We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain Thai lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thong's

Thong's
Ranked #12 of 138 Restaurants in Westerly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great bargain Thai lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Similar to many small family Thai restaurants. Not much for atmosphere or ambiance, but great, economical food, friendly staff. Wonderful lunch choices with great appetizers, can't believe the bargain prices. Very fresh, all cooked to order. met friends for lunch based on reviews, wasn't disappointed. Wished i lived closer, would go every week. Thai is my favorite food and wish thong Thai was in my town. Highly recommended for great food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn06475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great ty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

food is fantastic!!! Not much for atmosphere but they make that up with there food.Very spicy so for most of the dishes you need to like your food on the spicy side! They also serve wine with there meals and the prices are very fare!!! Great food resonable prices you won't be disapointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lsaponare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Stonington, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I absolutely love this place! Sometimes the service can be a bit slow when things are super busy but the food definitely makes up for the wait. Everything I've had is great! I'm a vegetarian and their menu is super veggie friendly! The prices are hard to beat and the atmosphere is lovely. If you're in Westerly and want Thai, go to Thong's. The flavor can't be beat :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeggyBBriscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service but terrible food experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I went to the restaurant based on a recommendation from a coworker and based on the reviews. Upon entering it seems like you are walking into the center of the restaurant dining room(awkward)! But the customer service was good. Our waitress/ hostess was very nice. I ordered my food chicken wonton pad thai with a level 3 spice.It came out w/o and wontons and with no r spice. So they remade it. Then I'm eating and I discover HAIR in my food. That was the end for me and I sent it back and left hungry! I won't go back. The appetizer ( spring rolls were average the dressing on my salad was good). A key indicator should of been the particles floating in my friends water after we first sat down. I've definetly had better Thai food!Very disappointed!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VJenkins49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I got the Veggie Lover with Tofu. It's supposed to be stir-fried mixed vegetables with tofu. It was all lettuce, red pepper, tofu, and one piece of broccoli. COME. ON. How cheap can you be? ONE PIECE of broccoli? Give me a break. That so stuck out to me like a sore thumb, I won't eat here again if that's how they cheap out on customers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thong's also viewed

 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Thong's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing