We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The epitome of Southern charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beaufort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beaufort Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
1 review
“The epitome of Southern charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Beaufort Inn demonstrates all of the best parts of the South - the friendly smile, the above and beyond gestures, the eccletic food, attention to details that matter, the feeling that you are amongst friends, and the charm you would expect from Southern belles. I can't wait to go back - spring for the garden cottage! So worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdiejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
The Beaufort Inn demonstrates all of the best parts of the South - the friendly smile, the above and beyond gestures, the eccletic food, attention to details that matter, the feeling that you are amongst friends, and the charm you would expect from Southern belles. I can't wait to go back - spring for the garden cottage! So worth it!

Dear Birdiejr,

Thank for such a nice review! I am so pleased that our staff and their service was noticed and had a favorable impact. We strive to deliver to guests The Quintessential Lowcountry Experience - you described so succinctly in your review what this level of service means.

The Garden Cottages are special in so many ways - the private, cozy porches that overlook the Garden Courtyard, the spacious and luxurious bathrooms with claw-foot soaking tubs and rain water shower and the pretty décor that envelope you. I like to think of them as beautiful nests of comfort! They are often booked so be sure to book early for your next visit which I hope will be soon. Beaufort is beautiful in the Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    180
    60
    18
    14
See reviews for
171
663
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

When we arrived they couldn't find us on their system but made us feel confident that they would do while we went for lunch - we checked in early. When we returned they had found our booking (confusion over my middle names!) and took us to our large room with windows on 2 sides, a large bathroom and large shared veranda with rocking chairs. A lovely traditional Deep South room!

Breakfast was very good. Fruit, cooked, omlettes to order etc with friendly staff.

Parking is right behind the Inn and is free unlike many city/town hotels. The courtyard garden is a nice place to sit and nicely lit on a night

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Alex M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for mentioning the many amenities - southern style hot buffet breakfast, parking and also wi-fi and afternoon treats - included in a Beaufort Inn stay. I am glad that we were able to correct our error to your satisfaction and that you were able to partake in The Beaufort Inn experience!

It sounds from your description that you may have stayed in The Scheper House, our newest offering of accommodations. Most of our rooms are located in restored, historic buildings. A unique hallmark of our rooms is the amount of daylight that streams into the rooms. And almost all of them offer guests a private or shared porch with outdoor seating. As you mentioned this is definitely in the Southern tradition! As well, every guest is invited to enjoy any of our five courtyards. These courtyards, as you mentioned, are especially charming when the twinkly lights come on in the evening. In the cooler months, guests really enjoy the fire-pit located in the Spa Garden.

When you make a return trip to Beaufort I hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Grove
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had such a wonderful stay here. The room was clean, comfy bed, wonderful shower. Walking distance to the historic water front. Excellent breakfast. The cheese grits were beyond fantastic. The area offers many awesome places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the little cottage and was perfect for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Dennis B.,
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Beaufort Inn for your special occasion! "Where History is Made" is not only our tagline and a reflection of our property's historical significance, it is something we strive to do everyday for our guests as they create memories from special moments shared in our beautiful setting. I hope you'll come back again to make more memories and to again partake in The Beaufort Inn experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at The Beaufort Inn and was very pleased. The location is great. Just a short walk to the Waterfront Park, many restaurants and shops on Bay Street. The Inn is very near the Beaufort Visitor Center and makes a good starting point for walking around the historic home district. There are many different room types. We stayed in one of the Garden Cottage King rooms that is just behind the main building and faces a lovely courtyard with outdoor tables and chairs. The entire grounds are nicely landscaped and relaxing to walk around or just sit and read or enjoy a glass of wine. The room was very nice. The king bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE with a fabulous walk in rain shower and old fashioned tub. There is a spa adjacent to the Inn that we did not use. The Inn has an ample sized free parking lot behind the complex. The breakfast was another highlight. Southern Graces Bistro is the small and quaint restaurant housed within the first floor of the main building. Our rate included the breakfast buffet. The small buffet consisted of cheese grits, French toast, bacon, mixed fruit, muffins, toast and cereal. The chef/owner of Southern Graces, Knox, is very friendly and will make certain you enjoy the breakfast. He will also make you a great fresh omelette. The French toast is awesome. Knox has many different flavors and variations of French toast so no matter how long you stay you'll probably have different varieties of French toast each morning. All the staff at the Inn were friendly and helpful. Overall, the Beaufort Inn was great and I highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellinDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Travellin Docs,

Thank you for your very thorough description and the review of your experience at The Beaufort Inn. The Beaufort Inn is so special that I always appreciate every effort made to describe its very unique attributes! Including our proximity to the Historic District, Waterfront Park, restaurants and shops.

You described so well every aspect of our amenities, the gardens and courtyards and your Garden Cottage accommodation that distinguish the Inn. The Southern-style hot buffet breakfast is a guest favorite. Knox is also a guest favorite. He always makes sure that guests have an enjoyable experience and delicious breakfast meal. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to him and to Chef Christopher Hewitt.

You must make plans to visit again. You haven't had the full experience until you've visited The Beaufort Day Spa. They do a wonderful couples massage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Beaufort Inn. We are grateful they allowed us to bring our dog. We were across from the public library and wasn't very quiet. The bed was a bad thing! The mattress had sheets that barely covered the mattress and the box spring showed. There are several things they could have done to make that more appealing. There was a place on the old hardwood floors where a board went up and down and it pinched my foot. No injury, but it shouldn't happen. They did put a rug over the spot. There was free Wi-Fi but absolutely nowhere to use your computer, no desk, nothing. We are very disappointed in the room for the cost. But...hats off to the chef in the main building. Breakfast was delicious, and dinner as well. The staff was very nice and helpful. I'm sure some rooms are romantic as asked in this review, but ours wasn't.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms across from the public library on West Street I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Fran B.,

I remember your visit (I laid the area rug over the area) and regret that you did not experience the level of service and comfort that is the hallmark of The Beaufort Inn. Getting feedback from a guest about a less than satisfactory stay is always troubling although I view feedback as a necessary aspect of improvement in our service.

When you made us aware of the situation our first concern was about your safety. As I recall we were not able to make a room change as no other pet-friendly room was available. The temporary remedy to the floor was to put in an additional area rug. The floors in your room are original to the house which is over 200 years old. We act to resolve any challenges within our control as quickly as possible. Repairs to the floor were made by our maintenance staff within days of your departure. Also, your comments about the bed linen have been shared with the Housekeeping Manager and we are in the process of putting box spring covers on all beds as well as ensuring that all sheets have a perfect fit. We are also planning some changes to the room, including provisions for a writing surface and new window treatments, to ensure the room will meet the standards for comfort and value that The Beaufort Inn guests deserve.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again. If so, please reach out to me when you make your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Beaufort Inn consists of a former Southern Victorian home and a series of old and new cottages that make up a city block in Beaufort, SC. We stayed in one of the historic cottages which dated from the mid-19th century and it has some nice touches, was very quiet and comfortable. The grounds are nice and well landscaped and maintained. There is also a spa on the premises which we did not check out. The price of the room includes a buffet breakfast in the Inn itself. We found the food to be limited to mostly high calorie choices (baked strudel, grits, bacon etc) with a nice fruit platter but no eggs, yogurts and only white bread for toast. I asked for yogurt and was told that they did not have any. Possibly the Inn was full the day we had breakfast but they were running out of silverware, plates, glasses and seemed understaffed. We had reservations for two nights and skipped the buffet breakfast the second morning. On the flip side, the location is great and there are some really nice restaurants, shops and bars in the area. And I do understand that taste is in play here. We checked out a boutique hotel also in the historic area (The City Loft) and would choose to stay there on a subsequent visit.

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms in the Inn nor the new cottages. Photos of our cottage are attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear BonChic,

The Beaufort Inn is an Historic Boutique Hotel with 34 rooms, a full service restaurant (Southern Graces Bistro) and The Beaufort Day Spa. As you described so well our five courtyards, eleven renovated historic buildings and guest parking areas occupy a town block - a surprise to most guests - and very centrally located to all that Beaufort has to offer.

A unique aspect of our property is that while no two rooms are alike all are in renovated buildings with restored and preserved original floorings, moldings and other structural characteristics like porches and balconies juxtaposed with modern bathrooms (some have the most amazing soaking tubs!), flat screen TV's and Wi-Fi service. There are no cookie-cutter rooms at The Beaufort Inn! I can confidently say that we have an accommodation that will delight even the most discriminating guest preference.

I will share your comments about your breakfast experience with Chef Hewitt. Like with our accommodations, our breakfast options need to satisfy a variety of interests - from the most health conscious guest to those guests who want to experience the ultimate Southern-style gastronomical breakfast feast!

I hope that before you reserve accommodations for your next visit to Beaufort, you will check out all of our accommodations - especially our Garden Cottage and new Scheper House rooms. A stay at The Beaufort Inn is more than a room, it is an experience made more special by the combination of indoor comfort and our outdoor environment. Think of what you will be missing when you don't stay with us!

Just a note: we will soon be launching a new website that will be full of new photography of all of our rooms and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylacauga, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stay at the Beaufort inn, period. They make you feel so welcome and the house is great. Stay in the main house, top floor, king room. It's private balcony is so nice. The breakfast is great, chef prepared eggs to order are the best. They even see you in town and recognize you like old friends. Stay and enjoy .

Room Tip: King room, top floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C, General Manager at The Beaufort Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Jimmy M!

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of The Beaufort Inn! The room you enjoyed is one of our Historic King accommodations - it has a very lovely Juliet balcony that is a wonderful place to enjoy our Lowcountry sunrises and sunsets. Both are spectacular! I hope you were able to enjoy our garden courtyards, too.

The Southern Graces Bistro staff are always very happy to know that guests appreciate the Southern-style hot buffet breakfast. I will pass along your compliments.

Please come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaufort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaufort Inn

Property: The Beaufort Inn
Address: 809 Port Republic St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beaufort Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fine restaurants, quaint boutiques and galleries, history, fishing, beaches and more from our spacious guest rooms, porches, private gardens, intimate courtyards and delightful fountains that are The Beaufort Inn. Located in the heart of Beaufort's landmark Historic District, The Beaufort Inn's historic architecture, curved balconies, verandas and gardens capture the essence of a gracious southern coastal town. Let our Beaufort hotel exceed your expectations. Guests of The Beaufort Inn are welcomed with classic Southern hospitality, style and comfort. Heart pine floors, fireplaces, cast iron soaking tubs, gardens, courtyards, porches, verandas and balconies are just some of the features that enhance your experience at our enchanting Beaufort hotel. All accommodations are decorated in classic coastal style while offering modern day amenities. Choose a room with large windows, king-size bed, fireplace, wet bar and convertible sofa. We also offer suites, two bedroom lofts and private cottages. No matter your choice of accommodation, you will quickly find The Beaufort Inn is your special place. The Beaufort Inn invites you to experience a classic southern inn in a historic coastal southern town. We invite you to make memories and history by hosting your event at the Beaufort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Beaufort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beaufort Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing