We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Cation with perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Loft Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Stay Cation with perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Being a local we know we have an awesome place we live and when having a night to get away from teenager life we pick City Loft. The BEST beds and Sheets any were and love the contemporary décor. The location and staff are superb and though we saw people we interact with everyday we still felt like a easy vacation right in the heart of Downtown Beaufort. Don't let the exterior fool you the entire experience is total ease.
Mac and Rhonda Rogerson

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review of City Loft Hotel. We are delighted to know that we can even provide locals a "vacation" without having to leave Beaufort. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    95
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
108
514
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay but overall felt the small inconveniences resulted in my not getting value for what I paid. The hotel is a small motel that has been renovated to "boutique".
Stayed here 3 nights in early August 2014.

Pros:
-- Clean spacious room.
-- Shower/bath area was awesome!
-- Convenient (walking distance) to the waterfront area in Beaufort.
-- Staff was nice and friendly.

Cons:
-- No pool on site, have to pay $10 each (and drive) to use The Sanctuary pool.
-- Parking very tight.
-- Breakfast not included, they did give vouchers for the coffee shop which paid for 1 breakfast.
-- No ice machine, have to call the front desk to get ice delivered to the room.
-- No lobby/general mingling area. Very small and tight overall (the hotel, not the room itself).
-- No elevator; only 2 stories but still a pain taking up luggage for 3 nights.

Room Tip: 2nd floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently spent six nights at the City Loft Hotel . This is a small motel that is within walking distance to all the quaint little shops , restaurants , and the beautiful waterfront park. We would absolutely recommend this little gem to anyone and would definitely stay here again! The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. When we arrived our room was ready and we found it to be very clean . Jason , walked us to our room the first night to make sure we had everything we needed. The bathroom was Fantastic! It had a nice soaker tub , separate shower with a nice rain type shower head . And, did I mention a flat screened tv ! The room is modern and a nice size, but not too large.It has a king size bed that is very comfortable. We enjoyed getting the next day weather report along with cookies each night. This hotel has a wonderful little newsstand and coffee shop . The City Java has a nice selection of breakfast and lunch items as well as espresso drinks. If we ever come back to Beaufort, I know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your rave review of City Loft Hotel. We are delighted that you found our accommodations to be quite nice and our staff is always appreciative of positive feedback for their hard work. It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed City Java & News as well. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had to come to Beaufort for a favor to a friend. Last night we decided to stay at a hotel. I had eyed this one prior to the trip and wanted to surprise my wife, as we had been celebrating our 3rd anniversary. Called that night and was told we just needed to show up as plenty of rooms were still available for the night (it was about 9PM when I called).Front desk worker Manny (sp?) checked us in lead us to our room. He explained everything the hotel offered and was super easy to ask questions to . The shower and soaking tube were fantastic, especially with the TV to watch while you relaxed. The soap, shampoo, and lotions provided smelled great. The bed was super comfortable. The pillows and sheets had that "just right" feel to them. The housekeeping workers were very nice on the way out and were always smiling when seen them. Probably the best hotel I've stayed in, and I've stayed in some nice hotels in Pittsburgh, Nashville, and Columbus, OH. The coffee shop was great, Very nice workers and good food to wake up to. Only negative was right when we were about to leave, my wife saw a little black bug (maybe the size of half a tic tac) and trapped it under one of the glasses provided in the bathroom. She also put a small post it note beside the glass pointing it out just for the giggles..lol. With everything this hotel offers, the price is outstanding. Absolutely recommend this place to anyone and will definitely be the place we stay next time we come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our trip was actually in 2012 when my son graduated boot camp at Parris Island. The establishment actually appears fairly non-descript from the outside, but the rooms are great, very clean, the staff is awesome, they let me stay with 2 teenagers at no extra charge, giving us a blow up mattress, and the bed is to die for!!! Great location. I'm only sorry it took me so long to give my review. If I ever get to that part of the country, I KNOW where I will be staying!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stodd068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent two nights at the City Loft Hotel. The Beaufort County Water Festival was taking place during our visit. The property is located in close proximity to the great shops, restaurants, parks, and river in Beaufort. We would stay here again in a heartbeat! The rooms were well appointed, clean, and ultra modern--the bathroom was amazing complete with a flat screen television, a jetted tub, and a large tiled rain shower with four heads. The staff was both friendly and helpful. The attached coffee shop, The City Java and News had a nice selection of breakfast/lunch items and coffee drinks. This is a great choice while visiting the quaint town of Beaufort!

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welovedmaine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are delighted to know your experience at City Loft was a good one and that you found the amenities, location and staff to your liking. Our friends at City Java will be glad to know that you found their product and services to be excellent as well. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillard, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Perfect location for shopping, site seeing & restaurants. Staff was most helpful in very way which made for a very pleasant stay. This boutique hotel is a hidden jewel - rooms very comfortable, staff friendly & attentive. My husband & I were pleasantly surprised. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwest706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Owner at City Loft Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for highly recommending our small boutique hotel. It appears the location, staff and overall experience was a positive one. We too like to think of ourselves as a hidden jewel and are always happy to have guests like yourself spread the good word. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft Hotel

Property: City Loft Hotel
Address: 301 Carteret St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Loft Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Loft Hotel offers 21 guestrooms. Guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Our beds are Sealy Collection Plush Euro with Memory foam topper and feature premium bedding. 26-Inch high-definition televisions come with digital channels. Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access is provided along with speakerphones, iPod lamp, and free local calls. Refrigerators are provided. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, bathrobes, Gilchrist & Soames BeeKind amenities, and bathroom TVs. City views are featured in guestrooms. All guestrooms are non-smoking. As a special bonus our guests have access to the private pool, golf course and tennis course at the Sanctuary on Cat Island. Fees apply to these amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your City Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing