We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly interesting and entertaining”

Janet's Walking History Tour
Ranked #3 of 24 Tours in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You are about to take a fascinating walk back in time ! Join Janet Matlock for a 2 hour Walking Tour through the National Historic District of Beaufort, a stroll amidst some of the finest antebellum homes in America.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazingly interesting and entertaining”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Prior to planning our trip to Savannah and Charleston, we spoke with Kevin McQuade, the fantastic concierge at the Marriott in Charleston where we planned to stay. We mentioned that we were driving from Savannah to Charleston and would also like to see Beaufort on the way. Kevin said that Beaufort is a charming town but we would really get a lot more out of it if we took Jon Sharp's walk. This was a great recommendation and we thoroughly enjoyed Jon and his tour. It had a perfect mix of history, architecture, nature, and interesting anecdotes. Jon gets as enthusiastic about a crape myrtle tree as he does a tombstone in the church cemetery or an historic house. All in all a thoroughly worthwhile experience that gives you quite a lot of information about the significant town of Beaufort!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeismicGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schoten, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You shouldnot miss Jon when in Beaufort!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Jon's 2:30h tour through the historic streets of Beaufort was memorable! His enthousiasm, historical knowledge, resounding voice and attention to detail such as for a beautiful blooming flower made that we will not easily forget our visit to Beaufort.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc1052839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History comes alive with Jon Sharp”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

An infectious passion for local folklore and history makes this casual stroll around town an entertaining event. Jon's delivery is passionate and expressive. His whole demeanor is larger than life, and likeable. Recommended for history or architecture buffs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thedox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Jon Sharp's Walking History Tour”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Do not miss Jon Sharp's tour when visiting Beaufort! His knowledge of Beaufort and its history, houses and plants is only surpassed by his passion for the area. Our tour lasted two and a half hours and Jon easily filled the time with abundant information. He has a winsome and enthusiastic personality which add to the experience. Well worth the price. And, if you get a parking ticket, he can help you with that as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAUL_107_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent tour of historic Beaufort, SC”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Jon Sharp's Walking History Tour provides a great introduction to Beaufort along with a living history lesson. Jon is congenial, knowledgeable, and entertaining. Even after having lived in Beaufort for 6 years, I learned quite a bit by joining our guests on Jon's tour. Jon makes history entertaining, and the beautiful setting helps as well. I highly recommend this for first-time and long-time visitors to Beaufort.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Janet's Walking History Tour also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Janet's Walking History Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing