We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inexpensive meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haversham Tavern

Haversham Tavern
Ranked #10 of 138 Restaurants in Westerly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice inexpensive meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I am a local and usually meet up with my girlfriends once a month here. We just love the Haversham! The service is always great. They have a nice menu selection all reasonably priced. Even the beer and wine menu has a nice selection and again very reasonably priced. There is a large bar area usually with the game on as well as a nice separate dining room area, if you do not want the bar atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L25P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    74
    36
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great family dining at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I visit the "Haversham" on a regular basis, food is consistent with a varied menu to please everyone in your party; salads, burgers, to entrees they have it all. This is a great family stop that is not a tourist trap and is kid friendly. Arrive early Fri, Sat, & Sun as you may have to wait after 6:00 pm. They also have a full service bar with numerous flat panel TV's to watch sports.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pincity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mary would be proud!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The former Mary's restaurant was a long time favorite restaurant in Westerly known for its friendly service and homemade style food. When it closed we felt the loss... until! The Haversham Tavern not only meets our former expectations but brings it to the 21st Century with creative cuisine in a neighborhood tavern setting. It is a place we can take anyone from grandchildren to aging parents and have everyone be pleased with the food and overall experience. We will miss Mary and her fine team but are pleased to welcome the current owners and staff and wish them well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AscDac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A well dressed sports bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

After driving by this beautiful building many times, we selected it for our Easter dinner, assuming that since it is so tastefully done, that we would have a wonderful meal.

When we arrived,the hostess told us that we'd have to sit at a High top table, because she was not allowed to seat couples in the dining room. When we declined the hi top, (thank goodness, because it would have been in the bar' with the 3 giant tvs) the hostess asked someone if she could seat us in the (half empty) dining room, and they said ok....

The dining room is gorgeous, a stone fireplace, and big round tables with Winslow chairs, and glass topped tables. A very classy and appealing place...until, we sat down and saw that under the glass on the table was a huge advertisement for a mosquito control company!!! A frightening picture of a mosquito biting someone/thing, was right between my husband and I. I have never seen anything so repulsive in the seediest diner, let alone a fine restaurant!
Then we were given menus. Ugh!! If we weren't so hungry, we would have left. It was basically an Applebee's menu! Apps: fried mozzarella, clam cakes, nachos, chicken wings... Dinner: BBQ ribs, burgers, pizza, chicken parm.... Yuck!
It took us about fifteen minutes to pick out something we could stomach. Meanwhile, we began to notice the loud television noise from the next room, the bar. The food was mediocre at best. Both the chowder and lobster bisque were slimey and tasted like canned.

What a huge disappointment. The place is basically a sports bar with a pretty dining room, and crappy food. But... The beer mugs are enormous!
So, if that's what you're into, then you will love this spot.

Such a shame, that looks can be so deceiving. We will never return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rhodeygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Atmosphere, Service!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This place was recommended by some of the locals. We love to try new places recommend and this was a great place. We stopped in for lunch. We had a buffalo chicken sandwhich with onion rings (well done) & Fish and Chips, coleslaw and sweet potato fries. The lunch was delicious!! The waitress was very friendly and we love that we never had to ask for another drink because she always brought us another drink.

There are big screen TV's all around so if your looking to watch a game this would be a great place! We really enjoyed our meal. We would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haversham Tavern also viewed

 
Westerly, South County
 

Been to Haversham Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing