We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Outstanding Anniversary Getaway"”
Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villa
Ranked #1 of 10 Westerly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was the second year spending our anniversary weekend at The Villa in Westerly, RI. The accommodations were outstanding! The innkeepers, Barbara and Michael and their staff were very gracious and extremely welcoming. Our room was beautiful and spacious with wonderful amenities including a Jacuzzi and fireplace. The freshly prepared breakfasts’ selections were delicious. The inn is conveniently located to many wonderful attractions.
What a great place for a romantic getaway. We are looking forward to coming back very soon.

Barbara and Michael,
Thank you for helping to make our anniversary weekend a very special one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I were plannning a one night getaway for our anniversary. The Blue Grotto room at the Villa looked like the perfect choice with the in room jacuzzi, large shower, fireplace and only a two hour drive.
When we arrived Michael gave us a tour and took the time to show us how to use the controls on the lighting, jacuzzi and fireplace.
The unexpected amenities were great. Candles, bath salts, DVD library, complimentary cordials and cold beverages to name a few. The option to have a delicious breakfast brought to the room was the best.
After breakfast we decided to stay a second night and enjoy another evening at the Villa.
When we go back, and we will, I will go prepared to also make use of the outdoor jacizzi and pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I made a last minute, one night, off season/fall reservation here following an earlier than planned departure from a horrendous inn on Block Island. I regret that I didn't listen to my mother's advice before booking our four day trip to RI, as she had recommended Westerly and the Villa for our anniversary celebration. Lucky for us, the Villa had a cancellation and we booked the "Tuscany" room for the night of our anniversary. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Barbara, the lovely, interesting, and gracious owner. She gave good advice about area restaurants and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Guytano's. Our room was spacious, comfortable, immaculate, and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was updated, with a large, tiled shower. I usually shy away from jacuzzis in most hotel rooms due to concern about cleanliness, but had no reservation about enjoying the jacuzzi in this room. The inn and property grounds show great attention to detail, with amenities galore. For example, the evening cordials and pastries are a nice touch. We were given a couple options for breakfast and selected eggs benedict & asparagus, fruit salad, coffee, and juice. Everything was freshly prepared and delicious. We ate in the main dining room, but were also given the option of room service or patio dining. Many B&B's throughout the northeast inspire claustrophobia, or a Victorian inspired, rooming with grandma feeling, but this place felt more like an elegant Palm Springs resort. I usually prefer staying on the beach when I visit ocean areas, but will stay at Villa when I return to Westerly. The inn is a short drive to the area beaches and restaurants, 15 minutes to Mystic, and 35 minutes to Newport. We enjoyed all three of these destinations during our trip here. Can't wait to return to Westerly and the Villa in the summer. Many thanks to Barbara and the Villa for saving what was left of our long weekend, anniversary celebration. We returned to NY feeling happy and refreshed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talula09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I went here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We usually don't go to B&B's but I wanted something special.....and I FOUND it !! This place is magnificent. Comfy, friendly, gourmet breakfast, beautiful grounds, gorgeous room. My husband asked if I wanted to come back and I said, NO. I want to LIVE here!! Beautiful.

Room Tip: You should check the site before reserving. Some of the rooms have a private entrance which is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sfrisino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Breakfast was delightful and delicious! Everyone was friendly and courteous. I recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyAmbler_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The Villa is a lovely and meticulously maintained inn with gracious hosts and friendly staff. The attention to a myriad of details was very much appreciated and we enjoyed a relaxing visit. The breakfasts were fabulous and we enjoyed ours by the pool each sunny morning.
Barbara was very helpful with suggestions for dining as well as browsing around the area.
We were quite impressed with the Villa and would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileen_bogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A couple of years ago a good friend raved about The Villa, so when I was invited to attend a wedding in next-door Watch Hill, I knew where I was going to stay. And I could not have been more pleased.

Location: A stone's throw from the ocean and minutes to Watch Hill.

The Room: Larger than you would expect to find in the classic New England B&B--especially those near the beach. Tastefully appointed. Clean and comfortable. And the jacuzzi and huge walk-in shower came as big surprises. Pleasant surprises. Then there were the little things like having an iron in the room, a real blowdryer (not the mini-kind) and a fridge that all scored big points with me.

The Setting: One doesn't necessarily think "Mediterranean" when visiting the sea-side towns of New England, but The Villa makes it work. The tiled roofs, the exquisite gardens and dining pool-side all combined to make me feel as though I'd needed my passport to be relaxing at a European boutique hotel.

The Hosts: Barbara and Michael were welcoming, attentive and just the right amount of low-key. They gave us some great suggestions for dining and directions to everywhere! Speaking of dining, the breakfasts were outstanding. I "forgot" my diet for two mornings and had no regrets!!

Overall, a wonderful place to stay. Mille grazie.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachcat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerly
9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,168 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#11 of 17 in Westerly
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
231 reviews
16.5 mi away
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
#5 of 27 in New Shoreham
333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Breezeway Resort
Breezeway Resort
#1 of 6 in Misquamicut
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: 190 Shore Rd, Westerly, RI 02891-3629
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Westerly
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Westerly
Price Range: £188 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 8 room, Boutique, Upscale Bed and Breakfast/Inn with King/Queen Beds, Private Bathrooms, 2 person Jacuzzi's in each room, Outdoor Heated Pool and Jacuzzi(seasonal). Sumptuous, Gourmet Breakfasts served in your Room, Poolside or Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing