We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B Experience!”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B Experience!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

In shopping around for Bed & Breakfast locations to stay while vacationing in Beaufort, South Carolina, we are very glad we chose the Cuthbert House Inn. The history of the home is fantastic. The current owners (Jeff and Mary Ann) have done an excellent job in restoring it with current-day amenities. We stayed in the Eastlake Suite, which has a large sitting room besides a bedroom and bathroom. It was a wonderful experience. Brandon and Yvonne took turns attending to our needs over our 4 night stay. The service they provided was excellent. The only downside we experienced was the breakfast food. We have stayed at a lot of B & B's, and enjoy it when you are served 'large' breakfasts. To us, this is part of the enjoyment of staying at a Bed and Breakfast. In summary, we would give a "5" to the our room experience, a "5" to the quality of service provide, and a "4" to the quality of breakfast provided.

Room Tip: The Eastlake Suite is on the main floor. The only steps are when you enter/leave the building, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    49
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
70
401
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Cuthbert House Inn was a wonderful place to spend a weekend in Beaufort. It's within easy walking distance of downtown Beaufort with it's shops, restaurants and tours. The house is beautiful and has a great view of the waterfront. Our room was tastefully decorated, comfortable and immaculate. As good as all these things were about the Cuthbert House, we felt that the interaction we had with the owners, Mary Ann and Jeff, was the best part of our stay. They have created a lovely place with a very gracious and welcoming atmosphere. Social hour with them in the afternoon was a high point, and Jeff was there to greet us and pour coffee at the delicious breakfast in the morning. The supporting staff was also very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oaks room which I understand is the room most recently renovated. It was not as la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
520 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We were initially welcomed by a very nice young man, Brandon, who explained all that we needed to know about this charming B&B. He gave us a tour and guided us to our gorgeous suite. We stayed overnight
In the Coastal Suite. We had so much room! We could have stayed comfortably for several days. We had a lovely private porch that had a wonderful view of the water. Every feature of this place, was perfect. And the mansion has a very interesting history. In the morning, we had a delicious breakfast. We also enjoyed the company of the owners who provided more information in regards to the town and what happened around the time of the Civil War. The B&B is conveniently located close to the downtown shops and restaurants.
If we ever have an opportunity to visit Beaufort again, we will definitely return to the Cuthbert House Inn.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had one night at Cuthbert House in the Eastlake Suite, as part of a tour of the Charleston/Savannah area. It was lovely and nicer than expected. We've visited a few southern B&Bs and the hospitality was a delight. We were greeted by Nancy, standing in for the owners. She was very charming and great fun. We were lucky enough to meet Beau, the owner's dog too!

We love these historic B&Bs and Cuthbert House didn't let us down. There weren't even too many concessions to history like some we've visited! The location is lovely, even allowing for a bit of passing traffic and we had a great time watching the sun go down over the bay on the porch. Easy to walk into the historic waterfront at Beaufort too, so the perfect location and very relaxing.

We were even there when the bed "collapsed" in the room above. That made for fun at breakfast…and I hope the 2 star review the other guest gave was only because they had the one issue (OK, a big one).

I hope we can go back some day soon. We'll stay for longer next time, too!

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank precky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed at this charming b&b for one night while exploring the region. We stayed in the coastal suite which was recently renovated. It's on the lower level and has it's own private porch. My husband who was leary about staying in a b&b was pleasantly surprised to find it so clean, large, private and modern. If you are looking for antiques and a claw foot tub I recommend a different room in the house as this one was quite modern. We really appreciated the modern touches though especially the shower with FIVE shower heads, the super comfy bed and the flat screen tv. The house is walking distance to cute restaurants and shops (although the shops close really early) and set amongst other gorgeous houses. The breakfast was delicious and the guest innkeepers very nice and knowledgeable about the area (the owners were out of town during our visit). Their adorable dog, Beauregard, did a great job though helping "hold down the fort." Would absolutely stay again if we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wormcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the inn. The breakfast was fine and the receptions, which were a nice meet and greet with everyone, turned out to be a very pleasant "happening."

However, at about four AM on the second morning one side of our bed fell in, creating a loud crash that was heard in several of the other rooms. Fearing that we would wake some of the other guests, or that the rest of the bed would collapse and not sure what to do, we stayed in the bed holding on until we finally figured we were not going to get any more sleep, we just got up and dressed and packed. By now it was 5: AM.

The inn manager did say she was sorry it had happened.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridandOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baywatcher, Owner at Cuthbert House Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are so sorry for your inconvenience. I only wish that you would have called the emergency number, and the problem could have fixed the bed in less than ten minutes.
The bed was not broken, the slats had shifted off the bed. We have fixed the bed so that it will hopefully not happen again.
Again our apologies.
Sincerely,
Mary Ann and Jeff Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, NY
Level Contributor
243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Flawlessly clean, feast for the eyes.

Quiet though fully occupied.

In Ballroom Suite a sitting area, claw foot tub bath And a shower. Plenty of soft plush towels.

Huge bed - plush beddings with great hand feel.

Hosts made everything so easy: loaned equipped bikes for scoot around town, beach chairs and towels for trip to Hunting Island. So smooth and easy. Great relaxing time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
696 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Property: Cuthbert House Inn
Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing