We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor-would not book again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    42
    62
    60
    90
See reviews for
177
41
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas City, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My 18 yr old daughter, traveling for the first time alone, stayed in this hotel and was assaulted and verbally threatened by a "vagrant" in barefeet and not acting "right in the head" while going through the breakfast line in the lobby of this hotel. She was grabbed between the legs!
It was witnessed by the desk clerk and several guests of the hotel. Found out this "vagrant" had come over for "free" coffee from the bus terminal which is next to this hotel.
Was treated rudely by the desk clerk I had to call to find out why nothing was done about this and then treated even more rudely and yelled at by the hotel "manager" the next day when I wanted to find out why this was not treated differently or why the police were not called! My daughter filed a police report with the Beaufort police and interestingly enough, they made mention that they were aware of "issues" in "that location". So, if you decide to stay here, take your pepper spray and take some self-defense lessons. Watch your back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler100965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Your customer service at the front desk was horrible. Your hotel serves many many military families and its a shame that they have to deal with the older african american male in the front. He does not answer the phone with Hello Howard Johnson... he answers with "hi". he didnt program our room key for an extra day like we asked him and when i was checking in he was soo busy counting change in the drawer and didnt even look up to great me! We were in town to say goodbye to my grandmother who was dying of breast cancer and we will never stay your hotel chain ever again after this horrible experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beaufort hotels

Bloomingdale, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The gentleman gave us a room key that wouldn't even let us in the building. We spent 20 mins outside in the cold fighting to get in before we went to another door. The front desk clerk was very rude at breakfast he told us how to get toaster to work the microwave was running to. No one could get it to work we asked for help. I will never return there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darladavis37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I had made reservations for this hotel way in advance but upon arriving it still took over a half hour to check in. So many mistakes first they said I didnt have reservations so I took out my copy of confirmation and the found my room by my wyndham rewards # then they had 2 rooms for 1 night I reserved 1 room handicapped and smoking for 2 nights.After saying I made my reservations through Wyndham Rewards they gave me a room on second floor non smoking .I asked if this was a smoking room and the reply was oh you wanted a smoking room? so they changed that to smoking room still on second floor after all the time it took I wasnt about to stand there and change to handicapped.But the most annoying part all this was under the name Jennifer Murton instead of my name which is Katherine Martin even though they had my address and rewards number so I may not even get the rewards for staying which the last time I checked it was applied to my account. Once again I get cheated on reward points .The clerk at the front desk was quite irrated but I had nothing to do about that end of the reservation I was glad to bring my printed confirmation with me or I may never have gotten my room. The room on the other hand was a bit lower grade than I've had in the past. The bed was totally disgusting, it had brown stains all over the cover of the box spring and it was very uncomfortable it felt like the mattress needed to be replaced and the pad cover on the bed wasn't even the right size. It was a smoking room with no ashtrays.The floor in the bathroom was filthy and the tub had stains in it .When they came to get the dirty towels they didnt even leave us clean hand towels and and the other bath towel that they took .I have nothing else to say because it brings back memories that I dont care to remember but I will not be staying at that Howard Johnson again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel property is an older property, but maintained. We stayed here for my son's graduation from Parris Island. 10/08-10/11/13 The gentleman that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived they just steamed cleaned all room carpets and halls had a nice fesh smell and our room was clean we didn't see one bug! House keeping did a nice job. Breakfast was good - loved the waffles! I would say here again.
Thanks - Ed

Room Tip: Rear rooms face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#11 of 15 in Beaufort
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#9 of 15 in Beaufort
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island
Address: 3651 Trask Pkwy, I-95 Ex 33 to Highway 17 North to Highway 21, Beaufort, SC 29906-7142 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Beaufort/Parris Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beaufort Hotel Beaufort
Beaufort Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing