We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, great food, rooms spectacular - but nights can be hot inside the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belesta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great setting, great food, rooms spectacular - but nights can be hot inside the room.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a wondelful hotel, and unique in this area. We stayed at a ground floor suite, which was amazing. Modern yet warm and very roomy. The "spill-over" terras and walkway right in front of our room were perfect for our 1.5 year old to hobble around. The restaurant is an experience by itself, book there also if you are not staying. The deck and views are also spectacular. Friendly service start to finish. We did stay one night less.... as the "natural air-conditioning" from ancient times could not keep up with the hot August temperatures. This made our little one very restless, and even seeping with all our doors open at night did not give much relief. So we checked out early and that was not a problem at all, no extra charges etc. The staff there are very understanding and professional. Too bad - as we are very much in favour of green energy and its otherwise a very impressive hotel. A real treat in this remote hilly area. In spring / autumn it would even be cool enough to have a great sleep in these stunning rooms. Recommended!

Room Tip: The botttom (below the entrance level!) row of suites are perfect, each with their own terrace overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Premium_Voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    49
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
98
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We recently hosted an event at Riberach and it was exactly what we were hoping for and more. It hit on every level: food, service and location. The staff could not have been more professional or helpful. I only speak English, as do a lot of our guests, and that was never a problem. It was the perfect balance of staying available without getting in the way. The chef is really something special. We had so many comments on the delicious food from people with very mixed tastes and backgrounds. The village is very charming with plenty of options. The rooms are very well appointed and each one is different with it's own character. The event room was the perfect size. We had a group of approximatley 50 people. I will absolutely return for a weekend with the family as soon as possible. The pictures here and on the website don't do the place justice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmithsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I usually never take the time to write reviews but this time I cannot recommend this place enough,

We stayed at Hotel Riberach last week for our wedding, for three nights and really enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel itself has everything a person would need for a very comfortable stay in the Pyrenees. Beautiful rooms (all different) overlooking the mountains and Wynyard which on a sunny day is gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful.

The level of service we received throughout our stay made the whole experience so much more special. During the planning process of our wedding I received all the responses I needed and felt my requests were well communicated and understood. From the very beginning I felt I was working with pros, I organised my entire wedding from London and felt fully supported in every step (thanks again Lucie!). We had access to the reception room the day before our wedding to set up the decorations and everyone was extremely helpful and on the wedding day the staff went out of their way to make us feel ‘at home’ and made things run smoothly (thank you to James, Christelle, le Chef, le Sommelier, Marie and to everyone else who contributed to our special day!).

Overall the hotel has a luxury boutique feel. It is a short drive to many sightseeing activities, walks and wineries, also not too far from the sea so it's very easy to enjoy a day out and about.
We enjoyed breakfast, brunch and dinner in the hotel and I have to say it was perfect in every way. There was a wide range of local foods on the menu and our guests travelling from abroad really enjoyed it and still talk about the quality of food.

We really enjoyed our time here and found it very relaxing; we know we will be back soon! Riberach was for us a little piece of heaven and so worth splashing out on!

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelbsw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It was about nine at night and I was sitting in a cafe in Ille-sur-tet without a place to spend the night when I trip-advised the surrounding towns and and picked Riverbach based on favorable reviews, and one available room. The road to Belesta is tortuous, and it was dark, but around a final turn in the road, the town was above me, all lit up. And then the surprise of the hotel. Beautifully conceived reconstructed wine cave, elegantly appointed, with an excellent restaurant. Make a point of seeking out James, the very knowledgeable and attentive sommelier and maitre d. An expat Englishman, with a deep knowledge of the excellent local wines. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
460 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

A really good hotel and restaurant where dogs are welcome.
We had a really great 3 night stay with our 2 mutts (Westie and Jack Russell).
A large, comfortable and well equipped bedroom and bathroom, with a separate sitting area and a small balcony looking over the gardens and countryside.
Belesta is a tiny isolated village in the hills, about 25 kms from Perpignan, in the Langeudoc Roussillon wine region.
Riberach Hotel is an incredibly well converted modernised wine chai with every conceivable comfort.
Staff are friendly and helpful. For Anglophones, won't hurt if you brush up on your school French as only a few speak English.
The restaurant has a great breakfast buffet (particularly for carb and cake freaks) ... there was a choice of 8 different cakes and tarts on our stay.
Dinner showcases local produce in interesting flavours and creative presentations.
A good selection of local wines plus some from more distant parts, and priced for all tastes and budgets.
Nice to dine under the stars on the terrace though gets a bit cool in the evenings, even in August.
Only 2 small issues ... Very limited off street parking by hotel for 4 cars (small), and wifi doesn't reach the rooms, though it is available in the library and surrounds.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Someone has put a lot of money into this renovating an old winery to make this hotel. It is has been beautifully done and is a wonderful place to stay. There is a very nice view from the balconies, a natural water pool and a visually beautiful restaurant (though we found the food a little strange like the chef was trying too hard to be gourmet). The hotel, though off the beaten track, is in an area with several wonderful drives.

The rooms have been outfitted with every modern convenience and have a very modern appearance. The price is quite reasonable for the qualitiy of the accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A really nice hotel with a flawless service in cute village. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms, the bathroom was great, the room really comfortable. Both had amazing natural light both in the evening and in the morning and we received a complimentary bottle of wine. The eco pool was interesting, it's actually more of a pond, including a strong smell and a few frogs...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belesta
12.2 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
21.5 mi away
Host & Vinum
Host & Vinum
#1 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Villa Duflot
La Villa Duflot
#3 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Casa9 Hotel
Casa9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thuir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
23.8 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
23.8 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant

Property: Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
Address: 2 route de Caladroy, 66720 Belesta, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Belesta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belesta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing