We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the Cuthbert House. Wow, I wish we could have stayed longer! What a great time! Jeff and Mary Anne were perfect hosts. Our very spacious room was on the main floor across from the parlor, and it was beautifully decorated and spotless. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom included all kinds of amenities. We signed up for the 8:00 breakfast, and it was delicious both mornings. Both Jeff and Mary Anne were full of information on where and what to do during the day. We, too, love the nightly social hour. We will definitely return to this jewel!

The Davies - Alpharetta

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    43
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
373
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Cuthbert House for two nights. We were surprised how elegant and
comfortable it was. Our room was clean and spacious. Jeff and MaryAnn the owners went out
of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The staff was very friendly. Beaufort is a beautiful
Southern city, but I could have spent my entire time on the porch of Cuthbert House just
enjoying the view.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirleylenoircity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I can't say enough about the Cuthbert House. My wife and I made the drive over from Atlanta and from welcome to goodbye the Cuthbert House and its staff were wonderful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with classic southern charm. The staff was very inviting and pleasant to converse with. We enjoyed the nightly social hours, hearing stories from the owners about the house and enjoying the company of others from all over the US. The breakfast was delisious every morning and always served with a smile. I would absolutely reccomend the Cuthbert House to anyone.

Room Tip: The Coastal Suite was fantastic with a private outside entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in the Coastal suite. It was huge, well-done, gorgeous and comfortable. Eggs Benedict for breakfast. Visit was flawless. Beaufort is a jewel. This B&B is perfectly located with a great veranda and on the water and within easy walking distance of downtown and some great restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed st Cuthbert House Inn for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time there. Our room-suite was extremely comfortable and well furnished in keeping with the house. Breakfast was adequate and varied from day to day. We enjoyed the evening hosts-and-guests get together and complementary wine, beer and snacks were served in an engaging environment. There was plenty of secure parking and the Inn was a few minutes walk from the down town waterfront and shops/restaurants area. We enjoyed our all too brief stay and would recommend the Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mariner Suite and would do so again. Enough said!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, SC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

stayed one night on the way to a cruise. great old southern charm. wonderful breakfast. beds very comfortable and the setting is serene.

Room Tip: we choose a room with more than one bed in case one of us was restless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoSCdrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Our vacation consisted in visiting numerous inns for the purposes of learning about their history and enjoying the antique decor of each. We were no disappointed at Cuthbert. The inn is situated on a beautiful lot in easy walking distance of downtown Beaufort. Although we were there for only one night, the inn certainly met our expectations. The inn history itself dates back to the Civil War period and is tastefully decorated with extensive wall art concentrating on aviary and flowers. Parking is spacious and a small outdoor courtyard is situated under a magnificant tree overflowing with spansh moss. We would definitely recommend this historic inn to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuthbert House Inn

Property: The Cuthbert House Inn
Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing