grounds which are nicely landscaped. The staff were exceptionally friendly and our breakfasts were skilfully prepared and served in a bright sunroom. It was a cold and snowy weekend and the inn is warm and cozy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPepper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I recently dined there with a group for a holiday luncheon. I had been dining here off and on for over twenty years and service and food have been up and down. Unfortunately, my most recent experience was very disappointing. We were promised a three course luncheon including tax and tip for $25.00. We had a choice of three entrees, vegetarian, poultry, seafood. The portions were small, except for the pasta course. The lettuce on half of a lobster salad sandwich was very tired and one of our party became seriously ill from that offering which included a small bowl of lobster bisque which was very thin. I am not sure what the appetizer was supposed to be as I do not recall having one. Dessert was sort of an ice cream parfait with a gingerbread cookie and tea or coffee was included. There was only one waitress for four tables and receiving our bills was a time nightmare taking over an hour. This one poor waitress was unable to process the billing efficiently on the computer, having to do them one person at a time. Although, other personnel were around, she received no help from anyone causing her to almost break into tears. The price was too high, quality was low and service was slow . Others must have had poor experiences because the Inn was very quiet for a holiday time of year when in previous years one could hardly get into the door.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergrimes-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Very nice place, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We had two rooms, 9 and 6, both spacious and beautifully furnished. Room 9 also has a fireplace and a big terrace. Very peaceful and quiet, and the cleaning was impeccable. We really felt like being at home there.

Room Tip: Room 9 is perfect, there is a fireplace to light a fire on a rainy night and a big terrace for warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimdey, Manager at Shelter Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you Lisa. We are very happy you had a wonderful stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerly
13.1 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
241 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
346 reviews
3.3 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Ocean House
The Ocean House
#1 of 4 in Watch Hill
799 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#4 of 6 in Misquamicut
38 reviews
4.3 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Harbor Inn

Address: 10 Wagner Rd, Westerly, RI 02891-4709
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Price Range: £43 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Shelter Harbor Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing