We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a perfect getaway”
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Loft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for a perfect getaway”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have been visiting Beaufort for years and finally stayed at Cit Loft. We were pleased with everything from the cleanliness, the access to fabulous restaurants, to the comfort of our room. We only wish we had stayed upstairs due to car that needed a new muffler outside our door. We will be back !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review City Loft and mentioning the comfort and cleanliness the hotel has to offer. It seems our locale was well suited for your stay. We apologize for the muffler sound you heard; we should have monitored the parking lot for any unnecessary noises and will be more diligent in the future. Look forward to seeing you upon a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    100
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
110
531
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spent two nights at the City Loft and never moved our car from their lot (parking is not abundant on the streets) while we ate and explored Beaufort for the first time. What a wonderful town probably what Charleston was like before the hordes of tourists. Although Beaufort is planning to build a parking ramp.
Interestingly although on a main street and our room 109 on the first floor was quite quiet. One night some 1,000 lb gorilla must have checked in behind us but eventually they quieted down.
The King bed was very comfy although be careful of the wood box frame that you ll bang your shins on. The shower is wonderful but we had to put towels to sop up the water that leaked off the door when it was opened. A common problem with this design.
We received a coupon for the coffee shop City Java and News and they had wonderful espresso - very smooth and also picked up a few sandwiches for our drive back to Charleston the slow way. Unfortunately I ended up a little short changed by a confused person at the register but not enough to drive back for.
The two or three men I dealt with at the hotels front desk were very helpful and nice. Quick responses for an extra blanket and the people in the next room couldn't figure out the heating and they also had a quick response. Everyone super nice and polite. The room seemed super clean the refrig a plus unfortunately we didn't get to try the giant tub. City Loft helped make our visit to this charming town very nice. Take our advice and don't drive by stop for a few days.

Room Tip: We didn't have any issues with 109 on the first floor. The hotel was full or 98% during our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GallaghersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of City Loft. It seems there was much you enjoyed about our hotel and several things we could improve on. We are checking into the design of the shower to address (if possible) water which may runoff. We appreciate your comments about the helpful staff and will seek to improve on the points we missed. Please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This stylish and cool motel is right in the heart of downtown Beaufort. It has been 100% renovated and the rooms are fantastic. Great furnishings and bed. Bathroom has separate shower and giant soaking tub.

The staff is top notch and was very helpful/friendly.

In my opinion, this is one of the top places to stay in Beaufort.

p.s hotel offers free parking in the outdoor lot

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkerman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Very nice to have achieved such a positive review from a top contributor. We are delighted to know that you found the rooms stylish and clean and our location to your liking. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Love this hotel! We were pleasantly surprised on all levels - location, accommodations, service -all excellent. They did not miss a thing in the renovation and attention to detail is outstanding! Absolutely fabulous place to stay while visiting Beaufort!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom05Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
...Absolutely fabulous hotel is as much as we could hope for in a review. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about our service, location and design. We will keep working hard to keep our "eye on the ball" to deliver the best service and overall comfortable experience as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A stylishly renovated roadside motel.

Our two room suite was derived from adjoining rooms which translated to two full baths, two refrigerators, two microwaves, one bed and one surprisingly comfortable sofa sleeper that staff insisted and turning down. Read “pampering” here. The baths are fully modernized and spacious. Despite being on the highway, it was surprisingly quite.

It is perfectly located to explore the many charms of Beaufort on foot, but the hotel also offers access to free bicycles. Plus, there are many fine restaurants within easy strolling distance.

If you are exploring the Lowcountry, the City Loft Hotel is a must-book lodging. You will fall in love with it and with Beaufort.

Dates of Visit: 18Mar-20Mar2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our suite. Albeit small, we believe it to be well appointed and highly comfortable- it appears that you would agree with us. Thank you for calling us a must book hotel. We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Originally selected this hotel due to excellent reviews and the fact they allowed a pet. What a find! Located within walking distance of downtown, City Loft was one of the best inns we've stayed at in recent years of travel. The staff was extremely attentive without being overbearing (display of their own pride in the establishment? A "shout out" to Randy & Jason). The rooms were impeccably decorated and spotless. Something you rarely see these days too, they provided "turn down" service nightly! A discount coupon was provided for the in-house coffee/pastry shop which also was excellent. We stayed on our way south and decided to book again on the return home we loved it so much. This hotel has the right formula .... just hope it doesn't become so popular we can't book it in the future?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breezdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Randy and Jason are always pleased to hear that they have delivered top notch service to our guests! Thank you for mentioning our unique design, cleanliness and pet friendly policy. We will share the good report on City Java as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stumbled across this hotel on a visit to Beaufort a number of years ago while it was still under construction, or more to the point, remodeling. I think the original probably was built in the 60s and was a tired typical two story motel common to the era. Well times have changed.

Located on Carteret St in the heart of the Historic District of Beaufort, the hotel now boasts modern comfortable, well appointed rooms. Flat screen TV in both the bath and bedroom is just the tip of the iceberg. They have a gym that is free to guests, free wifi, free use of a collection of somewhat funky town cruiser bikes for riding around flat Beaufort's streets, sweet treats on your pillow every night, and when we were there, a coupon worth $5 in their coffee shop for each day of our stay.

Parking is free and convenient. The bathroom has a large shower with a teak bench and generous ceiling showerhead, and in addition there is a very deep bath that is great for soaking if you have sore muscles after a day of being a tourist.

It is across the street from a Market/Cafe which does great breakfasts and lunches for eat-in or carry out, and diagonally across from Wren, which is certainly one of the best restaurants in Beaufort. Only two blocks away is the superb Old Bull Tavern which is my current favorite eating place in Beaufort, and you are about a block from the main commercial street and two blocks from the Waterfront Park.

Combine all this with reasonable prices and I think you simply cannot go wrong with City Loft. In the words of Arnold Schwarzenegger "I'll be back".

Room Tip: If you don't mind going upstairs you will probably not hear activity from other rooms. I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyrprshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Property: City Loft Hotel
Address: 301 Carteret St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 21 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing