We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Westerly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Inn Resort
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Westerly
West Nyack, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Horrible stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 22 in February when we checked in we were told that there was water damage in our kitchen. They also told us that the gym was closed and so was the hot tub. Basically there was nothing to do. It bring February we were looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway , that wasn't happening. when we got to our room we found out that the water would not get hot in our jacuzzi the tvs were very old. 2 days into our long week stay water starting pouring down the kitchen walls and through the ceiling. They moved us to a small studio I told them we paid for a one bedroom. They said they were booked. SORRY. Not even a free night or anything was offered to us so if you plan on staying here ask many questions first the maintenance guy went above he's means to help us. Give that man a raise he works HARD

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taken4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We exchanged this unit hoping for a quiet week at the beach during the winter months. My husband panned on doing some work there (computer required) in between our day trips to area attractions. We called ahead to make sure the pipes were repaired (they had burst during an earlier cold snap) and that there was WiFi in the units. We were told yes on both accounts. We were confirmed for a 1 bedroom 2 bathroom unit. We arrived to find a small one bedroom, one bathroom and no closet in the bedroom unit. We had to hang our clothes in the broom closet in the kitchen area. The bathroom is immediately in the kitchen area and the bed is hard as rocks. There was also NO internet in the room. It stopped right outside the door. when we spoke to management about this their response was "oh we hear a lot alot that". This was after I had called to confirm there would be access. The TVs were older and hard to view. Parking is challenging as it is a small lot. We did find an awesome place for lunch and breakfast called the Cooked Goose. Great atmosphere and the food is delicious. The unit was so small (not like the pictures on the web site) that even though there were only two of us we were tripping over each other. We left after 3 days.
I am very upset that Interval would say this is one of their properties, I wonder when the last time they checked this place out was. This makes me now question the quality of their other vacation places. I expect equal trade quality to what I bought into.

Room Tip: One bedroom has only one bathroom (even when they say 2) bathroom is right in kitchen area, bed mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westerly hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

There are paint chips broken off the wall, they have a oven in our room with no oven mitts, the tv reception is bad it's all speckle like, the room has 2 of the same paintings in the same room. There are stains on the wall. the customer service is horrible they are never around and really don't give a crap about how you feel or what's goin on. There is minimum parking


Location is awesome

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leahb1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Almost 2 years ago my wife and I took the dive into timeshare ownership at the Atlantic Beach Resort. We are Interval International members and we feel that the Resort is a great value for our family. Though, we have traded in our week to go elsewhere, we are close enough to come out for a getaway on any given weekend. The beach is really nice and its great to be on a private area vs public. The beach is situated inbetween "The Andrea" and another hotel so its understandable there will be noise besides the crashing of waves from the ocean. Our teens enjoy it and the pool at the Resort is a great place for them to go if the water is too cold or rough. They always have parking either at the resort or off site for the owners and the office staff makes sure that we are taken care of. Yes, people are really sloppy in the summer, their staff does their best to make sure that the resort looks presentable- outside as well as inside. They always seem to be polite to us and our family. Anyone that has ever complained about a shower outside a pool in a resort should relax- lets just say again, nobody gets paid enough to clean up messes from slobs. They get the job done! Looking forward to many more years visiting RI beaches from CT.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobyankeefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is an Interval property, however I do wonder when they were last evaluated by them. Upon arrival we were warned that the housekeeper had memorized every item in the kitchen and each piece of linen. This set the tone for an unpleasant stay.
On the plus side, they recycled their trash. On the negative side, we were required to take out the trash. We were on the second floor and my husband is 70.
Spa: Guests are required to take the cover off the spa and replace it. The pool was frigid.
The kitchen items were an interesting array of mismatched patterns. Not only the utensils, but the dishes, glasses, cups and saucers. More importantly, the refrigerator door had 3 missing shelves.
The living room carpet was soaking wet upon our arrival. Concerned that they might believe we had somehow created this catastrophe, since the ceiling showed evidence of water damage, we alerted the desk of the condition of the carpet. They said that they had just cleaned the carpet. We could put nothing on the floor for 3 days because the moisture was absorbed by whatever we put down on the floor. The sheets and pillow cases had blood stains in numerous places.
The beach. This postage-stamp sized beach has absolutely no beach furniture. There are no chairs, no chaises, no umbrellas. Nothing to be had. If you cannot bring yourself to a standing position from a reclining one, you cannot use the beach. There is no warning, no disclaimer in the advertising that one must bring their own beach equipment.
Deck. There is a deck outside the bedroom. In order to gain entrance, one must kick the door open as it is so warped, it is impossible to simply push it. The cheap plastic chairs are covered in fungus.
The bathroom sinks are very slow to drain.
If you lose your room key, there is a $100 charge. If you lose your wrist band to the beach, there is a $10 charge. The desk clerk commented that a guest had lost their bracelet in the heavy current that had threatened to carry them out to sea. She was not concerned about the potential loss of life in the tide, it was the loss of the silicone bracelet that concerned her.
This is an Interval property. I find that absolutely astonishing. The mish-mash of kitchen equipment is trivial. It is the attitude of the clerks, the fungus on the furniture, the broken refrigerator door, that troubled us.
It is not wireless, by the way. We did not have any modern electronics, such as flat screen televisions. This place was built in the '60s and stayed there. The furniture must have been acquired at an inner-city 1960s estate sale. There was nothing attractive about the unit except the ironing board cover that was covered in a collection of light houses.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this property to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jennwill46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We loved the closest to the beach, the indoor pool, outdoor grills and hot tub!! Great Location and Staff!!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cornmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Booked this as a last minute 2bedroom for the week at a great price through timeshare network. The location of this place is perfect. the beach is right across the street, and the surrounding area of Westerly, and Watch Hill are very nice. If you do not expect much from this place, you will be fine. It is fairly clean, however the amenities and facilities need attention. The pool is clean, and the hot tub is clean although both are dated. The room we had was a two bedroom which was a 1bdrm with an adjoining studio. The Jacuzzi did not function in the room, and the carpets need to be replaced or even better removed. Carpets do not work well in beach areas IMHO. The laundry facilities look as if it has not been attended to since the 70's, you would be better off taking your clothes out to be washed. The furniture is rather modern and clean and the rooms all had TVs lcd or plasma. If your intention is to spend the days at the beach, or enjoying the beautiful area then this place should be an option if you can get it for a reasonable price below market, otherwise you may want to consider another place. The other positives are parking is free ($10 to $20 in area), there is "a" tennis court and basketball court across the street. You get beach passes for the private beach. There is little or no need to drive anywhere except to go shopping (Stop n shop/Walmart 10 min away), or visit the surrounding areas (Mystic, Newport, Block Island, or Watch Hill). The rooms have kitchens, And all appliances and housewares you will need. All were in great shape or nearly new. Be aware however that average summer rentals in the area seem to go for $5000 a month for some reason (beach beach beach), and the area is very nice.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank barrypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerly
0.1 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Shore Motel
Sandy Shore Motel
#6 of 6 in Misquamicut
29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#12 of 17 in Westerly
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 17 in Westerly
227 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
0.4 mi away
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
Misquamicut Beach Front Inn
#3 of 6 in Misquamicut
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Inn Resort

Property: Atlantic Inn Resort
Address: 8 Crandall Ave, Westerly, RI 02891-5347
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Westerly
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Westerly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing