We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Atmosphere, Service!!”
Review of Haversham Tavern

Haversham Tavern
Ranked #9 of 140 Restaurants in Westerly
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Atmosphere, Service!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This place was recommended by some of the locals. We love to try new places recommend and this was a great place. We stopped in for lunch. We had a buffalo chicken sandwhich with onion rings (well done) & Fish and Chips, coleslaw and sweet potato fries. The lunch was delicious!! The waitress was very friendly and we love that we never had to ask for another drink because she always brought us another drink.

There are big screen TV's all around so if your looking to watch a game this would be a great place! We really enjoyed our meal. We would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    80
    37
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not my demographic?”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

LOUD. When I asked why it was so loud, the server reported on the acoustics of the place. It wasn't that crowded. But why seat people in a sound focus? Our table was next to the door for smokers. Blistering cold, and a blow of smoke each time that door opened.
FOOD? Well, it was St Patty's weekend, so we were a bit surprised when told that the 'St Patty Specials' weren't available. OK, fish-n-chips. Good thing they laid the fish on the fries, as the grease soaked through and soaked the fries. No kidding: pick up a frie and it would drip!
DRINK? Well, the server was rather insistent upon 'green beer'. Ho Ho Ho. A choice of two: Coors light and Bud light. Looking around at the big-bellies swilling the stuff while watching March Madness on way-too-many TVs, I should have known. I ordered a Bass Ale -which came green.

We scampered out as quick as we could and will never return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary_P3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food , Great Service”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've been here 3 times now and have to say that it is one of my favorite restaurants, food is really good and reasonably priced. Had dinner , a couple drinks and desert with my girlfriend and bill w tip was under $65. Owner Jay is very friendly and always asks how everything is. Atmosphere is great with a pub feel and great if you want to take in a hockey game and football on Sundays. Service was prompt and friendly. Highly recommend .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MASTEVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good overall”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Eveything on the menu is good nothing is bad but nothing was the best .. This is a great go to restaraunt where u know u won't b disappointed but nothing really STOOD out as the best I ever had .. I would come here again and again tho

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenlk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have dined at the Haversham in Westerly many times, it is close to my home and a very comfortable restaurant. The GM Jay is very accommodating and is very hands on when it comes to his customers. Its not unusual to find him going from table to table on a Friday or Saturday night making sure his customers are happy. Nice to see in this day of fast food and chain restaurants! The food at the "Sham" is very good, the normal fare you would find in a New England pub. The fish and chips is wonderful, they also have prime rib on Saturday and Friday nights that is very good. The prices are reasonable, The service can be at times slow, so if your in a hurry try someplace else (chain restaurant!) this place is for relaxing and enjoying your meal. They have a Facebook presence so if your wondering what the specials are check them out there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haversham Tavern also viewed

 
Westerly, South County
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Haversham Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing