We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, relaxing time, wonderful hospitality, lovely views!”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2009

My friend and I just spent two nights in the Garden Room at the Cuthbert House Inn.
The hospitality was wonderful - the owners Jeff and Mary Ann were so helpful to those of us who were new to Beaufort. During the 5 pm wine break, we sat on the lovely porch overlooking the water and we learned about the great restaurants in the areas as well as the history of the Inn.

Our room was beautiful, spotless and spacious with extremely comfortable beds- which helped to make the weekend even more relaxing! The location of the Inn was just perfect - we walked everywhere. It was such an enjoyable experience - we hated to leave.

Thank you to Mary Ann and Jeff for a lovely stay in Beaufort. I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYGina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed for three nights. When we arrived we were greeted by
Mary Ann and Jeff who own the inn. Mary Ann checked us in and
then took us to our room(The Victoria Room). The room was very
nice and well furnished. Everything was very clean. There was also
a nice view of the bay in front.
The inn is within a short walking distance of the water front where
there are many shops and places to eat. It also has its own parking
area right behind the inn. We found it very nice to just leave our
vehicle parked at the inn and walk down to the water front.
The breakfast was well served and satisfying. We did not attend
the social hour but we were told by the other guests that they were very nice.
Last but surely not the least, you are not allowed to smoke in the inn,
which to us was great.
We had a wonderful time and look forward to staying there again soon.
Thank You Jeff and Mary Ann!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleytownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

This is one of the best mini-vacation experiences we have ever had. The owners and staff were friendly and efficient and the accomodations were superb. We especially liked the 5PM Social Hour, which allowed us to get to know not only the ownwers, but also the other guests at the Inn. The location was perfect, within walking distance to just about everything and the service was impeccable. We were only there three days, but it was one of the most enjoyable experiences we've had.
Breakfasts were just right, a combination of fruit, juice, coffee, and a delicious entree.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKU69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

#10. The other guests who choose this Inn
#9. The comfortable beds, soft sheets and a plentiful assortment of thick towels
#8. The beautiful antiques and historical artifacts
#7. The excellent location; walking distance to downtown
#6. Great laughs and conversation at cocktail hour
#5. The wrap around porch, front yard trees dripping with moss and waterfront view....spectacular sunsets
#4. Genuine southern hospitality
#3. Delicious breakfast; wonderful coffee (a must for us!)
#2. Gorgeous guest rooms
#1. The innkeepers Mary Ann and Jeff (and cheerful Nelly, the one woman staff of 3)

We've stayed at B&B's for years, this one is the best yet.
We'll be back!
Julie and Alan C.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank jlc4kds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Beaufort is a wonderfully atmospheric place, the Inn an easy walk into the centre. On arrival we thought the Inn slightly uncared for on the outside, but we were shown to our large room complete with a large (working) fire and were told happy hour was 5 – 6. Our hosts were very informative about the area.

Breakfast was ok, a little unusual, but we could have eaten more.

The view from the top balcony was marvellous

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

The Inn was charming and decorated for the season. The Innkeepers, Jeff and Mary Ann Thomas were cordial and accommodating and the breakfasts were deliciou.s

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank VeronicaSSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

Very comfortable and attractive B&B overlooking the water very close to downtown but in a residential area. Pleasant hosts happy to chat or leave you in peace. Two sitting rooms well stocked with books and magazines. Free wine and snacks in the afternoon and a very good breakfast in an unusually elegant dining room. Very comfortable bed in a large room nicely furnished with antiques. Had a small fridge and a gas fireplace you could turn on if you wanted. Bathroom with tub and separate shower. All very clean. Antebellum house. Had photo of Sherman and his officers standing on the front steps.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mullaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £158 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing