We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuthbert House is a Premier B&B in a Premier Location”
Review of Cuthbert House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuthbert House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Cuthbert House is a Premier B&B in a Premier Location”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We loved waking up in the second floor ballroom overlooking Bay Street and the sound.

Mary Ann and Jeff, the owners welcomed us as long lost friends and had great hospitality in a beautiful setting with great charm.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    46
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
67
394
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Mariner room for two nites. We were a little apprehensive about a garden room. Make no mistake, this is more like a wonderful, fully equipt apartment. The place is spotless. The house is walking distance to everything in Beaufort and the host and hostess are so welcoming and helpful. The spacious front porch overlooks the bay while the rear gardens invite you to relax with a book. We hope to return here next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I just got back from staying at the Cuthbert House Inn. What a great place to stay! Mary Ann and Jeff felt like family by the time we left. We really enjoyed the evening get togethers with them and the other guests. The Inn was so peaceful, and I loved sitting in the sunroom and on the veranda. The rooms were so spacious and the breakfasts were delicious. Beaufort was wonderful - full of historical sites and unbelievable houses, great shopping and art galleries, excellent restaurants, boat rides, beautiful walks - I never moved my car except to go to gorgeous Hunting Island beach! I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twallace4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I had only stayed in a couple B&Bs, and my friend had never stayed in one. We both walked away feeling like we will never stay anywhere else. I can't praise Cuthbert House enough. We were in a suite, and everything about it was great. It was both beautiful and comfortable. (We were in the suite with the civil war solders' signatures etched into the mantle. Super cool!) It overlooks the harbor. The hosts are so gracious and fun. They put all of us at ease. I was a little nervous about going to the "happy hour" but it was a lot of fun. One of the days that we were in Beaufort it stormed, and we stayed at the house and played cards on the porch, which turned out to be one of the most fun moments of our trip. We would go back in a moment purely for a lazy weekend, without even spending much time out and about in Beaufort - it really is that charming and comfortable. If possible, stay more than one night. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieAskimagine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Recently spent 5 fabulous days at the Inn. Beautiful and very personable. The host and hostess/owners were the best I have experienced. We so much enjoyed social hour (5 - 6pm) that no matter where we were we tried to make it back not to miss it. We experienced a few day trips to the beach, Savannah and flew in and out of Hilton Head Island. But, enjoyed the Inn most off all. Across the street from a beautiful view on the bay and downtown were great restaurants, sight seeing, carriage rides with historical facts for an entire hour and shopping. Lounge around on the swings on the waterfront or take a bike ride to some wonderful film sites of the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trips1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We just returned home from a trip to South Carolina. It was our first time at Beaufort and staying at the Cuthbert House Inn for two nights. What a beautiful and wonderful Inn and B&B! Jeff and Mary Ann are excellent inkeepers and very personable. We especially enjoyed the "Happy Hour" where we shared experiences with the hosts and other guests while imbibing on refreshments and appetizers. The varied full breakfasts prepared by Jeff were tasty and plentiful. The location on the waterfront can't be beat and provides great views from the extensive porch and various locations within the home. Beaufort with many shops and restaurants is within easy walking distance from the Inn. There are also other fine dining within short driving distances. Likewise there are various islands to visit nearby with interesting histories including beaches and a lighthouse. Thanks Jeff and Mary Ann for a very enjoyable visit to your home and area. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Cuthbert House Inn for one night last weekend and had a wonderful stay. The house is beautiful, and Jeff and Mary Ann were very helpful and accommodating. We stayed in the Victoria Room, which was beautiful. The Inn is located just a couple of blocks away from the downtown area, so we walked just about everywhere. Breakfast was delicious, and the dining room is very light and airy with a nice view of the water. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edina_MNLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuthbert House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuthbert House Inn

Property: Cuthbert House Inn
Address: 1203 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cuthbert House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federal style antebellum mansion located on the water of the South Carolina Intracoastal Waterway,less than an hour North from Savannah/Hilton Head Airport and one hour fifteen minutes South of the Charleston International Airport. Ten beautifully decorated rooms overlooking the water or the courtyard, each with private bathrooms, some with private patios/porches. Several suites available. The inn is located in the historic district of Beaufort, SC which has been the setting for many movies. Walk to shops, restaurants, museums, art galleries and more. Meet the owners and other guests while enjoying complimentary wine, beer, soft drinks and tempting appetizers each evening in the parlor. A generous, home cooked breakfast is served each morning in the bright conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cuthbert House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuthbert House Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing