We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Better Than This!”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It Doesn't Get Better Than This!”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

For a 19th Wedding Anniversary getaway, My wife and I decided to go to Beaufort to relax and decompress. We researched the accomodations and found The Cuthbert House Inn. We called the owners, Jeff and Mary Ann, and were invited to stay in their Beautiful, Historical Mansion overlooking the water. The room was Amazing, as was the breakfast and complimentary afternoon wine gatherings. We love to stay at Bed and Breakfast Inns but I have to tell you....This place is UNBEATABLE!!! From the well adorned rooms to the picturesque views, but mostly due of the kindness of the owners towards their guests, there is No Need to look any further...Beaufort's best address is The Cuthbert House Inn!

Room Tip: Call Jeff or Mary Ann Directly to verify what's open...they are Very Helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    49
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
412
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach,NC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and i stayed in july, 2011 after a last minute reservation. Jeff and Mary Anne are truly wonderful hosts who just happen to own a fantastic B&B, and they treat you like family.
Jeff was very accomodating, offering to get me a tee time at one of the local courses and he and Mary Anne gave us a wonderful list of sights to see and things to do. To simply say that Beaufort is nice is totally understating the truth. The truth is the whole area is gorgeous, the people friendly, and the food is awesome.

The Cuthbert House is a beautiful home steeped in history that you must stay at if you travel through the area. Breakfast is delicious, and i promise you will meet really interesting people and guests while at the Cuthbert House, and in the Beaufort area. We cant wait to go back in the fall"...... Oh yeah, the most beautiful live oaks you can imagine are in this area!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawdesley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

After staying with friends in Charleston, we checked in at the Cuthbert House Inn for 3 nights from 17th. May 2011.
Beaufort is small, beautiful and relaxing coastal town and we could not have chosen anywhere better than Cuthbert House to stay.
Our Mariner suite was superb and the hosts, Mary Anne and Jeff, were wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms were well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed in the Victoria Room and enjoyed a view of the bay and sunset. With a great location on the edge of the old town and walking distance to most everything, this B&B run by Jeff is comfortable and convenient. It was great to sit on the porch and sip wine and watch the day end after walking and touring the old town. There are a number of good restaurants and we need to come back and explore some more of them. The recommended horse drawn tour and walking the town and it is hard to beat the public swings on the water after a fine dinner. We think Jeff found a gem of a house and town and hope to meet his partner on the next visit.

Room Tip: The back rooms may be quieter, but the bay is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Planning to visit Savannah and Charleston, my wife and I decided upon Beaufort as a base, and chose the Cuthbert House for our accommodation.
We could not have made a better choice!
The house is truly beautiful and steeped in antebellum history.
Our room ( the Federal Room ) with its enormous four poster bed was on the first floor, affording us a view through Spanish moss draped trees to the bay and we were also able to lounge on our personal porch .
Our hosts, Jeff and Mary Ann couldn't do enough to make us feel at home and gave us plenty of advice and assistance in organising our visit to the area. Southern hospitality at its finest.
The social gathering each evening was one of the highlights of our stay and it was great to meet the other guests and exchange experiences while enjoying a glass (or two!) of wine.
We enjoyed a delightfully varied breakfast each morning served in the elegant dining room. The pancakes with orange and Grand Marnier sauce were particularly delicious.
During our four night stay we were able to visit Savannah and Charleston as planned and we also took the horse drawn buggy ride around historic Beaufort. Such a beautiful and peaceful town with such friendly people.
We loved the Cuthbert House and intend to come back soon.
Thanks again Jeff and Mary Ann.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Our trip consisted of stays in Beaufort, Savannah and Charleston, which were all spectacular towns in different ways. However, the size, beauty, charm, cleanliness and friendliness of Beaufort won the top spot of our anniversary getaway. Jeff and Mary Ann were a big reason why we fell in love with this waterfront community. The Cuthbert House is grand and furnished nicely. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The yummy breakfast was served in a lovely room with fresh flowers and a beautiful view of the water, magnolia trees and huge moss-covered oak trees. The front porch delivers the most beautiful view any B&B could offer and the back garden is truly lovely!
We especially enjoyed the social hour, getting to know other guests and gathering advice from our hospitable innkeepers. They urged us to take "John Sharp's Walking Tour" which should not be missed....by far the best tour we have ever taken!
Thanks for a wonderful time...we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillandVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stay in many B&Bs and this is at the TOP of our experiences. The host and hostess personify the word "gracious". The home is large, filled with truly beautiful furniture. Our bathroom was large and conveniently furnished. The breakfasts are delicious and varied. The cocktail hour is truly a "gathering" with delicious hors d'oevres, choices of wine, and the company of host, hostess and charming fellow guests.

I chose the inn from others in Beaufort because of its water view. This is lovely, but the atmosphere is the reason I would return!

Room Tip: We chose a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistopholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Property: Cuthbert House Inn
Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing