We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cuthbert House Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Beaufort(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Beaufort(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
US$154
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beaufort Inn(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beaufort(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Inn(Beaufort)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
573
54
5
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
573
54
5
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssocial hourcoastal suiteother guestseastlake suiteb bfront porchhideaway roomvictoria roomcocktail hourgreat hostsowners and staffoverlooking the waterold mansionfrench press coffeebreakfast was deliciousoverlooking the bayshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2007

When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly welcome. The location was the best. Breakfast each morning was fabulous. I have plans to return and bring my husband. I could not have asked for more. Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tennisatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

My husband and I flew into Charleston and drove straight to Beaufort, we were very pleased to find the Cuthbert House Inn right on the bay with beautiful views and walking distance to restaurants as well as little swings overlooking the Bay. We stayed in the Federal Suite as it had a canopy bed on the top floor. The owners were very gracious, we had wine and appetizers when we arrived that evening, had a very delicious dinner at the Panini, a bank that had been converted into a restaurant (however I wish we would have asked to be seated outside as it was a nice night), but the view was great of the bay upstairs. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous at the Inn. Our room, the common areas and bathroom were ideally suited if you are looking for a true victorian era feel. We loved it. The owners suggested a drive to Hunting Island which is a state beach not far south of Beaufort and offered the use of their beach chairs and beach towels which was extremely thoughtful. Hunting Island was absolutely beautiful and our favorite part of our trip. White sandy beaches, with these amazing trees as a backdrop to the beach. Also be sure to stop at the little beach shop just before you get their as they have a nice selection of merchandise that we did not find at Folly Beach.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank ocean101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here in 2001 and again in Dec. of 2006. He proposed to me here in December, it's a wonderful place for a proposal! This place is beautiful and the breakfast was outstanding. We stayed in the ballroom both times and loved the room!

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank myhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Recently stayed at the Cuthbert House for three nights. First the positives:

1. Must compliment Jeff on his efforts to ensure a quality stay.
2. Location, location, location.
3. House is an antebellum mansion and you can't help but feel the history.
4. View off the front porch across the bay is wonderful.

Now the issues:

1. Yes, the house is historical; however, it is beginning to show some signs of disrepair. Could use some touch ups.
2. Housekeeping wasn't as thorough on restocking bathrooms, etc, as it should be.
3. Breakfasts were fine but seemed a bit ordinary-scrambled eggs, waffle-nothing special (there was fresh fruit every morning).

Overall, nothing really wrong with the stay. However, at prices I consider to be primo, I did not feel the overall experience matched. I would not not recommend the Cuthbert, but I will likely try elsewhere on our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank deepfreud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Cuthbert House Inn and it was absolutely perfect! Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and promptly by Jeff. He then showed us around the home and up to our room. Social hour from 5-6 pm in the parlor offered lively conversation from both Jeff & Mary Ann along with wine and delicious treats. They made great suggestions on restaurants making sure we knew if it was only open for dinner. Mary Ann was extremely helpful with real estate information.
I truly felt as if we were visiting long lost friends.

One of the MANY great advantages of the Cuthbert House is the location. It is within a short walking distance to the best restaurants in town and the beautiful new riverfront park.

We stayed in the Federal Room with gorgeous views of the waterfront. It was on the upper floor and those rooms had access to a porch overlooking the water. In fact, it seemed that every room had an outdoor porch or couryard area in addition to the main veranda and beautifully landscaped main courtyard.
While we knew the inn was completely full, we did not hear one sound from any other rooms or the hallway.

In the morning coffee was delicious and ready for us to take up to the room, porch or library. I really appreciated the staggered seatings for breakfast. There were plenty of other guests to chat with but the dining area wasn't completly full. While we're on breakfast.... We had Pecan waffles the first morning, frittata (with buscuits and grits) the second and french toast the third. Each was accompanied by beautiful fresh fruit, sausage, coffee and a wide assortment of juices.

We were so thrilled with the Cuthbert House we are planning to visit again in October. Everything was far better than we ever imagined.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabinqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews