We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, dinner could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belesta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a great place and a nice base for exploring the region (quite isolated but fab views over the countryside). No expense has been spared on the rooms and the restaurant setting is great. We travelled with our baby and they provided a nice cot etc. when we arrived.
Pool is an eco pool so self cleaning and a bit green etc. but a very nice setting for relaxation.

The one big let down was the dinner, the quality of the menu at over 50 euros was disappointing with overripe cheese, and very heavy dessert that was not to our taste. Wine list and service were good, but the menu needs a rethink and ingredients need to be fresher at these prices.
Breakfast was lovely though!

Room Tip: Rooms above the cuves are just as nice really but they have very little/no outdoor space. The Balcon...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goessag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have recently visited this superb restaurant for the 2nd time and can't wait for my next trip to the region. The food is imaginative and beautifully presented in a wonderful setting. The staff were attentive and friendly but unobtrusive. I would happily have paid twice as much for my meal and would still have left there smiling. I can't recommend this establishment more highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Taniya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Rarely have we had such a perfect stay. Luxury wine escape, in a remote area of Roussillon near the Pyrenees, but nevertheless about 40 minutes from Perpignan. We stayed at this newly renovated resort in April, in one of the sumptuous dans les cuves rooms, literally in an oversize concrete wine tank, I slept like a baby :) All of the details are luxurious, this is a seriously comfortable stay for those in need of some R&R. Terrific view, attentive helpful service from beginning to end, even delicious pastries and wine awaited us upon arrival.

A few words on the restaurant: we ate here two nights running, I don't think there is anything else nearby, but this wasn't a problem. Dishes on the menu and à la carte were consistently excellent (and as a couple of foodies based in Paris we expect a lot): fresh, locally sourced, wonderfully tender. The Ducasse trained chef's sauces were a stand-out. Finally the sommelier went out of his way not only to help us try the best the wine region has to offer and the ideal pairing for our meal but also how best to continue our wine tour after our stay. We may have benefitted from the off-season and the hotel being relatively quiet, but frankly a very memorable stay in a beautiful remote spot.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zazacarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We wanted a luxury hotel in a mountain village and that's what we got. The hotel bedroom was beautiful and very comfortable with a very nice bathroom. A complimentary bottle of wine was awaiting us in our room along with fruit and biscuits. Our room was at the front of the hotel and led onto a terrace with chairs and loungers. At first I thought it would be too public but the village is so quiet that only about two vehicles passed every hour so it was actually very pleasant.

There is a winery attached to the hotel and we called into the shop to arrange a visit to the cellar with tasting which was advertised in the hotel brochure at 5 euro pp. The person in the shop was very friendly and accommodating and gave us a detailed tour of the cellar in english with plenty of tasting of delicious wine. He was too polite to mention money but we offered it as we thought 5 euro was excellent value and we appreciated his time and that he put no pressure on us to buy. We also bought as much wine as we could fit in our suitcases anyway. We had visited another winery in Collioure where the person was unfriendly and not interested in business from tourists.

We had dinner in the hotel both nights which was delicious with excellent service. We were given a lovely table outside and when it got a bit chilly were quickly moved inside. The food is gourmet which is great though I would have appreciated some simpler options as gourmet every night is a bit too rich.

The swimming pool and terraces look lovely though we didn't try the water out. The hotel is in a remote part of the countryside, very peaceful with beautiful rural views. It was a pleasure to wander around the village which has narrow lanes with exposed mountain rocks everywhere.

There are few facilities in the village itself. We had a lovely lunch at the only other restaurant in the village which didn't open at night when we were there in September, I think it does during the summer season. There was no shop or bakery either (one might operate in summer) so without a car eating options were restricted. There is an interesting museum in the castle.

This is a lovely hotel and perfect for a romantic weekend away to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

It was one of our stops before exploring the Pyrenees. The hotel is tastefully done up including the rooms. Staff speak English so plus. It was very disappointing to be told that restaurant is fully booked when we arrived. Even more that we were not even offered some cold cuts & cheese platter, it would have been enough after the long drive we had had... very disappointing way to treat your hotel guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Sunday lunch for 4 was remarkably good value. The food was original, but not bizarre - the desert trolley had to be seen to be beleved. The wines were divine and the young sommelier was first-rate. We were on the terrace which was a pleasure in itself. There is an 'eco' swimming-pool and we wished we'd taken our bathing things. Next time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lauraD180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belesta
12.2 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
265 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Villa Duflot
La Villa Duflot
#3 of 46 in Perpignan
497 reviews
8.2 mi away
Casa9 Hotel
Casa9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thuir
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
510 reviews
16.3 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
161 reviews
21.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel les Flamants Roses
Le Grand Hotel les Flamants Rose...
#3 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant

Address: 2 route de Caladroy, 66720 Belesta, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Belesta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belesta
Price Range: £81 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing