We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, SC USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

After staying at over 30 B & B's, I know what I like and don't in an Inn. The Cuthbert Inn is great and meets most of my expectations. The breakfasts were delightful, different every day, and tasty. Had orange pancakes with a great syrup and a frittata another day. Enjoyed the gorgeous view of the water from the veranda and had a group level room off the courtyard which was comfortable, clean and attractive. Good to have the daily ice delivered, microwave and frig in room. The young man there who welcomed me was so helpful and a delight! Enjoyed my stay very much!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the courtyard room at the ground level. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    43
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
374
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We recently had the pleasure of a 2 day stay at Cuthbert House. Every detail of our experience exceeded our expectations and the owners and staff were very helpful and delightful! We truly enjoyed the social hour with Jeff and Mary Ann, as well as Yvonne and the other guests. The breakfasts were wonderful as was our room and we thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance of the entire Inn and it's location. This was our first experience traveling in South Carolina and our stay at the Cuthbert helped to make our trip a very pleasant and memorable experience.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in the Victorian suite. It's a lovely room, quiet and very nicely furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barblinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a girls weekend in Beaufort and this inn and the hosts made our time very special. We will return again! The rooms are spacious and the food wonderful. We were comfortable and relaxed from the very start. Great location and incredible sunsets can be enjoyed from the property.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bmstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have stayed at Cuthbert House before but this year we stayed in the Victoria Suite which was charming with beautiful antiques and a really pretty, sunny bath. The bed was very comfortable, the chairs were covered in fabrics which suited the room perfectly. The space was large enough to relax and not feel cramped. The breakfasts were spectacular and the owners very accommodating. Between 5-6 there is a social hour in the living room where we could (if we chose) come and enjoy an appetizer and beverage and meet the others staying at the B&B. That's a very nice touch and most of us took advantage of it. We learned a lot about the area and also where the other guests came from. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forward to coming back and staying here. The location is so convenient to town and restaurants and shops and we walked everywhere. For a special occasion or a place to relax, we recommend Cuthbert House Inn.

Room Tip: The Victoria has a view of the water and some beautiful trees and the bath is probably the sunniest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here as the guest of the Beaufort International Film Festival, so I'm not sure of the rates, but it really was the best B&B I've ever stayed at. Everything was first-class! The location is spectacular for beauty, convenient for shopping, restaurants and the films. You can walk to everything!

The owners, Mary Anne and Jeff, have a social from 5-6 and all of the guests have the opportunity to kick back with a glass of wine and snacks, share details about their trips and get to know one another. Breakfast is equally social, and delicious.

I was very pleased with my large room, which was wheelchair accessible (not that I needed it but I bet lots of B&Bs aren't) and when I remarked at how big it was, the told me it was one of the smallest rooms! The room had a small fridge, coffee pot, lots of nice extras and the bed was super comfy. The location was very quiet!

I would recommend this place to anyone, especially history lovers, as the house itself has a rich history which the owners have carefully preserved. A+

Room Tip: The Courtyard Room is wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginsugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at the Cuthbert Inn for my son's graduation from boot camp. We left the Inn quite early in the morning, two of the three morning of our stay. The staff of the Inn left us a wonderful basket of breakfast goodies that we were able to take to Family Day and share with our son after his motivational run. The 2nd morning they provided sausage biscuits, mini quiches and fruit for us to eat before we left for the graduation and a goodies for our son. The social hour every evening was perfect time to reconnect with family that came for the graduation. Jeff, Mary Ann, Brandon and Yvonne are all gracious, fun and entertaining. Every one went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The Inn is beautiful, the staff goes above and beyond to provided excellent service and the food is delicious. I would highly recommend a stay here and have already planned my next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, some have fire places and claw foot tubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARINEFAMILY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Earthlingdotcom MUST be from another planet. Coincidentally, we stayed at the Cuthbert House that very same weekend, Our experience was TOTALLY different. We found the accommodations to be fantastic. Jeff was one of the most gracious and sincere people we have ever met. His desire to accommodate was genuine and appreciated, as my wife was on a bland diet. For the record, we did not call in advance and request any special foods, nor did we think it appropriate to do so.

If a host is offering wine and cheese, should a guest complain because the wine or cheese served isn't to his or her liking? The Cuthbert House is a beautiful Bed AND Breakfast. It is not like those Ford commercials, which would speculate about what it would be like to go to a Bed OR Breakfast. If Earthlingdotcom wanted to leave early, before the scheduled breakfast times, that was their prerogative. To even ask for a refund because they planned to leave before the breakfast was to be served is ridiculous. It's a Bed and Breakfast, not a 24 hour Diner. Even the hotel chains that offer breakfasts offer them between certain hours. Would Earthlingdotcom ask for a discount from the Holiday Inn Express because they were leaving before breakfast? ABSURD

It just goes to show that you just can't please everybody. It is sad when someone disparages the hard work of someone else and Jeff and Mary Anne, the Innkeepers, don't deserve the criticism and the review of Easthlingdotcom.

We not only thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cuthbert House Inn, we are actually looking forward to going there again. Truth be told, at the evening wine and cheese gathering, Jeff told the story of his dealing with Earthlingdoncom and the guests in the parlor laughed at their foolishness. Not one person in the room thought it would be appropriate to request a refund for leaving before breakfast was to be served, and non of the comments was elicited by Jeff.

The Cuthbert House runs like a finely tuned Swiss watch. All of its employees are courteous, polite, and knowledgeable. Compliments to Jeff and Mary Ann. You've obviously worked very hard to achieve a perfectly run Bed and Breakfast. However, sometimes, even excellence isn't enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpm132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuthbert House Inn

Property: The Cuthbert House Inn
Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing