We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent inn - delightful innkeepers”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 day stay at the Cuthbert House Inn in Beaufort, SC. My son was married on Hunting Island beach and we rented the entire inn for family and friends coming down for the wedding. The inn is a gorgeous 200 year old antebellum mansion that has been restored to it's original splendor. It has eight rooms, a wrap around front porch veranda that looks out over the bay, and a delightful garden courtyard. Mary Ann and Jeff Thomas are the innkeepers and were wonderful to our entire group. They were so welcoming and flexible with all of our needs and wants concerning the wedding activities. Mary Ann and I worked on coordinating a "wedding supper" that we held at the Cuthbert House following the wedding with local caterer, Debbie Covington. These two have worked together numerous times on events such as receptions, cocktail parties, and weddings. They work well together and the result for our event was fabulous! The food was delicious, the presentation gorgeous, and the service impecible. I got nothing but compliments from all our friends and family about the outstanding accommodations, the wonderful food, and the graciousness of our hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and the afternoon cocktail hour where Mary Ann and Jeff serve wine and hors'deouvres in the parlor were so fun and relaxed. We will definitely be back for a visit again. I would recommend this inn to anyone for a quiet weekend getaway as well as a picturesque venue for any event. Beaufort is a quaint little town with neat shops and restaurants. Mary Ann and Jeff Thomas are lovely people and we enjoyed getting to know them. After three days with them, we felt like we were saying goodbye to old friends. Laura Echols, Brentwood, TN

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LauraBrentwood_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2008

Arrived on a hot day, they turned the wall unit A/C right when we got there! So the room didn't cool. After we asked, they gave us another room "The Ballroom", much nicer but has only 1 bed and we were 3 people! It has no view, only of large old beautiful trees! Although the bay is right across the street from the house.

-While taking a shower the water ran out! no joke! And I was the only one who took a shower that morning.
-Found a nail on the rug. Really the whole house is not that clean.
-They have a no refund policy, but they let us go for the second night, and then they were nice enough to refund our money.
-The house smells and is very very OLD. Yes it is beautiful to look at but not to stay in as a B&B.

The breakfast is nothing special for the price ($256 a night for the Garden Room) 2 pancakes, 2 sausage links, small tiny fruit bowl (2 chunks orange, 2 chunks grapefruit, 5 grapes,1 cherry)

At night no one at this hotel will answer the phone! Say you are stuck without keys! Your problem!!! That is what happened to us, and knocking on the door didn't work either! It was a little before 11 PM.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnatela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baywatcher, owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2008

Jeff and Mary Ann apologize to these folks for what they considered to be a poor experience while staying with us at The Cuthbert House Inn. We however have a different version of this story.
Yes it was a hot day and yes we turned their AC on when they got there. Normally we would have turned it on earlier but just forgot. The room they were in cools off in a matter of minutes though. We invited them down to have a cool ice tea, which they did. but then they started to complain. The parents barely spoke English .
We moved them right away to another room(upgrade) that they seemed to like. We told the daughter the daughter that she was welcome to stay in the first room when it was cool enough for her and we would keep the parents in the upgraded room. She told us no because they all had to stay in the same room! That was their decision.
As far as our house being dirty , one need only look at our other reviews. We pride our selves on the cleanliness of our home. This young lady also contradicts herself in saying that what she liked best is thta the sheets and towels smelled so clean! This young lady also apolgized to us for their parents behavior.
Of course they ate the breakfast after we had refunded their money! Again, please read other reviews of our breakfasts.
I think cultural differences play a part here as well as this family not communicating well..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Cuthbert House Inn for three nights and enjoyed everything about it. Our room was clean, bright, and tastefully decorated. The inn is simply beautiful.....an antebellum mansion framed by live oaks draped with Spanish Moss. A classic taste of the old south perfectly located with gorgeous views across the bay / marsh. Very quiet, peaceful setting yet only three short blocks to downtown Beaufort. The innkeepers were friendly and gracious hosts and she was an Ohio State Buckeye. Go Bucks! Breakfasts were excellent, served in a gorgeous room with a bay window overlooking the water. The innkeepers had bikes (that were in good condition, btw) to loan us for a morning ride through historic Beaufort. As if that wasn't enough, they supplied us with beach towels and chairs when we said we were going to Hunting Island for the day. We highly recommend the Cuthbert House to anyone looking for a quiet, classy, friendly place to experience the old south. One of the best inns / B&Bs we've ever stayed at, and that includes many inns throughout New England and the Canadian Maritimes.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CincinnatiCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Wonderful! We stayed at the Cuthbert House in March and have to say that it is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. The house is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are huge and immaculate, the location is idyllic, the breakfasts delicious. But it is the generous and warm hospitality of the hosts that sets the Cuthbert House apart. Jeff and Mary Ann create the perfect balance of formality and informality for their guests, and it's apparent that as hosts they sincerely care that everyone enjoys their stay. The evening drinks are a great chance to chat with the hosts and other guests who were clearly enjoying themselves as much as we were! Kenny and I stayed one night and loved it so much we returned a day later with our friends from Dublin.
Beaufort is great, a slice of life as it should be, borrow the bikes to explore...
We will be back!
S & K London UK
ps. I am an avid trip advisor user and scour the reviews before deciding where to stay, this place deserves to be no. 1 (we have stayed at other B&B's in Beaufort)

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Selinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

My mother, sister and I travelled to Beaufort from Canada for a spring getaway. We stayed at the Cuthbert House for 2 nights and
were very impressed with the location, ambience, amenities and our wonderful hosts Mary Anne and Jeff. The house was lovingly
maintained, the rooms very comfortable and the surroundings were
blissfully quiet. Mary Anne and Jeff had a welcoming nature and were extremely helpful in providing us with directions and suggestions for dinners out. We enjoyed the scrumptous breakfasts and the wine and cheese on the verandah each evening watching the sunset over the water.
We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank familytravelOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

My wife and I recently stayed for 2 nights in the Courtyard Room - and all I could say when we checked out was "I DON'T WANT TO LEAVE!"

Jeff and Mary Ann have redefined hospitality - attending to your every need but in a relaxed and friendly manner. From delicious breakfasts to party-like cocktail hours, everything was near perfect. And the Courtyard Room exceeded all our expectations. The garden view from the windows was breathtaking.

We will definitely be back - but for a longer stay next time.

Willy & Rebecca

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AYRONCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We rarely have a chance to travel, so the details of the trips we take are critical. The Cuthbert House exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Eastlake Room- much more spacious and comfortable that most B&Bs of this vintage. Huge rooms, king sized bed, all the amenities of a modern room with the charm of antique furnishings and personal service. Our hosts were most accommodating-- they were able to recommend and get us into restaurants where we had not booked a reservation already. The view was very nice, and the proximity to the small downtown area of Beaufort was an added plus. We fight traffic daily in our home town, and I don't think we got in the car but once or twice during the whole stay. We heartily recommend this charming place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £156 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing