We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Nightmare”
Review of Shelter Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shelter Harbor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Westerly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you are looking for something one step above sleeping in your car, this is the place for you! The staff was barely helpful and with no grasp of hospitality. Our first night there the fire alarm went off at around 3AM. There was no staff to be found and when we dialed the "emergency number" it took that person 30 minutes to show up. We later went to front desk to ask for a refund for the night and they questioned our story as if we were making it up. And of course they did not give us any sort of refund or discount on the night. Talk about insult to injury! They also charged us for damage to a lamp... we turned the lamp on and off twice and apparently bent it. The $150 charge is now being disputed.

I would say if nothing went wrong I wouldn't have known the staff was rude and inhospitable. I probably wouldn't be writing a review. I am writing this review to tell you to look elsewhere first before you land on this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend to attend a wedding nearby. We stayed in the main house in room 2 on the top floor. The room is light and airy, very sunny. It was clean, with lots of closet space. The hot tub on the roof was still operating and looked fun. We took a nice stroll to the beach and enjoyed the lovely grounds. Breakfast is included and is delicious. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for one night with our 11-month old baby. Even if the inn is not far from the main road, it has a quiet and charming location.
The building has historic value and is renovated nicely. Very nice rooms, and great outdoor areas - playing fields, top roof terrace with hot tub etc.
We had a room in the barn next to the main building - and as the baby called reached up to the restaurant in the main building, we could enjoy the dinner there while the baby was sleeping. Very good food - that was a positive surprise!!
The hotel has access to a private beach, but this is at driving distance - too far to walk.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solveig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked a room in the main house for two nights as they required a two night minimum stay! Right when we opened the door and walked into the Inn we noticed the old and musty smell, hoping the rooms would be different. After checking in and walking upstairs to our room the mustiness actually became worse. We looked around the room and here is what we found: A huge hole in the wall of the closet, cracks in the ceiling due to water damage with a poor repair job, the bathroom is extremely small with broken vanity, cracks and holes around all electrical plugs, dirt and crumbs underneath the chair cushion, mattresses that bounce like a trampoline – your back is broken the next morning, stains on bathroom towels, spider webs with inhabitant spiders in the corners. The shower felt like a sprinkler in your face when someone else uses water. If not then the water pressure was ok. WE WERE READY TO CHECK OUT THE SAME NIGHT WE CHECKED IN, however, we promised our kids a trip to the Mystic Aquarium the next morning. So we decided to stay that night. When we closed our door we noticed light coming in around the door from the hallway, in other words, there was no sound barrier for any noises outside the room. Sure enough, people walking up and down the hallway, talking, your neighbor taking a shower … YOU WILL HEAR IT ALL! The next morning, after a terrible night of sleep, we were looking forward to a nice breakfast. Well, breakfast starts at 7:30 am and there is no coffee or tea available until then. It’s a bit late when you have kids but might be ok for others. The clock hit 7:30 and we are walking downstairs with rumbling tummies. When sitting down at the table, the cleaning staff was still mopping the floors and vacuuming, the smell of ammonium is unforgettable. How appetizing that was! Wow. We packed up and checked out after breakfast and had never been so disappointed, especially since the rates aren’t cheap.

Room Tip: not a good experience at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were pleased with our stay here although it did feel a little bit more like a B&B than a hotel.

The staff were very friendly. The food was very good in the restaurant. The hot tub on the roof was great, a great little treat (although it was a little cold outside!)

We found the room really small, especially with a couple of bags to fit in. It had a small tv, weak aircon and very thin curtains. Bathroom was small but clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I had a lovely sunlit breakfast on the patio. Food was very good, service was friendly and efficient. Now I'm going to add a bunch of nonsense because the site requires that the review be at least 200 characters and I've really said all I need to say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ChrisN438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Don't miss out on the hot tub on the roof.

The breakfasts are fantastic.

Great location for Rhode Island water fun and evening walks in the neighborhood.

Be sure to ask about room choices, though they are all good.

Room Tip: Talk to the reservationist about choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westerly hotels
3.3 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#11 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
4.2 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Langworthy Farm Bed and Breakfast
6.7 mi away
The Ocean House
The Ocean House
#1 of 4 in Watch Hill
786 reviews
4.3 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Harbor Inn

Address: 10 Wagner Rd, Westerly, RI 02891-4709
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Price Range: £45 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Shelter Harbor Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing