We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old house and ambience”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This stately old house, despite some obvious modernization efforts, has maintained a lot of its antebellum atmosphere, from its grand facade and the pillars, the heart pine floors, to the multiple verandahs, this home really gave me the feeling of staying at a home rather than a commercial run establishment. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros
1. great antebellum ambience, from what can be seen the floor is still the original heart pine floor (some boards uneven due to house settling), high ceilings (not good with measurements but seems like they're at least 14 feet high)
2. very clean room and comfortable bed (we stayed in the Ballroom)
3. keurig coffee maker available 24/7
4. common areas tastefully and homely decorated.
5. about 1.5 hour to Charleston or Savannah, a good in between place if you want to go to both cities and the best thing about its location is that it's about 50 minutes to Rose Hill Plantation in Bluffington.

Cons
1. peeling paint and plaster by stairway
2. rain shower head making for very low water pressure flow and I ended up taking a longer shower
3. modern bathroom decor that aesthetically did not go well with the room or rest of house

Clarification on the 3 star rating for service and that's due to our limited interaction with staff and innkeepers

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelblossom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

My sister and I were on our first ever sister trip last year when our brother was killed in an accident and we had to return home on day 2 of our trip. We had reservations at The Cuthbert House and they were graciously and sympathetically cancelled. We decided on a sister-sister trip this year with my best friend and her sister and we were delighted with our stay. Beaufort is a beautiful, charming, historic town. The Cuthbert House was beautiful and welcoming - we felt like we were visiting with family. Jeff and Mary Ann were friendly and most accommodating and helpful. They were wonderful hosts at the evening reception and we sat in the front parlor with them for at least an hour and a half' visiting with them like old friends. Breakfast was eggs Benedict and fresh fruit, my personal favorite guilty pleasure! Our rooms were beautiful, the amenities were fantastic and our stay was fabulous. Thank-you Jeff and Mary Ann!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldmurrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baywatcher, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

So sorry for your loss and thanks for remembering and returning us. We love social hour as much as anyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Cuthbert House (without our kids!). It was our first trip to Beaufort, and a great surprise! Such a lovely little town, full of beautiful homes and history. And the friendliest people.... We have only stayed at a couple of B & B's, but this trip made us want to stay at more. The house was beautiful; the people were so friendly and helpful; the room was fantastic. Only southern city we've been to (Savannah, Charleston, St. Simon's, St. Augustine) with the most delightful breeze off the river all day, every day. We did lots of stuff (kayaking, ghost tour, biking through town, visited the National cemetery, and St. Helena church), ate lots of great food at the downtown restaurants (Old Bull Tavern was the best), and had a terrific time. We were careful to not do too much so we would have a reason to return. Would definitely return to Cuthbert house thanks to the caring staff, great breakfast, and fun social hour.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, and the house was nice and cool, even in late June
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frausch1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Garden Room which was spacious, well appointed, clean and with comfortable beds. Our first impressions of the stunning house and its setting were exactly as we expected from the owners' website. It would be difficult to find a better location just a few minutes walk from the charming small town with its shops and restaurants, surrounded by dozens of historic homes. The view from the front steps across the reed beds and waterway is amazing. The car park is discrete with easy access obtained by punching a 4 digit code into a secure lock. There are a couple of sitting areas in the house with books, information about the area and a collection of DVDs for use by guests..

Unfortunately, we found that the service did not quite live up to good impressions of the house itself. On arrival, before even seeing the room, we were pressed for payment of the balance of our account. Nothing wrong with this you might say, but that was the last we saw of anyone in reception for the remainder of our visit. It was the same with the owners. They appeared for the social hour mentioned by other reviewers but could not be found if you needed something at other times. In fairness, there was a phone number in the room to contact them in the event of an emergency, but somehow you felt that a casual dinner inquiry would not have been welcomed. I contacted the Inn before our visit to check on breakfast times, as I had to choose between two kayaking tours we wanted to do, with different starting times. Breakfast starts at 8.30am which ruled out our preferred early tour. Guests are asked to pick a time for different breakfast sittings on arrival. We picked the first sitting as we had an early start, However, as we returned from our kayaking experience after the social hour, there was no one to recommend a restaurant for dinner nor to ask for a later breakfast sitting for the following morning. Consequently, my wife chose to lie in and I breakfasted alone, which was a pity. As for the breakfast itself, I have to support the comments made by others. It was acceptable but nothing like the meals provided at other B&Bs on our trip. Am I being picky? Contrast this with a similar problem at another B&B where we were offered what proved to be a delicious "packed breakfast" to accommodate an early start. Somehow, the owners at The Cuthbert House didn't seem prepared to put themselves out and make ones stay as memorable as their house. Sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baywatcher, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Sorry you were somewhat disappointed. This represents the most difficult issue with being a small business with limited time and staff. How to be available 24/7. It appears you happen to have wanted our attention during the times we carve out for food shopping, meals or other requirements in our full day. As you mentioned, it only required a phone call or a written note to satisfy you breakfast desires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Beaufort, SC was a lovely surprise. The town was absolutely charming and filled with historic homes and trees dripping with moss. We stayed at the Cuthbert B & B, and were happy we did. It is a lovely, old summer home originally owned by southern plantation owners. It was extremely clean and well kept. We loved the gardens, linens, comfortable bed, decor, porch access, bikes, breakfasts, lovely china, warm and cheerful breakfast room, wine and cheese social hour with other guests, and assistance with arranging tours or restaurant reservations. The employees were very polite. We hope to return someday and will definitely recommend the Cuthbert House to others traveling to Beaufort!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ballroom. There was a little street noise, but it was so gorgeous it didnt matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie50May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I just wanted to thank Jeff and Maryann for the most wonderful stay at the Cuthbert House Inn. My sister and I took our first ever sister trip with another set of sister, who are very close friends. We tried our vacation last year and due to the death of a brother, had to cancel last minute. Our hosts were so wonderful and respectful that we just had to give it another try this year and were so thrilled that we did. Our experience couldn't have been better. The home is beautiful, the accommodations superb and the hospitality amazing. We really enjoyed the cocktail hour we spent with our hosts. They were warm, welcoming and we had such a fun time talking about our lives and travels. A special shoutout to Beauregard, for being such a wonderful and welcoming doggie host. We truly enjoyed the feeling of being home with family. Thanks so much. I promise to bring my husband soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Oh the gorgeous Cuthbert House. When my friend heard we were going to Beaufort, she said we had to stay at the Cuthbert House. My friend has always given me great recommendations, so we were happy to secure a reservation. We were more than pleased with our beautifully appointed room and the rest of the public areas are exquisite. We felt like General Sherman would arrive at any moment. We loved the history of the house and the breakfast room was sunny and beautiful. The food was yummy and presented on lovely china and cut glass.

The best part of our stay was getting to know the host and hostess and the other guests at the evening social hour. So much fun. They were very liberal with there wine pours and yummy munchies.

Thank you Jeff and Marianne for providing great hospitality and such comfy and tastefully appointed rooms. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazy4Hapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baywatcher, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thanks you for your wonderful review, but we have to be careful about inviting Sherman back anytime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £158 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing