We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have liked to stay”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Would have liked to stay at this beautiful home but with the lack of pictures online I left message. An hour later I got a call back from a pushy, frantic woman (Mary Ann, I assume) that was offended or rude after any question I had about her expensive rooms. I would never think about taking my wife on her birthday to such a place where etiquette is completely missing.

Room Tip: Don't ask how many square feet are the suites or she will lose her marbles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank foodsnobguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baywatcher, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

We do not remember this conversation or this gentleman. if in fact it was me, then I sincerely apologize.It's interesting that he does not remember who he talked with and assumes it was me. I am surprised that Trip Adviser would post this. This person has never stayed with us to our knowledge..
One might only look at the other comments to know that we go out of our way to be cordial and accommodating.
Many times things like this are posted from competitors.
Mary Ann Thomas
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

One complaint - we wish that we had booked to stay for more nights than the single overnight stop on our way to Charleston. The Cuthbert Hose has everything to commend it - charming and helpful hosts, wonderful bedrooms, superb breakfast and an enchanting setting. I can recommend this this B& B to anyone seeking somewhere comfortable and relaxing when in the Beaufort area. Plus do not miss the social hour with your hosts and fellow guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a delightful surprise...!!! We stayed three nights at the Cuthbert House Inn for Labor day, and the experience was incredible. The Inn accommodations were very elegant and close to shopping, The suite we stayed in was big enough for a small family reunion! Breakfast was different and very tasty each morning with snacks, wine or other beverages during the afternoon social. The owners had a vast knowledge of the best places to eat and with one phone call from them... you had priority seating! The homes in Beaufort are absolutely beautiful with great historic significance. I would suggest the boat tour on "Th Prince of Tides". Tons of restaurants, art galleries and varied gift shops with reasonably priced items. This town is a well kept secret!

Room Tip: Visit hte website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scbuilder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here on the final night of our honeymoon.

A gorgeous house, and Jeff and Mary Ann were terrific hosts. Loved the social hour and the breakfast. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukasH913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I never choose to stay at a bed and breakfast because I find them a bit too intrusive; I like to be anonymous when I am on vacation. But when I decided to stop over in Beaufort for a couple of days before heading off to Georgia, I took a chance on the Cuthbert House Inn. I chose the Mariner Suite because I liked the way it looked on the inn's web page. The pictures did not do the room justice. The room was spacious (the bathroom was bigger than any I had seen in a bed and breakfast or hotel) and I felt like I was in a studio apartment. The room is on the ground floor so when you enter, you think you might be entering into a basement but don't be fooled. The room has plenty of big windows with nice white wooden blinds and lots of natural light. The bed is huge and comfortable. The room has its own private entrance and there is a private patio that has a water view but you have to look through the shrubs because the patio feels a bit underground. The internet did not work in our room but we could access it on the main floor of the inn. Breakfast was great and the owner of the inn was very friendly. The inn is within walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Beaufort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sevenstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This was our 1st B&B experience. It went so far beyond what we had imagined that we'll definately go back. It was much more personal than a hotel stay. Jeff and Mary Ann did everything possible to accomodate our needs. The food was excellent, the room was awesome and the history was overwhelming. The historic district and all the sites were within walkin distance. I would without a doubt recommend a stay here for the ultimate satisfaction.

Room Tip: I nosed around some and every room i saw was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jporter704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

For a 19th Wedding Anniversary getaway, My wife and I decided to go to Beaufort to relax and decompress. We researched the accomodations and found The Cuthbert House Inn. We called the owners, Jeff and Mary Ann, and were invited to stay in their Beautiful, Historical Mansion overlooking the water. The room was Amazing, as was the breakfast and complimentary afternoon wine gatherings. We love to stay at Bed and Breakfast Inns but I have to tell you....This place is UNBEATABLE!!! From the well adorned rooms to the picturesque views, but mostly due of the kindness of the owners towards their guests, there is No Need to look any further...Beaufort's best address is The Cuthbert House Inn!

Room Tip: Call Jeff or Mary Ann Directly to verify what's open...they are Very Helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 16 in Beaufort
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 16 in Beaufort
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 16 in Beaufort
775 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#9 of 16 in Beaufort
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £147 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing