We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great RI Motel”
Review of Aquastar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquastar Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Westerly B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

For the past 10 years I have gone up to Rhode Island and stayed at the Ambassador Motel, but they closed this year. I was very disappointed and searched the internet, wanting a place to stay after spending the days on the beach and not having it cost me a fortune since I needed two rooms. I found it the Aquastar Inn, the owners went out of their way to make you happy. One morning the owner made my son and his girlfriend waffles. The rooms were clean. The pool was refreshing after a day at the beach. It was a very nice and I will make sure I go back.

Room Tip: I stayed up in the top portion and was pleased with the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. yes there were things wrong but it was nothing we could not live with. Everyone we met including staff were nice. Maybe a little updating could be done but everything comes in time. We have stayed in worse motels on the Jersey shore..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Ok so we were a group of 4 reserved a 2 bed room, 115 to be precisely... Before paying for the room we asked to see it since it was a motel we wanted to make sure it was OK so from the quick look we had it seemed ok. Paid for the room, dropped off our stuff and went to the casinos near by. By 2 am we came back my cousin lifted up the bed covers and guess what? BLOOD STAINS/HAIRS/YELLOW STAINS on both beds... My husband started to scratch himself he felt something on his back it was a FLEA... We started to packing up, I went to the office and told them we were not staying and obviously asked for the whole money back the wife came down with a nasty attitude went to the room with my husband to confirm what I had said was true got back to the office spoke in hindu and told the husband there was nothing there!! Im Portuguese descended but I worked 7 years with an Indian doctor so I UNDERSTAND A LITTLE HINDU...She told the husband I was a lying [--] and there was no blood there... I told her WHAT YOU MEAN THERE'S NO BLOOD THERE I'LL SHOW YOU EXACTLY WHERE IT IS!!! Back in the room found the stain and she had the NERVE to tell me Oh that's on the bottom it won't touch you!
I was a medical and dental assistant for 8 years and I KNOW the risk and danger of contact with blood specially unknown blood!!
I was not expecting luxuries but I've stayed at many motels before and the only thing I do ask for is HYGIENE.
We did got the full amount of money back but only after I threatened them with police and health department... It was a discussing place... They don't change covers or sheets they had "sex" and sweat smell on! Seriously Im not a picky person I'll sleep on the floor with no pillow if I have to but CLEAN pleaseee... I actually have pictures of it to prove it you may email me jmsb8483 at gmail. com and do NOT GO THERE, IF YOU DO CHECK YOU ROOM AND BED BEFORE ANYTHING!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sagitarios2514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I too was also hesitant to stay at the aquastar and came to R.I. without a hotel reservation after seeing this one on-line and being nervous because of the reviews. After driving around for a while and viewing other options I went back and gave it a try as it looked decent from the outside. I found the staff friendly and the room acceptable. It was what I expeceted from a motel near the beach. We did not have a phone in our room and when re-reading the website saw that it said micro-fridge (meaning small fridge) and not microwave. We did not try to continental breakfast as we had brought cereal for the room. I found the location convenient and having the pool a plus. While there were a few bugs that could have been skimmed off the top the pool was fine and I did observe a staff member adding chlorine after our swim in the evening. My family and I are planning on returning for another weekend soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Was a little scared to stay here after reading all of the reviews, but if you are looking for a decent cheap place, this is the spot. The rooms are what you will find at any typical motel,but are definitely not as bad as the other reviews had said. They have a swimming pool, hot tub and bon fire areas. The staff was very understanding and allowed us to have a great time. This place is not half as bad as all of these reviews.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived in Rhode Island with no reservations at all. My husband saw this motel and stopped and inquired about vacancy. I had my reservatons. We booked the room for 3 nites. The room was very outdated but clean. What made up for it was the hospitality from the owners. They were very nice and told us alot about the area. They even built a fire for us at nite, and we all ate lobsters and clams together. The pool was spotless and the grounds were nice. I would stay there again. They are really trying to come back from a devastating fired they had. We if you want to save some cash for the rest of your trip you can do so here and still stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here 4/3/11 horrible. Changed rooms to get off road. Pulled back sheets to find dried puke on the matress. When the wench owner came to the room it was with a barbrawl attitude and demended to see the problem. After seeing the puke she said people get sick here all the time. Changed rooms to a room with a completely broken bed that sagged close to 6" in the center, really sucked. The todler aged children are running around basically unattended and with their trailer park attitudes no wonder. Dirty, smelly and therer was sand all over the floor they just "cleaned". I can fully attest that these other reviews are accurate and would drive back home to central Connecticut for the night before staying at this dump again. Actually the dumpster behind Benny"s would be a better stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquastar, Manager at Aquastar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Sir, I do apologize for some yellow spot on sheet because it was overlooked by my newly trained housekeeper and at the same I time I offered to change the Bed sheet and also offered to change the room. But sir you have requested not to stay and all I said is I will give you full refund for not staying here which I did. I wasn't even rude, I just asked to let me check the room which I am supposed to make sure room is not been used. Again be respectful, we have 1687 rooms rented last summer in 2011 without any complains and they enjoyed it and promised to come back. Small mistakes can be corrected by giving chance operator to fix it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westerly hotels
1.3 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ocean House
The Ocean House
#1 of 4 in Watch Hill
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
33 reviews
2.3 mi away
Point 1 Resort
Point 1 Resort
#9 of 10 in Westerly
30 reviews
2.4 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquastar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquastar Inn

Address: 110 Post Rd, Westerly, RI 02891-2600
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Price Range: £48 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquastar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aquastar Inn at Westerly, a coastal New England style original outdoor motor inn that offers a natural beauty, warm hospitality and suitable stay surrounded by sand, sun, swim, sunbath, surf, shops, beaches, ponds, family fun, fishing and golfing within few miles makes it a perfect location for vacationers and beach and camp lovers and even for transients and seasonal workers. From moment you arrive at Aquastar Inn at Westerly you will fall in Love with flowered garden, beautiful landscaping, picnic area with grills where you can swim in sparkling 55’ long fish shaped swimming pool surrounded by lush green flowers and spectacular sunshine. You will enjoy warm and comfortable stay with free continental breakfast in morning with hot cup of coffee provided only in summer, cable TV , air conditioning, telephone, WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Aquastar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquastar Inn At Westerly Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing